WWW Wednesday 17th August 2016

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

As always, clicking on the cover image will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

1. What I’m reading at the moment

Three Amazing Things About You by Jill Mansell

Three Amazing Things About You by Jill MansellAfter two weighty, literary fiction books last week (which I didn’t exactly enjoy), I’ve taken refuge in the ever-reliable work of Jill Mansell! She’s never let me down πŸ™‚

The blurb:Β Hallie has a secret. She’s in love. He’s perfect for her in every way, but he’s seriously out of bounds. And her friends aren’t going to help her because what they do know is that Hallie doesn’t have long to live. Time is running out…

Flo has a dilemma. She really likes Zander. But his scary sister won’t be even faintly amused if she thinks Zander and Flo are becoming friends – let alone anything more.

Tasha has a problem. Her new boyfriend is the adventurous type. And she’s afraid one of his adventures will go badly wrong.

Three Amazing Things About You begins as Hallie goes on a journey. A donor has been found and she’s about to be given new lungs. But whose?


2. The last books I read

The Museum of You by Carys Bray

The Museum of You by Carys BrayI didn’t enjoy this one as much as I’d hoped. I enjoyed the parts written from the perspective on Clover, but didn’t empathize as much with her dad. Here’s my full review, which better explains my mixed feelings.

The blurb: Clover Quinn was a surprise. She used to imagine she was the good kind, now she’s not sure. She’d like to ask Dad about it, but growing up in the saddest chapter of someone else’s story is difficult. She tries not to skate on the thin ice of his memories.

Darren has done his best. He’s studied his daughter like a seismologist on the lookout for waves and surrounded her with everything she might want – everything he can think of, at least – to be happy.

What Clover wants is answers. This summer, she thinks she can find them in the second bedroom, which is full of her mother’s belongings. Volume isn’t important, what she is looking for is essence; the undiluted bits: a collection of things that will tell the full story of her mother, her father and who she is going to be.

But what you find depends on what you’re searching for.

AND

The Summer That Melted Everything by Tiffany McDaniel

The Summer That Melted Everything by Tiffany McDanielI’m very sad to report that my experience of this book wasn’t the same as all the reviewers who’ve given it 5 stars. I could see that it’s got a lot going for it, but I just didn’t enjoy it 😦 That said, I’d still recommend it if you enjoy literary fiction and are looking for a darker, heavier read. Here’s my full review.

The blurb: Fielding Bliss has never forgotten the summer of 1984: the year a heat wave scorched Breathed, Ohio. The year he became friends with the devil.

Sal seems to appear out of nowhere – a bruised and tattered thirteen-year-old boy claiming to be the devil himself answering an invitation. Fielding Bliss, the son of a local prosecutor, brings him home where he’s welcomed into the Bliss family, assuming he’s a runaway from a nearby farm town.

When word spreads that the devil has come to Breathed, not everyone is happy to welcome this self-proclaimed fallen angel. Murmurs follow him and tensions rise, along with the temperatures as an unbearable heat wave rolls into town right along with him. As strange accidents start to occur, riled by the feverish heat, some in the town start to believe that Sal is exactly who he claims to be. While the Bliss family wrestles with their own personal demons, a fanatic drives the town to the brink of a catastrophe that will change this sleepy Ohio backwater forever.


3. What I’ll read next

A Mind to Murder by P. D. James

A Mind to Murder by P. D. James A bit like not having read anything by Agatha Christie until last year, I can’t believe it’s taken me this long to read a P. D. James novel. My local charity shop had this one and I decided it’s about time I put matters to rights… even if this is the second in a series… hopefully that won’t matter too much! πŸ™‚

The blurb:Β When the administrative head of the Steen Psychiatric Clinic is found dead with a chisel in her heart, Superintendent Adam Dalgliesh of Scotland Yard is called in to investigate. Dalgliesh must analyze the deep-seated anxieties and thwarted desires of patients and staff alike to determine which of their unresolved conflicts resulted in murder.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! πŸ™‚


And elsewhere on the blog…

how to make jam doughnut muffins recipe (2)

Last week I made jam doughnut muffins. Surprisingly easy to make and the best of a filled doughnut and muffin in one. What’s not to like?!


