ARC Review | The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict

Historical fiction which will forever change your perception of one of the most famous names in science. 3.5/5 stars.

the-other-einstein-by-marie-benedict

Thank you to Sourcebooks Landmark and NetGalley for giving me an e-copy of this book in return for an honest review.

The Other Einstein will be published on October 18th.

The blurb: What secrets may have lurked in the shadows of Albert Einstein’s fame? His first wife, Mileva “Mitza” Marić, was more than the devoted mother of their three children—she was also a brilliant physicist in her own right, and her contributions to the special theory of relativity have been hotly debated for more than a century.

In 1896, the extraordinarily gifted Mileva is the only woman studying physics at an elite school in Zürich. There, she falls for charismatic fellow student Albert Einstein, who promises to treat her as an equal in both love and science. But as Albert’s fame grows, so too does Mileva’s worry that her light will be lost in her husband’s shadow forever.

A literary historical in the tradition of The Paris Wife and Mrs. Poe, The Other Einstein reveals a complicated partnership that is as fascinating as it is troubling.

My take:

First, a warning: if you read this book, the words “Albert Einstein” will cease to solicit the immediate reaction of “total genius” from you. Instead, your first thoughts on hearing his name are likely to be, forever more, “what a total b*stard!”.

I’m very glad I read The Other Einstein. I’m pleased I now know that a certain amount of credit for the theory of relativity is believed to lie with Mileva Maric Einstein, Albert’s first wife, a brilliant mathematician and physicist in a time widely hostile to women pursuing a career in academia. Just how much credit is apparently a matter of considerable debate in the physics community, but hopefully this book can make some contribution to making more people aware of Mileva’s existence.

Don’t worry if you have no interest in physics. The Other Einstein focuses on Mileva’s inner life, her friendships and relationship with Albert. The first third of the book is particularly captivating. It chronicles Mileva’s entry into university life in Zurich at the end of the nineteenth century, and her exhilaration and enthusiasm for her new situation, friends and studies are infectious. However, as her destiny becomes ever more intertwined with and subsumed into that of Albert Einstein, the story becomes increasingly depressing. Depressing partly because of its sad familiarity: a brilliant woman being denied the opportunity to use her gifts and when she does she is robbed of the credit she deserves by someone she should have been able to trust. The latter part of the book also becomes rather repetitive and a waiting game to see how long Mileva can put up with a mixture of neglect and mistreatment before she tells Albert to get stuffed.

Overall: a sad story, but one that deserves to be told. And if you’ve never heard of Mileva Maric Einsten before and her whole story would be new to you, I’d certainly urge you to read The Other Einstein.


Claire Huston / Art and Soul
Advertisements

15 thoughts on “ARC Review | The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict

    • Brilliant!
      The book does contain one of the best explanations of the theory of relativity I’ve ever come across.
      It’s just such a shame Mileva didn’t get the chance to fully exploit and be recognised for her talents in her lifetime 😦
      This would definitely provide an excellent starting point for discussions.

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! 🙂
      It’s just honestly the way it is now. We went to the Leicester Space Centre a couple of weekends ago and Einstein’s picture features in one of their exhibits. I tapped his face, turned to my husband and said, “There he is. Old Albert. The total b*stard!”
      I’m so glad I read the book. Not the most cheerful thing you’ll ever read, but at least you come away from it far better informed and wondering how many other women were influential/essential to massive scientific breakthroughs but were robbed of credit…

      Like

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 5th October 2016 | Art and Soul

  2. I never had a clue about his personal life. I found it fascinating that it was, quite possibly, as much his wife’s theory as his. It really made me think about how hard it was to be a woman who wanted more education but for which it was considered out of the ordinary. What those men would think if they could see us now!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s