WWW Wednesday 12th October 2016

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

As always, clicking on the cover image will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

1. What I’m reading at the moment

The Girl with All the Gifts by M. R. Carey

the-girl-with-all-the-gifts-by-m-r-careyThis has been sitting on my TBR for ages. The recent released of the film adaptation gave me the push I needed to track it down at the library. So far, it’s exactly as I imagined it would be: great stuff!

The blurb: Every morning, Melanie waits in her cell to be collected for class. When they come for her, Sergeant Parks keeps his gun pointing at her while two of his people strap her into the wheelchair. She thinks they don’t like her. She jokes that she won’t bite, but they don’t laugh.

Melanie loves school. She loves learning about spelling and sums and the world outside the classroom and the children’s cells. She tells her favorite teacher all the things she’ll do when she grows up. Melanie doesn’t know why this makes Miss Justineau look sad.


2. The last books I read

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2) by Leigh Bardugo

crooked-kingdom-by-leigh-bardugoThis was as good as I expected: more brilliance from Bardugo. If you like fantasy fiction or fantastically plotted heist stories, you should read Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom. Here’s my full review.

The blurb: I’m not going to put a blurb here because it contains spoilers for book 1 of this duology: Six of Crows.

AND

Poison City by Paul Crilley

poison-city-by-paul-crilleyI’m so glad I was lured by the promise of a talking alcoholic dog! This was a great detective story with supernatural shenanigans. Now I’m hoping for future installments which feature more of the dog 🙂 Here’s my full review.

The blurb: The name’s Gideon Tau, but everyone just calls me London. I work for the Delphic Division, the occult investigative unit of the South African Police Service. My life revolves around two things – finding out who killed my daughter and imagining what I’m going to do to the bastard when I catch him.

I have two friends. The first is my boss, Armitage, a fifty-something DCI from Yorkshire who looks more like someone’s mother than a cop. Don’t let that fool you. The second is the dog, my magical spirit guide. He talks, he watches TV all day, and he’s a mean drunk.

Life is pretty routine – I solve crimes, I search for my daughter’s killer. Wash, rinse, repeat. Until the day I’m called out to the murder of a ramanga – a low-key vampire – basically, the tabloid journalist of the vampire world. It looks like an open and shut case. There’s even CCTV footage of the killer.

Except… the face on the CCTV footage? It’s the face of the man who killed my daughter. I’m about to face a tough choice. Catch her killer or save the world? I can’t do both.

It’s not looking good for the world.


3. What I’ll read next

The Power by Naomi Alderman

the-power-by-naomi-aldermanAnother NetGalley request! The blurb and the ideas behind this book are intriguing. What would happen if all women, everywhere, could suddenly electrocute anyone by touching them?

The blurb: In The Power the world is a recognisable place: there’s a rich Nigerian kid who larks around the family pool; a foster girl whose religious parents hide their true nature; a local American politician; a tough London girl from a tricky family. But something vital has changed, causing their lives to converge with devastating effect. Teenage girls now have immense physical power – they can cause agonising pain and even death. And, with this small twist of nature, the world changes utterly.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂


And elsewhere on the blog…

baked-mini-iced-doughnut-donuts-recipe-icing-guide

Last week I made baked mini doughnuts (or donuts if you prefer!).


Claire Huston / Art and Soul
75 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 12th October 2016

  1. I loved the Girl with all the Gifts so I hope you enjoy. I hadn’t realized it was being turned into a film when I read it which is something I’m very glad about as even knowing who’s been cast tends to affect my imagination of the characters. On the downside, now I don’t want to see the film as they’re all wrong 😀