Claire Huston / Art and Soul
54 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 17th August 2016

  1. i just read your Summer that Melted Everything review and I think I might give it a pass, even though it had been on my TBR… I find literary fiction a challenge a lot of the time, and the things you mentioned make it sound like something I wouldn’t really enjoy much. Weirdly, I don’t thiink a single other review I’ve read mentioned the dual perspective, which would definitely put me off. No wonder you needed something lighter after those two!

    Here’s my WWW post this week.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m starting to believe that having to read tonnes of literary fiction for my degree has made me incapable of enjoying it anymore! 😦
      I’m really enjoying my lighter read! There’s also something about summer and sunshine which makes reading about darker subjects difficult.
      I’ll head over to your post now…

      Like

  2. I am sorry that your experience with The Summer that Melted Everything wasn’t so good. I have been seeing the book around and have been intending to read it soon.I hope that the P.D James will be a good read for you. Happy Reading and enjoy your Wednesday.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve had Three Amazing Things About You lurking in the deepest, darkest depths of my kindle for a while now. I think I’ve been putting it off as it sounds like it could be a bit sad and I’ve been looking for happy books. I hope you enjoy. I’ll be looking out for your review.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I hope that Three Amazing Things About You doesn’t disappoint after two hard reads! I’ve never read anything by Jill Mansell, but I think I’ll give her bibliography a peek at now.
    I don’t think I’ve read a P.D. James yet either ;P No! That’s a lie. I’ve read Death Comes to Pemberley πŸ™‚ Which I did enjoy. The miniseries was decent as well, if I remember. But I should read one of her other ones. I’m always looking for a good mystery series to get into.
    Happy Reading!
    https://aliasfaithrivens.wordpress.com/2016/08/17/www-wednesday-the-nineteenth/

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Jill Mansell is on my TBR thanks to you πŸ™‚ As I am slowing down on ARCs, I should be able to finally squeeze one of her books between two thrillers.
    I’m bumped you did not enjoy The Summer That Melted Everything, but I have thought about the points to made in your review and I see why the magic did not happen.
    Love love the sound of A Mind To Murder!
    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You can’t go wrong with Jill Mansell πŸ™‚ If you’re after something contemporary and uplifting with characters you can care for, then she’s the author you need!
      I’m just catching up on WWW posts (there are so many again this week!) and will head over to yours asap.

      Like

  6. I’ve heard so many good things about The Summer that Melted Everything, so it’s a shame you weren’t keen. It does sound like the kind of book that’s not for everyone.

    Thanks for visiting my WWW and happy reading! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know. It was such a shame because there were things to like about the book 😦 And so many other readers have loved it. I honestly think I wasn’t in a good mood for literary fiction last week.
      I’ll check out your post now…

      Like

    • Jill Mansell and Katie Fforde are quite similar. They both tend to tell the stories of two or three couples which overlap. It’s a great approach because you’re pretty much guaranteed to like and root for at least one of the couples πŸ™‚ And the endings are always really uplifting.
      I think I’ve read ten of Jill Mansell’s books now and they’ve all been good. She’s very reliable!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I must have seen about 10 reviews for The Summer That Melted Everything and everyone’s reviews were so positive, so it’s good to see an opposing opinion. Sorry you didn’t enjoy it though. I will admit, even without having seen a negative review, it just doesn’t sound like something I want to read haha

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I’m sorry ‘The Summer that Everything Melted’ didn’t do it for you. Whenever I have unpopular opinions, I almost feel bad saying them but I’m glad when others do, so I feel better about speaking up! Your baking pictures always make me so hungry! Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It is! It’s lovely, although quite worrying while she’s keeping you guessing who is going to end up being an organ donor! Fortunately – as usual – everything turns out ok in the end πŸ™‚
      I think if you go into The Summer That Melted Everything knowing to expect something heavy, it would be a better experience.

      Liked by 1 person

  9. I find it difficult to read dark, heavy books in the summer and while I don’t read a lot of literary fiction these days, I would definitely wait until the winter! I picked up that same book by Jill Mansell – I’ll see what you think before I go back to it. Looked interesting. If my TBR pile ever dries up I must start with mysteries. It’s been a while since I picked one up. Thanks for stopping by my WWW!! Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I try to alternate romance, mystery, fantasy etc. or I’d run the risk of always reading fantasy and nothing else! πŸ™‚ I’m hoping to get my review of Three Amazing Things About You up later today (just have to find time to write it!).

      Like

Leave a Reply

