Review | Who Does He Think He Is? by Emily Kerr

Sunny romantic escapism! 4/5 stars.

who-does-he-think-he-is-by-emily-kerr-book-cover

Thank you to the author for sending me an advance copy of the book.

Who Does He Think He Is? is published today, 15th December and is available on Amazon.

The blurb: Lady Aurelia Osbourne-Lloyd has long wished her bank balance was as big as her name. But her home, Leydale Park, is more of a pile in a state than stately pile, and with her father off ‘finding himself’ in Thailand, it’s up to her to turn the family fortunes around by entertaining demanding tourists.

When – thanks to her father’s interference – a Hollywood production company chooses the estate as a location for a Regency movie, a whole new level of chaos enters Aurelia’s life. Her quiet days shattered and privacy non-existent, she has no choice but to go with the flow and let them take over.

Never mind the added distraction of dishy leading man, Xander Lord, who may have an ulterior motive for wanting to get close to her…

Can Aurelia keep her cool in light of all the upheaval?

My take:

Who Does He Think He Is? is a fun contemporary romance set in a fantastic location with likeable characters. If you’re a fan of the genre and looking for a lighter read, I recommend this.

I was initially a bit worried when I saw the whole story was narrated in first person. First person narratives tend to be either hit or miss with me, so I was delighted when I quickly became at home with Aurelia’s voice. And she’s a great protagonist: she has real problems to worry her, but she’s not a moaner or ditherer and gets on with it. My sort of woman!

The setting of a Yorkshire stately home provides a backdrop with familiar old-world charm which gets an injection of new-world glamour (and drama!) with the arrival of a film crew and the hero. Also, and this could just be me, it was great to read a story set in a nice warm summer. The weather is so diabolical at the moment it was a treat to read about the relatively balmy temperatures the characters were enjoying.

My only criticism is that I could have done with more of everything! A few times I felt I was being hurried through the story when I would have liked to linger with the characters or in a location for longer because I was enjoying being with them/there.

The very best of luck to Emily Kerr with her debut. I’m sure this is the start of a great writing career.

Overall: a feel-good story guaranteed to delight romance fans.


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

8 thoughts on “Review | Who Does He Think He Is? by Emily Kerr

  1. Pingback: Publication day is here! | Emily Kerr writes

    • It’s great. You wouldn’t have any idea it was her first book.

      As I said, my only criticism is I wish there were more of everything because a couple of times I felt like an editor had said, “This bit’s dragging, cut a few paragraphs”, but I was enjoying it and would have liked more!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

