WWW Wednesday 10th August 2016

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

As always, clicking on the cover image will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

1. What I’m reading at the moment

The Museum of You by Carys Bray

The Museum of You by Carys BrayThis was everywhere a while ago and the good reviews sold me on it (nothing at all to do with the amazing cover. No, not at all. Honest). I was pleased to get a library copy.

The blurb: Clover Quinn was a surprise. She used to imagine she was the good kind, now she’s not sure. She’d like to ask Dad about it, but growing up in the saddest chapter of someone else’s story is difficult. She tries not to skate on the thin ice of his memories.

Darren has done his best. He’s studied his daughter like a seismologist on the lookout for waves and surrounded her with everything she might want – everything he can think of, at least – to be happy.

What Clover wants is answers. This summer, she thinks she can find them in the second bedroom, which is full of her mother’s belongings. Volume isn’t important, what she is looking for is essence; the undiluted bits: a collection of things that will tell the full story of her mother, her father and who she is going to be.

But what you find depends on what you’re searching for.


2. The last books I read

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman book coverA sneaky book in which it seems nothing much happens, but in reality it’s stealthily wrapping you in a hug and, before you know it, you’re laughing and crying at the same time. I look forward to reading Backman’s other books. Here’s my full review.

The blurb: Meet Ove. He’s a curmudgeon, the kind of man who points at people he dislikes as if they were burglars caught outside his bedroom window. He has staunch principles, strict routines, and a short fuse. People call him the bitter neighbor from hell, but must Ove be bitter just because he doesn’t walk around with a smile plastered to his face all the time?

Behind the cranky exterior there is a story and a sadness. So when one November morning a chatty young couple with two chatty young daughters move in next door and accidentally flatten Ove’s mailbox, it is the lead-in to a comical and heartwarming tale of unkempt cats, unexpected friendship, and the ancient art of backing up a U-Haul. All of which will change one cranky old man and a local residents’ association to their very foundations.

AND

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

Nevernight by Jay KristoffNeverwhere seems to be dividing readers into “love it” or “hate it”. I loved it! Definitely one for fantasy fans and not-easily-offended fantasy fans at that… Here’s my full review.

The blurb: Destined to destroy empires, Mia Covere is only ten years old when she is given her first lesson in death. Six years later, the child raised in shadows takes her first steps towards keeping the promise she made on the day that she lost everything.

But the chance to strike against such powerful enemies will be fleeting, so if she is to have her revenge, Mia must become a weapon without equal. She must prove herself against the deadliest of friends and enemies, and survive the tutelage of murderers, liars and demons at the heart of a murder cult.

The Red Church is no Hogwarts, but Mia is no ordinary student. The shadows love her. And they drink her fear.

 


3. What I’ll read next

The Summer That Melted Everything by Tiffany McDaniel

The Summer That Melted Everything by Tiffany McDanielI’ve seen lots of 5-star reviews for this book and so I was delighted to get my request on NetGalley approved. I can’t wait! πŸ™‚

The blurb: Fielding Bliss has never forgotten the summer of 1984: the year a heat wave scorched Breathed, Ohio. The year he became friends with the devil.

Sal seems to appear out of nowhere – a bruised and tattered thirteen-year-old boy claiming to be the devil himself answering an invitation. Fielding Bliss, the son of a local prosecutor, brings him home where he’s welcomed into the Bliss family, assuming he’s a runaway from a nearby farm town.

