Review | In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware

Still looking for twists which surprise me. 3.5/5 stars.

in-a-dark-dark-wood-by-ruth-weir

The blurb: Nora hasn’t seen Clare for ten years. Not since Nora walked out of school one day and never went back.

Until, out of the blue, an invitation to Clare’s hen do arrives. Is this a chance for Nora to finally put her past behind her?

But something goes wrong. Very wrong. Some things can’t stay secret for ever.

My take:

This review is short to avoid spoilers. It’s also rather disjointed, but that’s just my fault for being incoherent!

My experience with this book has compounded a suspicion which has been growing for a while: I think thrillers are ruined for me. I can’t help but spot the tell-tale sentences thrown in “casually” in the first third of the book. I’m instantly suspicious and trying to figure out why certain objects/decisions are significant. The upshot: the twists aren’t suprises 😦

In the case of In a Dark, Dark Wood, the lack of surprises are not the fault of the book at all. In fact, the twists are well-handled and the time switching between the “present” with Nora in hospital and the “past” sections as she tries to remember when the heck happened are very effective.

I also had a similar problem with this book to that I had with When She Was Bad (read my review of that one here): I didn’t like any of the characters enough to care who got bumped off, who did it, and who might get bumped off next!

However, if you’re a fan of dark thrillers, don’t let me put you off. In a Dark, Dark Wood is very well-written and structured. I can understand why it’s been so popular. But I’m still on the hunt for a thriller that makes me care about the characters and has a twist which is truly shocking.

Overall: if you enjoy dark thrillers, I’d encourage you to give In a Dark, Dark Wood a try.


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

Save

Save

21 thoughts on “Review | In a Dark, Dark Wood by Ruth Ware

  1. Pingback: The Character Dating Profile Tag | the orang-utan librarian

      • I normally love them, but I’ve been reading so many Netgalley thrillers that I just don’t enjoy them the same anymore… Or at least I don’t connect to the characters. I should probably do as you do and read only one or two a month as soon as I’ve caught up with my ARCs.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 30th November 2016 | Art and Soul

Leave a Reply

