Review | Three Amazing Things About You by Jill Mansell

I honestly don’t think she’s capable of writing a bad book. 4/5.

Three Amazing Things About You by Jill Mansell

The blurb: Hallie has a secret. She’s in love. He’s perfect for her in every way, but he’s seriously out of bounds. And her friends aren’t going to help her because what they do know is that Hallie doesn’t have long to live. Time is running out…

Flo has a dilemma. She really likes Zander. But his scary sister won’t be even faintly amused if she thinks Zander and Flo are becoming friends – let alone anything more.

Tasha has a problem. Her new boyfriend is the adventurous type. And she’s afraid one of his adventures will go badly wrong.

Three Amazing Things About You begins as Hallie goes on a journey. A donor has been found and she’s about to be given new lungs. But whose?

My take:

I picked up this book in a local charity shop because I was in desperate need of a cheerful, lighter read. I’ve read about ten of Mansell’s books now and I’ve enjoyed all of them. So although I flicked through the first few pages before buying, just to double check I hadn’t read it before (my memory isn’t brilliant for titles and all the covers are very similar), I didn’t bother reading the blurb because I trust Mansell to entertain me with a good contemporary romantic tale and don’t feel the need to know exactly what’s going to happen.

The result of this was that I was already four or five chapters into the book and had been introduced to all the main characters and their love interests before I finally read the blurb… and was instantly on edge! In that short time I’d become quite attached to the characters and it was certainly an incentive to keep reading to find out which one of them was going to end up being an organ donor!

Mansell’s books usually present us with various heroines and heroes. This is a great tactic because you can be pretty sure that you’ll become deeply invested in at least one of the stories, if not all of them. For me, the highlight of the book was Hallie’s story. She was so likeable, I desperately wanted her to get her happy ending in terms of her health and love-life, and her story was well-paced.

Overall: another great contemporary romance from Jill Mansell. If you like this sort of thing, you can’t go wrong with any of her books!


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

 

15 thoughts on “Review | Three Amazing Things About You by Jill Mansell

  1. I’ve read about thirteen of her books and there wasn’t one I didn’t like, so I agree with you: she doesn’t seem to be able to write a bad book! Haven’t read this one, but it’s still on my list (simply for being a Jill Mansell book) – I didn’t know yet what it’s about but now I’m intrigued! Definitely seems a bit more dark/serious than some of her previous books…

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 24th August 2016 | Art and Soul

Leave a Reply