When word spreads that the devil has come to Breathed, not everyone is happy to welcome this self-proclaimed fallen angel. Murmurs follow him and tensions rise, along with the temperatures as an unbearable heat wave rolls into town right along with him. As strange accidents start to occur, riled by the feverish heat, some in the town start to believe that Sal is exactly who he claims to be. While the Bliss family wrestles with their own personal demons, a fanatic drives the town to the brink of a catastrophe that will change this sleepy Ohio backwater forever.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! πŸ™‚


And elsewhere on the blog…

Recipe for lemon shortbread wedges

Last week I made lemon shortbread. You only need four ingredients to make this melt-in-the-mouth treat πŸ™‚


Claire Huston / Art and Soul
77 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 10th August 2016

    • The “museum” concept part of The Museum of You is possibly the best part! πŸ™‚
      It’s great when the library comes through. They surprised me with the number of copies of The Museum of You they had available.
      I’ll visit your post now…

      Like

  1. I’m so glad you liked A Man Called Ove. I’ve also seen the good reviews of Melted so I’m really looking forward to hearing what you think about it. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Looking forward to hearing what you think of the Museum of You. I got this from NetGalley a little while ago but haven’t had a chance to read. I did read the first few pages at the weekend and very nearly got sucked in (I resisted as I was midway through another book). There seemed something quite addictive about the writing πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. The Summer That Melted Everything is on my TBR, too! And I’ll be curious to see your thoughts on The Museum of You – I vaguely recall hearing people rave about it but I never looked into it because it’s only the title that sounds familiar.
    Thanks for visiting my WWW, and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I will be looking out for your review on Summer That Melted Everything! Its on my TBR but I’m not sure when I’ll get to it. It definitely seems like a different kind of book. Thanks for stopping by my WWW πŸ™‚
    Ps: Im planning on making the lemon shortbread, it looks delicious!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ooo! I hope you love it. I think it’s better you read a physical copy because it will make the footnotes easier to read. In the e-ARC I had the footnotes were often pages away from what they were referring to which made reading them tricky πŸ™‚

      Like

  5. The cover for The Museum of You is amazing though! I can’t completely say I hated Nevernight since I only read 17% of it, but I want to give it another chance now that the finished copy is out in the world. It was way too hard to read and enjoy with the eARC that I received. I REALLY want to get my hands on The Summer That Melted Everything.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think reading a physical copy of Nevernight would be much easier. It was a bit annoying having to go seven or eight pages forward to find the footnote the number on your current page was referring to!
      Fingers crossed for The Summer That Melted Everything πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. We are so not people who get influenced by covers. Not at all. :p But a beautiful cover always helps! I’m really curious about The Museum of You, especially after reading Hailey’s review a while ago.
    I can’t wait to hear your thoughts about The Summer That Melted Everything! I was disappointed that a friend DNFed it because it bored her too much, so fingers crossed you’ll enjoy it!
    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know who you’re talking about with the DNF of TSTME! It’s worried me because we usually see eye-to-eye about book :-/ I’m a bit worried now! We’ll have to see…
      I am more influenced by covers than I would have believed! Especially anything which features blue, white and yellow πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. AHHHHH *screams* I’m so excited that you’ll be reading the Summer that Melted Everything next! I’m one of the ravers about that book; gosh, it’s just such a phenomenal, discomforting, provocative read. I really hope you enjoy it – I’ll be on the lookout for your thoughts. The Museum of You has one hell of a cover, so I wouldn’t blame you if it was a cover grab. xD

    ~ Aimal @ Bookshelves & Paperbacks

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I will be looking forward to your thoughts on The Museum Of You! I’m really interested in that title (and not just because of the cover πŸ˜‰ ) and I will probably try to get a copy soon depending on your review. And I hope you will enjoy The Summer That Melted Everything as much as I did! Such a brilliant book…

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I hope that you will enjoy The Summer that Melted Everything. I have seen only positive reviews of it, everyone seems to have enjoyed it. I was late in requesting it from NetGalley so its already gone now but may be later. The Museum of You sounds good, looking forward to your review. Happy reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I saw Nevernight on the shelves on Friday and thought of you. I almost picked it up but it was only available in hard cover and (I’ve mentioned this before I think) I really don’t like hardcovers… So I must patiently wait πŸ™‚
    I haven’t heard of ‘The Museum of You’ or ‘The Summer That Melted Everything’, but I’ll be interested to hear what you hear your reviews on them πŸ™‚
    Happy Reading Claire and sorry for replying so late ;P

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

