WWW Wednesday 14th December 2016

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

As always, clicking on the cover image will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

1. What I’m reading at the moment

Who Does He Think He Is? by Emily Kerr

who-does-he-think-he-is-by-emily-kerr-book-coverEmily Kerr kindly sent me a copy of her debut contemporary romance. It’s exactly as advertised: lovely, happy romantic escapism! My review will be up tomorrow just in time for publication day.

The blurb: Lady Aurelia Osbourne-Lloyd has long wished her bank balance was as big as her name. But her home, Leydale Park, is more of a pile in a state than stately pile, and with her father off ‘finding himself’ in Thailand, it’s up to her to turn the family fortunes around by entertaining demanding tourists.

When – thanks to her father’s interference – a Hollywood production company chooses the estate as a location for a Regency movie, a whole new level of chaos enters Aurelia’s life. Her quiet days shattered and privacy non-existent, she has no choice but to go with the flow and let them take over.

Never mind the added distraction of dishy leading man, Xander Lord, who may have an ulterior motive for wanting to get close to her…

Can Aurelia keep her cool in light of all the upheaval?


2. The last books I read

Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

dark-matter-by-blake-crouchThis is great. Even if you think you don’t like sci-fi, don’t let mentions of quantum physics and the multiverse put you off. This is a story of a stranded man trying to get home. Please give Dark Matter a try. Here’s my full review.

The blurb: “Are you happy with your life?” Those are the last words Jason Dessen hears before the masked abductor knocks him unconscious. Before he awakens to find himself strapped to a gurney, surrounded by strangers in hazmat suits. Before a man Jason’s never met smiles down at him and says, “Welcome back, my friend.”

In this world he’s woken up to, Jason’s life is not the one he knows. His wife is not his wife. His son was never born. And Jason is not an ordinary college physics professor but a celebrated genius who has achieved something remarkable–something impossible.

Is it this world or the other that’s the dream? And even if the home he remembers is real, how can Jason possibly make it back to the family he loves? The answers lie in a journey more wondrous and horrifying than anything he could’ve imagined—one that will force him to confront the darkest parts of himself even as he battles a terrifying, seemingly unbeatable foe.

AND

The Santa Klaus Murder by Mavis Doriel Hay

the-santa-klaus-murder-by-mavis-doriel-hayThey’re not kidding when they describe this as “classic”. If you enjoy murder as an intellectual puzzle with a country house setting and are looking for a non-cuddly festive read, this could be for you. Here’s my full review.

The blurb: A classic country-house murder mystery, ‘The Santa Klaus Murder’ begins with Aunt Mildred declaring that no good could come of the Melbury family Christmas gathering at their country residence Flaxmere. So when Sir Osmond Melbury, the family patriarch, is discovered — by a guest dressed as Santa Klaus —with a bullet in his head on Christmas Day, the festivities are plunged into chaos.

Nearly every member of the party stands to reap some sort of benefit from Sir Osmond’s death, but Santa Klaus, the one person who seems to have every opportunity to fire the shot, has no apparent motive. Various members of the family have their private suspicions about the identity of the murderer, but in the midst of mistrust, suspicion, and hatred, it emerges that there was not one Santa Klaus but two.


3. What I’ll read next

This will be my last WWW until the New Year and I hope to fit in a lot reading over the holidays. But I know I’ll be reading this next for sure:

The Gift by Louise Jensen

the-gift-by-louise-jensen-book-coverI really enjoyed Louise’s debut, The Sister (my review of that one), so I’m looking forward to reading her latest!

The blurb: The perfect daughter. The perfect girlfriend. The perfect murder?

Jenna is seriously ill. She’s lost all hope of getting the heart transplant she needs to live. But just as her life is ebbing away, she receives a donor heart from a girl called Callie.

Who was Callie and how did she die? Jenna is determined to find out.

The closer Jenna gets to those who loved Callie, the more questions arise about her untimely death. Someone knows what happened to Callie. Why won’t they talk?

Jenna is about to uncover the truth, but it could cost her everything; her loved ones, her sanity, even her life.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂


And elsewhere on the blog…

reindeer-vanilla-christmas-cookies-biscuits-uk-easy-recipe-festive-baking-red-smartie-noses

I made these cute reindeer biscuits and a few Christmas tree cookies too 🙂


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

Save

Save

Save

51 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 14th December 2016

    • I’ve been very lucky with books recently. Lots of great ones in a row!
      I really enjoyed the whole millennium series, but I think The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo was my favourite. Just love Lisbeth!

      Sorry it’s taken me so long to reply to your comment… it went into my spam folder (I’ve no idea why). Hopefully that won’t happen again!

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I can’t wait to read your thoughts on The Gift 🙂 My review will be up tomorrow, I’ve been struggling with it because of the book hangover it put me through! Who Does He Think He Is sounds perfect to take a break 🙂 Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed Dark Matter!! And I’m going to read The Gift soon as well… I’m excited to read another of Louise Jensen’s book since The Sister was a great read. Those reindeer cookies are adorable by the way. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you 🙂 They tasted great as well! I’ve had to make more because the first batch disappeared so quickly.
      I’d hoped to have read Louise’s book already, but I daren’t start it until I know I’ll have to time to read most of it in one sitting. I read The Sister in one go in under 4 hours!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I can imagine; they look delicious! I haven’t have time to do Christmas baking yet, but I’m going to try and do so before the 24th.
        I’ve heard The Gift is as good or even better than The Sister, so that sounds like a great plan! I hope you will have time for it soon.

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Those reindeers are adorable!! I am no where near creative or good in the kitchen – someday I aspire for adorable treats like these.

    I have read a lot of good reviews about Dark Matter, especially that its greatness transcends its genre. Its on my TBR, but I keep forgetting about it for some reason.

    The Gift has a great plot. I cant wait to see what you think. I hope it is as good as it sounds:)

    Happy Wednesday!

    A Week In Review #15, WWW #11 – http://wp.me/p4mJnf-1Fp

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sorry another late comment from me – life does keep getting in the way of important stuff! I love the sound of the Santa Klaus Mystery, probably the closest to seasonal fiction as I’m prepared to go… this year I haven’t even managed to do my yearly read of A Christmas Carol!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I love the sound of Who Does He Think He Is? I’ll go check out your full review. It sounds like the sort of thing I’ve been in the mood for lately.

    Thanks for visiting my WWW post! I hope you have a great holiday! See you in 2017.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I can’t wait to see what you think about The Gift. I am in the fence whether I want to add it to my TBR or not.

    You just reminded me that i need to read Dark Matter still! I think I’m on the library waiting list, but an double-checking right after this 🙂

    The Santa Klaus Murder sounds interesting. Does it lean more towards Agatha Christie’s And Then There Were None?

    Happy Reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

