WWW Wednesday 5th October 2016

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

As always, clicking on the cover image will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

1. What I’m reading at the moment

Crooked Kingdom (Six of Crows #2) by Leigh Bardugo

crooked-kingdom-by-leigh-bardugoI can’t believe I forgot this was coming out. Thankfully many of you featured this book in your WWW posts last week and reminded me. I scrambled to order my copy, it arrived on Sunday and I’m nearly finished! πŸ™‚

The blurb: I’m not going to put a blurb here because it contains spoilers for book 1 of this duology. If you’re interested in finding out more, you can read my review of that amazing book – Six of Crows.


2. The last books I read

Spectacles, a memoir by Sue Perkins

Spectacles by Sue PerkinsI’d recommend this entertaining memoir to anyone who finds Sue Perkins in the slightest bit amusing. Here’s my full review.

The blurb: “This, my first ever book, will answer questions such as ‘Is Mary Berry real?’, ‘Is it true you wear a surgical truss?’ and ‘Is a non-spherically symmetric gravitational pull from outside the observable universe responsible for some of the observed motion of large objects such as galactic clusters in the universe?’

Most of this book is true. I have, of course, amplified my more positive characteristics in an effort to make you like me. Thank you for reading.”

AND

The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict

the-other-einstein-by-marie-benedictIf you’re prepared to have your view of Albert Einstein forever changed, read this book. Here’s my full review.

The blurb:Β In 1896, the extraordinarily gifted Mileva is the only woman studying physics at an elite school in ZΓΌrich. There, she falls for charismatic fellow student Albert Einstein, who promises to treat her as an equal in both love and science. But as Albert’s fame grows, so too does Mileva’s worry that her light will be lost in her husband’s shadow forever.

A literary historical in the tradition of The Paris Wife and Mrs. Poe, The Other Einstein reveals a complicated partnership that is as fascinating as it is troubling.


3. What I’ll read next

Poison City by Paul Crilley

poison-city-by-paul-crilleyI requested this from NetGalley after seeing Drew’s great review. And I mean, come on, who doesn’t want to read a book which features an talking alcoholic dog?!

The blurb: The name’s Gideon Tau, but everyone just calls me London. I work for the Delphic Division, the occult investigative unit of the South African Police Service. My life revolves around two things – finding out who killed my daughter and imagining what I’m going to do to the bastard when I catch him.

I have two friends. The first is my boss, Armitage, a fifty-something DCI from Yorkshire who looks more like someone’s mother than a cop. Don’t let that fool you. The second is the dog, my magical spirit guide. He talks, he watches TV all day, and he’s a mean drunk.

Life is pretty routine – I solve crimes, I search for my daughter’s killer. Wash, rinse, repeat. Until the day I’m called out to the murder of a ramanga – a low-key vampire – basically, the tabloid journalist of the vampire world. It looks like an open and shut case. There’s even CCTV footage of the killer.

Except… the face on the CCTV footage? It’s the face of the man who killed my daughter. I’m about to face a tough choice. Catch her killer or save the world? I can’t do both.

It’s not looking good for the world.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! πŸ™‚


And elsewhere on the blog…

carrot-cake-cupcakes-recipe-with-cream-cheese-icing-and-walnuts-dessert

I made carrot cupcakes with cream cheese frosting. Ideal if you don’t want to make one big carrot cake but are looking for a sweet treat which you can claim is in some way healthy (it contains nuts and carrots… surely that makes it a health food?!)


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

Save

54 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 5th October 2016

  1. I really like the sound of The Poison City. I read the description of the book here and immediately rushed to NetGalley to request it. I see its marked as Sci-Fi though, a genre I have never read. Enjoy your books this week Claire.Happy reading:-)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Rats! My comment disappeared (to spam, I’m sure. It’s been happening just often enough to really annoy me). Trying FB sign in.

    I am curious about Crooked Kingdom, and Spectacles looks tempting. Enjoy your week, and thanks for visiting my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I can’t wait to read Poison City. I would have already got to it, but then I remembered Crooked Kingdom was coming out. It would be brilliant to read the 2 books back-to-back. I skim re-read book 1 and was really pleased I did because I’d forgotten so much important stuff πŸ™‚
      I’ll check out your post now…

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’m just finishing it, but unless it all goes horribly wrong in the last few chapters (can’t imagine that happening), it’s very very good. I’m not sure it’s quite as brilliant as Six of Crows, but it’s still great fun. I don’t know how Bardugo keeps all the bits of the plot straight. She must have some sort of huge whiteboard with loads of diagrams!

      Liked by 1 person

    • That makes perfect sense πŸ™‚ I only got Spectacles because I stumbled across it in the charity shop and I remember you getting to meet Sue at the literary festival last year. I didn’t know Bake Off would be such a big deal this year. I’m trying to savour it while it’s still in its current format on the BBC. Who knows what they’ll do to it when it goes to C4?! :-/

      Like

  3. Everyone is reading either Six of Crows or Crooked Kingdom, I am jealous! πŸ™‚ I can’t find a single bad review for Six of Crows, which makes me very curious about it. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I will be looking forward to read your Crooked Kingdom review! I completely forgot it was coming out as well haha. I just got my copy and hopefully I will be able to squeeze it in in between ARCs some time this month. Poison City sounds great as well.

    Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I don’t know what happened… I think I convinced myself that Crooked Kingdom was coming out in November?! πŸ™‚
      I can’t wait to read Poison City. I was supposed to get to it sooner, but with the “surprise” of Crooked Kingdom it’s been pushed back.
      I’ll check out your WWW now…

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m definitely interested in the Sue Perkins book – love her! I don’t really know anything about her though so that would be interesting. Not quite as interesting as those cakes though. They are obviously extremely healthy πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

