WWW Wednesday 27th July 2016

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

As always, clicking on the cover image will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

1. What I’m reading at the moment

High-Rise by J. G. Ballard

High-Rise by JG Ballard book coverI was intrigued by the recent Ben Wheatley movie adaptation of this novel. I want to see the film, but I wanted to read the book first (my preferred order of going about things!). So far it’s exactly as bizarre and grim as I’d expected.

The blurb: When a class war erupts inside a luxurious apartment block, modern elevators become violent battlegrounds and cocktail parties degenerate into marauding attacks on “enemy” floors. In this visionary tale, human society slips into violent reverse as once-peaceful residents, driven by primal urges, re-create a world ruled by the laws of the jungle.


2. The last books I read

The Night Manager by John Le Carré

The Night Manager by John le Carré book coverI was motivated to read this by the recent BBC adaptation… but unfortunately having seen that adaptation ruined the book which seemed outdated, overly-complex and slightly dull by comparison. If you haven’t seen the TV version, or love complicated spy thrillers, give it a try. Otherwise, just watch the BBC version – it’s terrific! Here’s my full review.

The blurb: At the start of it all, Jonathan Pine is merely the night manager at a luxury hotel. But when a single attempt to pass on information to the British authorities – about an international businessman at the hotel with suspicious dealings – backfires terribly, and people close to Pine begin to die, he commits himself to a battle against powerful forces he cannot begin to imagine.

AND

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow RowellYay! Rainbow Rowell didn’t let me down. This was as good as everyone says and I thoroughly enjoyed it. Here’s my full review.

The blurb: Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough… Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises… Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds — smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.

AND(!)

The Jazz Files (Poppy Denby Investigates #1) by Fiona Veitch Smith

The Jazz Files by Fiona Veitch SmithThis sat on my TBR for quite a while after I’d seen good reviews on a few other blogs. It was good and I enjoyed it. But… I didn’t really have much else to say about it. So I just did a quick review on Goodreads rather than a blog post.

The blurb: In 1920, twenty-two year old Poppy Denby moves from Northumberland to live with her paraplegic aunt in London. Aunt Dot, a suffragette who was injured in battles with the police in 1910, is a feisty and well-connected lady.

Poppy has always dreamed of being a journalist, and quickly lands a position as an editorial assistant at the Daily Globe. Then one of the paper’s writers, Bert Isaacs, dies suddenly–and messily. Poppy and her attractive co-worker, photographer Daniel Rokeby begin to wonder if it wasn’t a natural death, but murder.

After she writes a sensational exposé, The Globe’s editor invites her to dig deeper. Poppy starts sifting through the dead man’s files and unearths a major mystery which takes her to France–and into deadly danger.

 


3. What I’ll read next

Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Uprooted by Naomi NovikAnother one that’s been sitting patiently on my TBR. I’m looking forward to what I’ve seen billed as a “grown-up fairytale”.

The blurb: Agnieszka loves her valley home, her quiet village, the forests and the bright shining river. But the corrupted Wood stands on the border, full of malevolent power, and its shadow lies over her life. Her people rely on the cold, driven wizard known only as the Dragon to keep its powers at bay. But he demands a terrible price for his help: one young woman handed over to serve him for ten years, a fate almost as terrible as falling to the Wood. The next choosing is fast approaching, and Agnieszka is afraid. She knows – everyone knows – that the Dragon will take Kasia: beautiful, graceful, brave Kasia, all the things Agnieszka isn’t, and her dearest friend in the world. And there is no way to save her. But Agnieszka fears the wrong things. For when the Dragon comes, it is not Kasia he will choose. 


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂


And elsewhere on the blog…

Jaffa Cake chocolate orange brownies recipe

Last week I made Jaffa Cake orange chocolate brownies. They were delicious!


Claire Huston / Art and Soul
70 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 27th July 2016

    • I know 😦
      If I’d read the book first, I think I would have liked it more. But the TV adaptation was so terrific (particularly Olivia Coleman as a female version of the book’s Leonard Burr), it ruined the book for me.
      Hey ho. I’ll just have to watch the show again!

