(Spoiler-free) Review | A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic #3) by V. E. Schwab

A terrific conclusion to a stellar series. 5/5 stars.

a-conjuring-of-light-shades-of-magic-3-by-v-e-schwab

The blurb: No blurb for book 3 here because I don’t want to spoil the first two books! If you want to know more about what’s gone before, check out my review for book 1 – A Darker Shade of Magic (5 stars) – and book 2: A Gathering of Shadows (4.5 stars).

My take:

This review will be spoiler-free. Please forgive the disjointed and brief nature of what follows: turns out reviewing the final installment of a trilogy while giving absolutely nothing away is rather tricky!

Every time I took an unwilling break from reading A Conjuring of Light I had to blink and re-orientate myself in reality, like a swimmer surfacing. This has been a hallmark of the quality of this series: Schwab draws the reader into the pages and spins words into worlds around them until they are completely immersed in her fiction. This is no mean feat and to pull it off so consistently is beyond impressive.

We get plenty of time with the main characters in A Conjuring of Light, as well as with many who have only been bit players up until now. For me, the moments we’re given insight into these less-central figures are some of the best in the book. Fans of Holland will be particularly pleased with how much of his back story is finally revealed.

I raced through the first 540 pages or so, never bored for a second. I laughed, cried and only slowed as I neared the end because I realised that it would all soon be over and wanted to draw it out for as long as I could.

And the ending is just perfect.

Overall: a wonderful conclusion to this fantastic trilogy. I’m sad it’s over, but satisfied with how this story arc ended and hopeful Schwab will treat us one day to another tale set in the same universe. If you haven’t picked up the Shades of Magic series yet, what are you waiting for?!


Claire Huston / Art and Soul
21 thoughts on “(Spoiler-free) Review | A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic #3) by V. E. Schwab

  1. Brilliant review! I just finished it this morning and I can’t believe it’s done, but it was just wonderfully written and perfectly satisfying! I completely agree that this feels like a culmination, not only in plot, but in the quality of her prose as well! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my gosh now I’m super excited to read this book. As soon as it gets returned to the library by the first lucky person to grab it, it’s mine!!! I’m so glad you liked it because I’ve been nervous about the ending for a year now. But we tend to have similar tastes, I’ve noticed, so I feel pretty relieved now.
    Thanks for talking about it without giving anything away – I know how hard that is!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

