WWW Wednesday 28th September 2016

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

As always, clicking on the cover image will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

1. What I’m reading at the moment

Spectacles, a memoir by Sue Perkins

Spectacles by Sue PerkinsMy second non-fiction book of 2016! I finish this and I’ve read my minimum of 2 non-fiction books per year! πŸ™‚ I’m not sure the non-Brits among you will have much of an idea of who Sue Perkins is… but this is her first book and memoir. And it’s very good.

The blurb: “This, my first ever book, will answer questions such as ‘Is Mary Berry real?’, ‘Is it true you wear a surgical truss?’ and ‘Is a non-spherically symmetric gravitational pull from outside the observable universe responsible for some of the observed motion of large objects such as galactic clusters in the universe?’

Most of this book is true. I have, of course, amplified my more positive characteristics in an effort to make you like me. Thank you for reading.”


2. The last books I read

Empire of Storms (Throne of Glass #5) by Sarah J. Maas

empire-of-storms-by-sarah-j-maasThis was ok. Not bad, not brilliant – just ok. It’s probably my least favourite of the series, tied with Book 3. However, I hold out a lot of hope for book 6 because I’ve always enjoyed the even-numbered installments more. Plus it’s hinted at that Aelin might be out of the spotlight for a while… which could give all the great secondary characters more time to shine. Here’s my full review.

The blurb: no blurb so as not to spoil any of the previous installments of the series. If you’re really interested in knowing more about the series, you can check out my review of Book 1, Throne of Glass.

AND

Holding by Graham Norton

holding-by-graham-nortonI really enjoyed this. It wasn’t quite as funny as I’d been expecting, but it was more than amusing and moving enough to make up for lack of laughs. A great first novel. Here’s my full review.

The blurb:Β Graham Norton’s masterful debut is an intelligently crafted story of love, secrets and loss.

The remote Irish village of Duneen has known little drama; and yet its inhabitants are troubled. Sergeant PJ Collins hasn’t always been this overweight; mother ofΒ­ two Brid Riordan hasn’t always been an alcoholic; and elegant Evelyn Ross hasn’t always felt that her life was a total waste.

So when human remains are discovered on an old farm, suspected to be that of Tommy Burke – a formerΒ­ love of both Brid and Evelyn – the village’s dark past begins to unravel. As the frustrated PJ struggles to solve a genuine case for the first time in his life, he unearths a community’s worth of anger and resentments, secrets and regret.


3. What I’ll read next

The Other Einstein by Marie Benedict

the-other-einstein-by-marie-benedictThis is another ARC from NetGalley. I haven’t read any historical fiction for a while and this one sounded very interesting.

The blurb:Β In 1896, the extraordinarily gifted Mileva is the only woman studying physics at an elite school in ZΓΌrich. There, she falls for charismatic fellow student Albert Einstein, who promises to treat her as an equal in both love and science. But as Albert’s fame grows, so too does Mileva’s worry that her light will be lost in her husband’s shadow forever.

A literary historical in the tradition of The Paris Wife and Mrs. Poe, The Other Einstein reveals a complicated partnership that is as fascinating as it is troubling.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! πŸ™‚


And elsewhere on the blog…

wholemeal-split-tin-easy-bread-recipe-sliced

I finally made bread! Only after saying I would for nine months… Oh well, better late than never!


Claire Huston / Art and Soul
45 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 28th September 2016

    • I think I’d put Sue Perkins’ memoir ahead of Amy Poehler’s (which I read last year). But to be fair to Amy, that’s probably just because I’m far more familiar with Sue and her TV work. If I lived in the US, I’m sure my feelings would be reversed.
      I’m just catching up with WWW posts and will check out yours asap.

      Like

  1. 2 non-fictions per year is a good goal. I noticed I really need to be in the mood for them or I get bored very fast. I don’t read much historical fiction but I love the sound of The Other Einstein!
    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. We share the same sentiments over Empire of Storms, it was not my favorite installment. Great to hear that Aelin may not be in most of 6, since what I love most about this series is the supporting cast of characters. I’m VERY intrigued by The Other Einstein…I dare not request an eGalley though because I have enough on my plate but this book tempts me so lol *steps away from PC*. I am impressed by your bread making skills, I definitely fell short in the cooking/baking department *eeeK* Great WWW btw πŸ˜‰

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s exactly how I feel about the whole Throne of Glass series. If she decides to do spin-off series, she has some terrific supporting characters to work with. I, for one, would not miss Aelin at all!
      I’m just working my way through my NetGalley shelf before I can request anything new – I know the feeling πŸ™‚
      Thank you – I was really pleased with how the bread turned out for my first ever time making it.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I agree! I wouldn’t miss her either especially after Empire of Storms. I’m also working my way through my NetGalley shelf & trying not to request anything else. Doubt that I’ll get approved anyways u til I raise the ration back up again πŸ™ˆ 1st time making bread & it actually looks like what it was intended to be…I’d say you are WINNING! πŸ˜‰

        Liked by 1 person

  3. You’re right, I don’t know who Sue Perkins is. πŸ˜‰ But I enjoy reading memoirs, so I might give it a go at some point anyway. I normally don’t read a lot of non fiction, but somehow this year I’ve already read 9?! The Other Einstein sounds really good as well; I hope you’ll enjoy it. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I know who Sue Perkins is! Not that I’ve seen her around much, I know she co-hosts GBBO, but I’ve never watched that. I did watch that show a few years ago where they ate the diet of different time periods for a week… I think she’d write a great memoir.

    Liked by 1 person

    • She does! πŸ™‚ I think even if you have a vague idea of who she is, you’d enjoy it. But if you had never heard of her before if might be a bit odd.
      I enjoyed Amy Poehler’s memori and I only had a fuzzy idea of who she was… so it can be done I guess!

      Like

  5. The Other Einstein looks pretty good. I like the description and cover. I haven’t read historical fiction in so long. Anyway, I hope that this turns out to be a great read for you.Happy reading πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. The Other Einstein sounds interesting. And like another good installment in the trend of highlighting the highly talented wives of well-known men! I hope you enjoy it.
    I shared some of your quibbles with EoS, and I too hope for more spotlight for the side characters come book 6 next year. Especially Manon, Elide, Lysandra, and Chaol&Nesryn (since we get his POV not hers but they tend to be together).

    Thanks for visiting my WWW post and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I haven’t started the Throne of Glass series yet, but I’ve heard some mixed things. I have to admit that my expectations for it are low, but that can only go in its favour πŸ™‚
    I adore Sue Perkins, but I don’t usually read memoirs or biographies! I hope you enjoy her humour πŸ™‚

    Happy reading! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

