WWW Wednesday 24th August 2016

IMG_1384-0

 

Firstly, a public service announcement: I won’t be taking part in the next couple of WWW Weds as I’m off on my hols. But I’ll try to keep up with your posts! 🙂

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

As always, clicking on the cover image will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

1. What I’m reading at the moment

The Sister by Louise Jensen

The Sister by Louise JensenI’ve been a keen reader of the flash fiction Louise publishes on her blog for a while and was delighted when she announced her publishing deal. I’ve had this on my Kindle for a while but was putting it off because I was slightly worried I wouldn’t enjoy it. But so far, so good! Hooray!

The blurb: Grace hasn’t been the same since the death of her best friend Charlie. She is haunted by Charlie’s words, the last time she saw her, and in a bid for answers, opens an old memory box of Charlie’s. It soon becomes clear there was a lot she didn’t know about her best friend.

When Grace starts a campaign to find Charlie’s father, Anna, a girl claiming to be Charlie’s sister steps forward. For Grace, finding Anna is like finding a new family, and soon Anna has made herself very comfortable in Grace and boyfriend Dan’s home.

But something isn’t right. Things disappear, Dan’s acting strangely and Grace is sure that someone is following her. Is it all in Grace’s mind? Or as she gets closer to discovering the truth about both Charlie and Anna, is Grace in terrible danger?

There was nothing she could have done to save Charlie …or was there?


2. The last books I read

Three Amazing Things About You by Jill Mansell

Three Amazing Things About You by Jill MansellOnce again, Jill Mansell didn’t let me down. This was exactly the sort of uplifting read I needed. And this time it included a significant nail-biting element: which character will become to organ donor?! Here’s my full review.

The blurb: Hallie has a secret. She’s in love. He’s perfect for her in every way, but he’s seriously out of bounds. And her friends aren’t going to help her because what they do know is that Hallie doesn’t have long to live. Time is running out…

Flo has a dilemma. She really likes Zander. But his scary sister won’t be even faintly amused if she thinks Zander and Flo are becoming friends – let alone anything more.

Tasha has a problem. Her new boyfriend is the adventurous type. And she’s afraid one of his adventures will go badly wrong.

Three Amazing Things About You begins as Hallie goes on a journey. A donor has been found and she’s about to be given new lungs. But whose?

AND

A Mind to Murder by P. D. James

A Mind to Murder by P. D. James I’m glad I finally read something by P. D. James because this was a well-written, if unremarkable whodunnit. I look forward to reading more of her books and would welcome recommendations from fans! Here’s my full review.

The blurb: When the administrative head of the Steen Psychiatric Clinic is found dead with a chisel in her heart, Superintendent Adam Dalgliesh of Scotland Yard is called in to investigate. Dalgliesh must analyze the deep-seated anxieties and thwarted desires of patients and staff alike to determine which of their unresolved conflicts resulted in murder.


3. What I’ll read next

I’m off on my hols so hope to get a few books read. One I’ll be reading for certain is…

The Hive by Gill Hornby

The Hive by Gill Hornby book coverMy sister read this and passed it to my Mum, who has now passed it to me! From the blurb, it sounds a bit like a grown-up Mean Girls. Looking forward to it!

The blurb: Welcome to St Ambrose Primary School. A world of friendships, fights and feuding. And that’s just the mothers.

It’s the start of another school year at St Ambrose. But while the children are in the classroom colouring in, their mothers are learning sharper lessons on the other side of the school gates. Lessons in friendship. Lessons in betrayal. Lessons in the laws of community, the transience of power… and how to get invited to lunch.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂


And elsewhere on the blog…

How to make chocolate toffee and smartie melts biscuit cookie recipe

Last week I made chocolate toffee melts. Lovely chocolate biscuits which are very easy to make with the help of children, if you’re looking for something to make with little ones 🙂


Claire Huston / Art and Soul
61 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 24th August 2016

  1. I’ve seen The Sister pop up a lot over the past couple of weeks and have been very tempted so will be interested to see what you think. Your review of Three Amazing Things has also convinced me I need to read it. It’s been lurking too long.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Have a wonderful holiday! I’ll miss your posts! 🙂
    So happy you’re enjoying The Sister, I found it to be a brilliant debut novel. The writing is amazing and Louise definitely masters the art of balancing two timelines with the right amount of suspense and questions.
    I love the sound of The Hive!
    Happy reading (if you get the time! 🙂 )

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I’m hoping for reading time in there somewhere 🙂
      I definitely think Louise has cracked the “Then” and “Now” thing. I’m so happy it’s this good. When you’ve been following someone’s blog for a while it’s always a nervous time when they finally get published in case you don’t enjoy their book :-/

      Like

  3. Have fun on your hols! Hope you have a lovely time!
    I’m glad you’re enjoying the Sister; it’s a book I’ll definitely have to look into in the future!
    I’ll have to read more of PD James now! I’m always looking for a good whodunnit!
    Happy Reading!
    Take care ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • I recently got my NetGalley shelf down to a single book and felt relieved… before requesting a ton more books. I think it’s an addiction! 🙂
      The biscuits were really nice. Soft and chewy. And the ones with the toffee centre were definitely the best.

      Like

    • Thank you! The biscuits were really nice. In fact, nicer than I’d imagined. I found them rather addictive and I’m not sure I’ll be making them for a while for the sake of my waistline 🙂
      I finished The Sister in just 4 hours and the review will be up soon!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Enjoy the holidays, great time to be going! I’m reading The Boy Made of Blocks by Keith Stuart, is teh story of a man trying to get his head around life really, his wife has called a break on their marraige, which has always revolved around their 8 year old boy, who has autism. It’s easy going yet heavy in what it deals with and I’m enjoying it. I have The Sister to read soon, must look up the website with the flash fiction!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Have a wonderful holiday!
    I do enjoy flash fiction, so I will certainly go check out Jensen’s site. And maybe her novel, too, although I keep saying I’ll read thrillers and then not picking them up. They just sit and sit and sit on my TBR list…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

