WWW Wednesday 3rd August 2016

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

As always, clicking on the cover image will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

1. What I’m reading at the moment

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman

A Man Called Ove by Fredrik Backman book coverThank you to Kelsey over at Darcy’s Book Blog for recommending all Fredrik Backman’s books! If you’ve been following my reviews for a while, you may know I’m a fan of books which give anyone over 50 the chance to be a proper protagonist and A Man Called Ove certainly does that.

The blurb: Meet Ove. He’s a curmudgeon, the kind of man who points at people he dislikes as if they were burglars caught outside his bedroom window. He has staunch principles, strict routines, and a short fuse. People call him the bitter neighbor from hell, but must Ove be bitter just because he doesn’t walk around with a smile plastered to his face all the time?

Behind the cranky exterior there is a story and a sadness. So when one November morning a chatty young couple with two chatty young daughters move in next door and accidentally flatten Ove’s mailbox, it is the lead-in to a comical and heartwarming tale of unkempt cats, unexpected friendship, and the ancient art of backing up a U-Haul. All of which will change one cranky old man and a local residents’ association to their very foundations.


2. The last books I read

High-Rise by J. G. Ballard

High-Rise by JG Ballard book coverAs weird as I had expected. Now I can’t wait to see the film because I’m fascinated to see how they managed to adapt such an odd and disturbing book! (lots of “no animals were harmed in the making of this motion picture” disclaimers, I imagine). Here’s my full review.

The blurb: When a class war erupts inside a luxurious apartment block, modern elevators become violent battlegrounds and cocktail parties degenerate into marauding attacks on “enemy” floors. In this visionary tale, human society slips into violent reverse as once-peaceful residents, driven by primal urges, re-create a world ruled by the laws of the jungle.

AND

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Uprooted by Naomi NovikThis is a very well-written fantasy tale. If you usually avoid fantasy because you view it all as too far-fetched, you might want to give this one a try. I’m trying to avoid terrible title-related puns, but it is true to say that this story is grounded in old Polish and Russian folktales, giving it a relatable earthy quality. And if you enjoy fantasy, it’s definitely worth checking out. Here’s my full review.

The blurb: Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted Wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life. Her people rely on the cold, driven wizard known only as the Dragon to keep its powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as falling to the Wood. The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows – everyone knows – that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia, all the things Agnieszka isn’t, and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her. But Agnieszka fears the wrong things. For when the Dragon comes, it is not Kasia he will choose.


3. What I’ll read next

Nevernight by Jay Kristoff

Nevernight by Jay KristoffOK, I have to level with you: I’ve already read this book. I was delighted to get an e-ARC through NetGalley back in July and read it pretty much as soon as I got my hands on it. But I wanted to hold back my review until nearer publication and I’ll be posting it next Monday when I’d usually post the review of whatever I’m honestly reading next. So I’m putting this here today because otherwise my WWW posts will start to get out sink with my reviews and my poor tired brain just can’t cope with that level of confusion!

The blurb: Destined to destroy empires, Mia Covere is only ten years old when she is given her first lesson in death. Six years later, the child raised in shadows takes her first steps towards keeping the promise she made on the day that she lost everything.

But the chance to strike against such powerful enemies will be fleeting, so if she is to have her revenge, Mia must become a weapon without equal. She must prove herself against the deadliest of friends and enemies, and survive the tutelage of murderers, liars and demons at the heart of a murder cult.

The Red Church is no Hogwarts, but Mia is no ordinary student. The shadows love her. And they drink her fear.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂


And elsewhere on the blog…

How to make chocolate peanut butter square recipe tray bake no bake

Last week I made chocolate peanut butter squares. So easy to make. No baking required!


Claire Huston / Art and Soul
63 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 3rd August 2016

    • Uprooted would be a good one to try because, even though it’s full of magic, at no point do you think, “Oh that’s just ridiculous!”
      The peanut butter squares were lovely. I’ll definitely be making them again soon 🙂
      I’ll visit your post now…

      Liked by 1 person

    • I have to admit, I haven’t read any of Robin McKinley’s books, but from what I know of them, I’d say that’s a good comparison 🙂 I liked that Uprooted had a Dragon who wasn’t an actual dragon (sort of… it’s complicated) 🙂
      I’ll check out your post now…

      Like

  1. I really need to read Uprooted now! Like my list of books I need to read sooner rather than later (as opposed to just the general TBR) needs to get any longer.