    I did keep looking and thinking about requesting The Power but managed to resist (too many books on my shelf). I’ll be interested to hear what you think.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Unless it takes some sort of weird left turn in the last third, then I’m sure it’s going to be a very positive review from me. It’s sort of a zombie story, which isn’t a zombie story… but there’s a lot going on. I’m not surprised them made it into a film 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Nice! Even though I got a feeling from the blurb it was going to be something along the lines of Xavier’s school for special kids or something… but zombies eh? 🙂 Hope the book stays good for you!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. The Power sounds great. I like the diversity of the characters already. I have seen The Girl with all the gifts around blogosphere but I am yet to read any of the reviews. I thought its fantasy but the blurb doesn’t sound like it.Glad to hear that it is going great so far.Happy reading:-)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m probably the only one who hasn’t read Six of Crows so I just put it on my TBR! I’ll probably read it sooner since I’m really intrigued why everyone seems to love it! And I decided to watch the film adaptation of The Girl with All the Gifts first and see if it’ll make me read the book. 🙂 Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The great thing about not having read Six of Crows yet is you can now read it and then Crooked Kingdom back to back 🙂 Much better than having to wait a year to find out what happens next!
      From what I now know of the book and what I’ve seen in the trailer, it does look like they’ve stuck pretty close to the book when making the film of The Girl with All the Gifts. If you like the film, I’d definitely recommend checking out the book.
      Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The girl with all the gifts sounds so interesting. Why am I just hearing about it? I want to read The Six of Crows duology so bad! But I’m a college student and a poor one at that lol. So I’ll have to wait a little bit.

    I wanna read a about a drunken dog! Who doesn’t want to read about a drunken dog?

    Happy reading!.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve been trying to find time to read The Girl with All the Gifts for a while now. It’s just my sort of thing 🙂
      The Six of Crows books are enormous and expensive. I decided to treat myself to them because I do get most of my books from the library 🙂
      That’s exactly what I thought about the dog too!!
      Happy reading!

      Like

  5. I kept seeing the Girl with all the Gifts but I never really felt enticed to pick it up. I think it’s because I’m daunted by my already towering TBR! But now that I’ve read a proper blurb for it… Oh dear! My stack of books is beginning to lean… 😉
    I’m glad that you enjoyed Crooked Kingdom and Poison City. Just reinforces my need to read the duology!
    Thanks for stopping by my WWW post and Happy Reading ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  6. All of your reads this week sound really good! I haven’t gotten to the Six of Crows duology yet, though I own both books, but I plan to read them sometime later this month. I’ve heard amazing things and I really cannot wait to get started!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I recently got The Girl with All the Gifts on my Kindle so I’m glad to see that you’re liking it so far! I’m planning to read Crooked Kingdom in November so I’m glad it lives up to Six of Crows. Those mini donuts look delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Great picks! I’m really interested in The Girl With All The Gifts, I like the idea and I’ve only read great things about it. I can’t wait to read your review 🙂 The Power has a great premise, it’s quite scary to imagine such a power in lovely hands! Happy reading

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I finished Six of Crows last night and wow that was a good book. I’m glad everyone agrees the second one lives up to the first. It’s nice when a hyped book is worth it. 🙂 I’m buddy reading Crooked Kingdom next month with two bloggers. I have to admit I’m dying to read it now. I need more Kaz. I miss the gang already. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I’m so happy the alcoholic talking dog did not disappoint! What a great character. And it’s for sure doughnuts! Donuts makes no sense (are they made of do or dough?). Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  11. Ooh, I had seen the Girl With All The Gifts around but never read the synopsis. That actually sounds really good. And the news that Six of Crows/Crooked Kingdom is a duology makes me keen to get my hands on it now. I will have to go see what the queue is like at my library.

    Thanks for visiting my WWW and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Girl with the Gifts sounds amazing! What is it about all the books with the word girl in the title these days?! 🙂 And talking alcoholic dog? Why can’t I come up with characters like that!! Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I completely agree about the “girl” thing. At least, in this case, the “girl” really is a girl – she’s eleven. Calling women girls all the time gets my goat!!
      The dog is priceless. He is so fantastically grumpy 🙂 I just hope he gets more page space in future books.
      Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  13. I need to make time for Crooked Kingdom ASAP! Now I’ve seen you loved it, I’m 100% convinced I will as well. And I’m glad you enjoyed The Girl With All The Gifts. Melanie is probably one of my all time favorite characters. 🙂 Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