      Like

  1. Reading the book before watching the movie is the safest way to go! Even though I’m disappointed with the adaptation 99% of the time. Books create such strong images in my brain that movies don’t stand a chance.
    I went to the Goodreads page of High-Rise and someone warned readers not to read it if we like dogs. Okay, not reading it! One of my recent reads had me crying forever because of a dog, so I’m steering clear.
    I am trying your Jaffa cake chocolate brownies recipe today or tomorrow, I’ll let you know if it’s a success!
    Happy reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I always prefer to have read the book before seeing the TV/film version. It’s very unusual that I don’t prefer the book. I’m not looking forward to seeing High-Rise (one day, probably when it’s on TV).
      Goodness! The dogs! I hadn’t really thought too much about that but, yes, probably best to avoid High-Rise if you love them :-/ It could be argued that they give as good as they get though!
      Can’t wait to hear how you get on with the brownies 🙂
      Happy reading (and baking)!

      Like

  2. I keep seeing Rainbow Powell’s name pop up!! It’s probably a sign that I should read her books 🙂

    Uprooted sounds good, I’ll look it up 🙂

    I’ve seen High-Rise on someone else’s post a few weeks ago, and I don’t think they were too impressed by it. I looked it up on Goodreads and the blurb didn’t convince me :/ I haven’t seen the movie, either, so perhaps it’s just not my thing?

    Thanks for visiting my WWW: https://sarinalangerwriter.com/2016/07/27/www-wednesday-27th-july-2016/

    Happy reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve never read any John Green, simply because – from what I’ve heard – I think his book would irritate me too much!
      I think Rainbow Rowell is quite different, particularly because the female characters are well drawn. I’d say you can’t go wrong starting with Eleanor & Park. It’s the one that most people agree on. Her later books divide readers (although I’ve liked them all!).
      Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ll be interested to hear what you think of High-Rise. I read it recently, also because I wanted to read the book first, though I haven’t gotten to the movie yet ;P Grim and bizarre really sums it up!
    Have you read Novik’s Temeraire series? The last book is out, but I haven’t picked it up yet (waiting for paperback). I’ve been meaning to read Uprooted because I do love her writing style. I hope you enjoy it!
    Thanks for stopping by my WWW earlier.
    Happy Reading ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    • I would like to see where the author takes The Jazz Files series next. I think I might find an adventure that has less to do with the heroine’s own family and their close circle more interesting. I really like the staff at the newspaper too and would like to see more of them 🙂

      Like

  4. High-Rise sounds fascinating! I also prefer to read the book before seeing the movie. I am so glad you like Eleanor & Park! If you haven’t read Rowell’s book, Attachments, yet I definitely recommend that one as well. I can’t wait to see what you think of Uprooted! I’ve had that on my TBR for awhile.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Uprooted sounds really tempting…and I’m also intrigued by High Rise. As for The Night Manager, I have found I occasionally prefer the movie adaptations….and I’m a little sad when that happens. But I love movies and shows as much as books…so it’s all good.

    I have Eleanor and Park, quietly waiting on Pippa…why haven’t I read it? It sounds charming. I must! Thanks for sharing and motivating me…and for visiting my blog.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Eleanor and Park is definitely charming. She has such a wonderful way of writing falling in love, particularly young love (which is very cute too).
      I have high hopes for Uprooted. I’ve heard very good things about it.
      Happy reading!

      Like

  6. So glad to hear that you enjoyed Eleanor and Park. I’ve heard that Rowell has debated about writing a sequel, but I kind of like the fact that this book doesn’t have a happy ending. Although, I wouldn’t mind her letting us in on what those last three words were XD.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m really looking forward to Uprooted, particularly because it’s been sitting on my TBR for ages now.
      High-Rise was a bit of a random choice because I’d never heard of it before the movie… but even though it’s very weird, I’m glad I’m reading it!
      Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I bought Uprooted mostly because I heard so many people raving about it haha
        I added High-Rise to my TBR because of the movie too! I think a blogger I follow was talking about how they watched the movie and really liked it, so I wanted to watch it but I always want to read the book first 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m glad you liked Eleanor & Park! I read it a long time ago, but I still remember it being such an adorable story. And I can’t wait to see what you think of Uprooted! I have been wanting to read that one as well (I love dragon stories), but somehow I never actually pick it up. I guess if you enjoy it, your review will help me convince to finally pick it up. 😉 Those brownies look delicious by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