    I’ll be interested to hear your thoughs on Nevernight – three reviewers I follow on GoodReads all gave it 1 star, but it sounds like you did not DNF it in despair.

    Here’s my post: https://keysandopenmind.wordpress.com/2016/08/03/www-and-wippet-wednesday-03-august-2016/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh my goodness! Three people DNF’d Nevernight?! Blimey! I know that the very beginning is a bit odd stylistically (I think he was going for something poetic, but it’s just confusing) and the story doesn’t really get going until they get to the “school”, but it’s very good overall! Oh dear 😦
      I hear you with the “need to read now” pile vs. general TBR. I also have a new releases list… it never ends!
      I’ll visit your post now…

      Like

    • Uprooted is just as good as I’d hoped. It took me a little while to really get into it, but I instantly liked the main female character so that made it an easy read.
      The chocolate and peanut butter squares are absolutely delicious and so easy to make 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve finally got into Ove! It’s a really slow starter… but then it sort of sneaks up on you and you realise you care lots about all the characters 🙂
      Just from having read the book, I can imagine the film of High-Rise is pretty “interesting” also.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. High Rise sounds like something else, dark and disturbing but I am intrigued enough to want to check it out. I like the sound of Uprooted.

    The chocolate and peanut butter squares look so yummy.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Yay! I hope you’re enjoying it! Ove is such a curmudgeon and I love him for it. 🙂

    I’m so excited to get my copy of Nevernight next week, though all these mixed reviews make me a bit nervous to read it.

    Here’s my post. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Ove is great 🙂 I have to admit it took me ages to get into the story, but now I’m near the end I’ve realised that I love him and will be said when it finishes! Thanks again for recommending all his books 🙂
      I really enjoyed Nevernight. People either seem to love it or hate/DNF it though… Fingers crossed you love it.
      I’m just catching up with WWW posts and will head over to yours asap.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve pushed Uprooted to the top of my TBR after reading your review, and A Man Called Ove sounds really good as well. And I will be looking forward to your review on Nevernight! I have heard mixed things about it, but since we normally have similar opinions I’m definitely interested in yours. 😉

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m pretty sure you’ll like Nevernight. Mainly because you have the patience to get through the first few pages (which are a bit odd) and then the next 100 pages (which are a bit slow in terms of plot) to get to the fantastic stuff after them! Quite a few bloggers are reporting DNFing this one, which is a shame.
      I think you’ll like Uprooted 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • In that case, you HAVE to read Ove. Stick with it if you find the beginning a little slow. It’s one of those books which creeps up on you and before you know it, it’s over and you’re really sad.
      Nevernight seems to be splitting people into love-hate camps. I’ve yet to see a “meh, it was ok” review. I think, if I were the author, I’d view this as a success. At least you’re provoking strong reactions in your audience!

      Like

  5. You know, I hadn’t actually considered this before but I cannot remember the last time I read a book with a senior protagonist. In fact, I’m actually wondering if I ever have! Yikes. Maybe I’ll do something about that and give A Man Called Ove a shot.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I have read so many positive but also negative reviews for Nevernight and I really don’t want to get disappointed if I pick it up, so I am literally waiting for more reviews to come to make my mind about it 😂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Me too! Nevernight seems to be dividing people into either “love it” or “hate it/DNF” camps. I think you do need to be a little patient at the beginning, but if you can stick with the story until they get to assassin’s school, you won’t be disappointed.

      Liked by 1 person

  7. A Man Called Ove sounds really fun, if only because I’m also one of those people who doesn’t walk around with a smile plastered on my face. I’ll have to add it to my ever-growing TBR list. I swear the thing grows on its own even without other people’s recs…
    And I love Jay Kristoff’s books! I still need to read the final installment in his Black Lotus War trilogy, to say nothing of his collaboration with Amie Kaufman on the Illuminae Files, but his writing is wonderful and makes you cry/rage.

    Thanks for visiting my WWW post, and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I really like Kristoff’s writing too, particularly in Nevernight. Which is why I’m slightly baffled by all the reviewers saying it’s his language that’s put them off! Oh well…
      A Man Called Ove is great. He’s grumpy, but he has his reasons 🙂
      Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

