Recipe | Split tin loaf

Yes! I finally made bread. And it turned out OK!

wholemeal-split-tin-easy-bread-recipe-sliced

So it only took me nine months after swearing that I would, but I finally made bread! I went for one of the easiest recipes I could find in The Big Book of Bread: the recipe for a split tin loaf.

Apologies for the photos. The bread is the same colour as my kitchen counters and the light was really weird the day I made these!

Ingredients (makes 2 loaves and you can get 12-14 slices out of each one)

  • 350 g / 12 oz strong plain white flour
  • 350 g / 12 oz strong plain wholemeal flour, plus extra for dusting
  • 2 tsps salt
  • 1 tsp caster sugar
  • 1 sachet (7 g / 0.25 oz) fast-action dried yeast
  • 1 egg, lightly beaten
  • 350 ml (12 fl oz) warm milk

Method

Grease two 900 g (2 lb) loan tins and put to one side. I didn’t have two loaf tins, so I just shaped my dough into two rough loaf shapes and baked them on greased baking trays.

Sift the white flour into a large bowl, add the wholemeal flour, salt, sugar and yeast. Make a well in the centre of the dry ingredients, add the egg and milk, then mix to form a soft dough.

I did the mixing phase in my mixer using the dough hook attachment and the dough looked like this:

wholemeal-split-tin-easy-bread-recipe-dough-using-mixer

Turn the dough out onto a lightly floured surface and knead until smooth and elastic. I kneaded the dough for about 10 minutes. You can also let your mixer do this stage too if you have a dough hook.

If you’re using loaf tins, divide your dough in half and pat each portion into a rectangle shape the length of the tins. Roll up each portion of dough from one short end. Place into the loaf tins, seams-sides down and tuck the ends under. Cover and leave to rise in a warm place until doubled in size.

If you’re using baking trays rather than loaf tins, shape your dough into a ball and put into a large, lightly oiled bowl and cover with cling film.

wholemeal-split-tin-easy-bread-recipe-proving

I left the dough to prove for 2 hours (you’ll need a minimum of an hour). If you’re lucky enough to have a proving drawer or space in your airing cupboard, that’ll help the dough rise more quickly. After 2 hours, the dough had certainly doubled in size!

wholemeal-split-tin-easy-bread-recipe-after-proving

Pre-heat the oven to 230 degrees C (210 fan) / Gas Mark 8 / 450 degrees F. If you’ve used loaf tins, this is when you can cut a deep slash along the centre of each loaf, dust them with flour and put them into the oven. However… as I still had to shape my dough before putting it on the baking trays, I decided to put it back on my floured board and gave it another knead. I think I’ve been influenced by Bake Off and all the contestants saying how important it is to “knock back” the dough! This time I only kneaded for a few minutes. I then cut the dough in half and shaped it into two rough loaf shapes, then I did the aforementioned cutting and dusting.

wholemeal-split-tin-easy-bread-recipe-before-baking

Bake the loaves for 15 minutes, then turn the oven down to 200 degrees C (180 fan) / Gas Mark 6 / 400 degrees F and bake for another 15-20 minutes or until the bread has risen, lightly browned and sounds hollow when tapped underneath. I found I had to turn the oven down after 10 minutes because the loaves were starting to go a little too brown on top. Here they are just out of the oven:

wholemeal-split-tin-easy-bread-recipe-fresh-from-oven

Cool on a wire rack. Slice and enjoy!

wholemeal-split-tin-easy-bread-recipe-sliced-with-butter

I’ll have to try something a bit more complicated next time 🙂

wholemeal-split-tin-easy-bread-recipe-uk-sliced


And, in the interests of balance, here’s a gluten free recipe!

Coconut and almond macaroons perfect with tea

 

Coconut and almond macaroons.

 

 

 

 


Claire Huston / Art and Soul
19 thoughts on “Recipe | Split tin loaf

  1. God, I love bread. This looks amazing! You always get me with your recipes. It’s a good thing you live far, far away from me or might just show up at your door for the goodies all the time! (That sounds stalkerish. Lol. Promise I won’t show up at your door!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • No, that would be great. You could help me eat stuff. I’d love to be able to bake more, but there are only 3 of us in the house and I get accused of making people (i.e. my husband) fat! If I had more people the share my baking with I could bake every day 🙂
      The bread turned out much better than I’d hoped. There was a scary moment about an hour into the proving stage when I thought the dough wasn’t going to rise… but it all turned out ok in the end!

      Liked by 1 person

    • I was starting to panic when, after an hour, it hadn’t grown at all. I went upstairs for a while, and when I came back it had ballooned! Maybe it’s a watched pot thing…
      I’ve had a request for baguettes next. That could well be a disaster!

      Like

  2. Making fresh bread is something i want to try. I think i east more when i have a sliced loaf bought in so a smaller loaf without the uniform size slices is what i’m after. I also don’t mind freezing bread to use for toast. My girls love their toast ha

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve been slicing, then freezing the bread I make in “lunch-sized” portions for my son and me. I made another large white loaf on Saturday and was pleased with how it turned out. With the dough hook and the mixer to take the strain, it’s not difficult, just time-consuming with all that hanging around for proving! 🙂

      Like

    • Thank you! I think bread is one of those things that you need to practice a lot to get right. I made some more on Saturday (a different recipe though), and make the mistake of adding slightly too much water. It turned out ok… but I’ve learnt my lesson for next time!

      Like

  3. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 28th September 2016 | Art and Soul

  4. Pingback: Recipe | Pink and white iced finger buns | Art and Soul

Leave a Reply

