Review | A Torch Against the Night (An Ember in the Ashes #2) by Sabaa Tahir

Why don’t I like this series more? 3.5/5.

a-torch-against-the-night-by-sabaa-tahir

The blurb: I won’t post the blurb here because it does contain spoilers for book 1. However, if you’d like to know more, you can check out my review of book 1, An Ember in the Ashes.

My take:

My experience of book 1 of this series – An Ember in the Ashes – was fine. Just fine, nothing more. The story failed to grab me until the final few chapters and I wasn’t sure why.

Thankfully, I did enjoy A Torch Against the Night more than book 1. As opposed to the first book, in this latest installment the characters literally and figuratively went somewhere while on a journey across country and this gave the plot some much needed oomph (highly technical term there). We also got an extra character viewpoint, which was refreshing.

Unfortunately, my main, rather large problem remains: I don’t give two hoots about any of the characters. That’s not to say I don’t like them, I like the main three characters fine, I just don’t particularly care what happens to them.

And this is a great shame. This series is well-written and the plot is starting to take on a solid shape. I can see that if you cared about the characters you would be easily hooked and the story would be gripping, so I’m sad I’m still not fully onboard this particular fiction train.

Overall: Fans of YA fantasy fiction should check this series out. I’m sorry that it continues to fall a little flat for me 😦


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

 

Save

Save

14 thoughts on “Review | A Torch Against the Night (An Ember in the Ashes #2) by Sabaa Tahir

    • I think the apology is more a reflection of my own disappointment! 🙂 It’s always disheartening when you can see a book has a lot going for it but for some reason you just don’t connect with it. It’s so odd!
      As you say – we’re all different! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’m not sure I’ll bother with the third, and I’m pretty compulsive about finishing series! In fact, if someone would just give me the plot synopsis so I know how everything turns out, I’d be satisfied 🙂
      I’m glad it’s not just me who didn’t immediately warm to the characters!

      Liked by 1 person

    • I thought the same thing about the first book. I was reading a lot of YA fantasy back-to-back at the time and I wondered if maybe I didn’t enjoy it so much because I’d just read too much of the same genre. But no… it appears the characters and me just don’t get on! 😦

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 23rd November 2016 | Art and Soul

Leave a Reply

