WWW Wednesday 20th July 2016

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

As always, clicking on the cover image will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

1. What I’m reading at the moment

The Night Manager by John Le Carré

The Night Manager by John le Carré book coverI enjoyed the recent BBC adaptation and, as I’ve never read a Le Carré, I put this one to the top of my list. So far it’s been quite hard going and I definitely prefer the updated TV version.

The blurb: At the start of it all, Jonathan Pine is merely the night manager at a luxury hotel. But when a single attempt to pass on information to the British authorities – about an international businessman at the hotel with suspicious dealings – backfires terribly, and people close to Pine begin to die, he commits himself to a battle against powerful forces he cannot begin to imagine.


2. The last books I read

The Secrets of Wishtide by Kate Saunders

The Secrets of Wishtide by Kate Saunders book coverThis was a good, if unremarkable, Victorian-period mystery. Worth checking out if that’s your thing. Here’s my full review.

The blurb: Mrs. Laetitia Rodd, aged fifty-two, is the widow of an archdeacon. Living in Hampstead with her confidante and landlady, Mrs. Benson, who once let rooms to John Keats, Laetitia makes her living as a highly discreet private investigator.

Her brother, Frederick Tyson, is a criminal barrister living in the neighboring village of Highgate with his wife and ten children. Frederick finds the cases, and Laetitia solves them using her arch intelligence, her iron discretion, and her immaculate cover as an unsuspecting widow. When Frederick brings to her attention a case involving the son of the well-respected, highly connected Sir James Calderstone, Laetitia sets off for Lincolnshire to take up a position as the family’s new governess—quickly making herself indispensable.

But the seemingly simple case—looking into young Charles Calderstone’s “inappropriate” love interest—soon takes a rather unpleasant turn. And as the family’s secrets begin to unfold, Laetitia discovers the Calderstones have more to hide than most.

AND

This Savage Song by V. E. Schwab

This Savage Song by V E Schwab book coverYay! It’s as good as I’d hoped! Schwab keeps up her high standards. Here’s my full review.

The blurb: There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.

 


3. What I’ll read next

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor and Park by Rainbow RowellI’ve been saving this one up for a while! I’m really looking forward to some quality cuteness 🙂

The blurb: Two misfits.
One extraordinary love.

Eleanor… Red hair, wrong clothes. Standing behind him until he turns his head. Lying beside him until he wakes up. Making everyone else seem drabber and flatter and never good enough… Eleanor.

Park… He knows she’ll love a song before he plays it for her. He laughs at her jokes before she ever gets to the punch line. There’s a place on his chest, just below his throat, that makes her want to keep promises… Park.

Set over the course of one school year, this is the story of two star-crossed sixteen-year-olds — smart enough to know that first love almost never lasts, but brave and desperate enough to try.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂


And elsewhere on the blog…

No cook caramel rolo fudge recipe

Last week I made Jane’s caramel Rolo fudge.


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

60 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 20th July 2016

  1. I feel like John le Carre is one of those authors whom I feel I “should” read but I probably never will beacuse he’s too much hard work. Good luck with the Night Manager.

    Really glad to hear Savage Song was up to par. I’m looking forward to getting to it myself.

    Here’s my WWW post

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think you’ve hit the nail on the head about le Carré! The Night Manager is hard going and, to be honest, it’s only being able to visualise the characters as Hugh Laurie and Tom Hiddleston that’s keeping me going! 🙂
      I’ll visit your post now…

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I loved the tv adaptation of The Night Manager but I can’t say it struck me as something I’d read. 😦 I’m currently reading This Savage Song though! I’m about 35% of the way through and definitely enjoying it. I’m not a huge fan of Schwab but this is beautifully written and executed.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I wouldn’t encourage anyone who’s seen the TV series to bother with the book. They’re so different, and the book is far more complex and slow moving… the contrast was a bit of a disappointment 😦
      I’m really glad you’re enjoying This Savage Song, particularly if you’re not a great Schwab fan.

      Liked by 1 person

    • I think, if you’ve already seen the show, I wouldn’t bother with the book. They are quite different and the changes they made to update the story for the TV version really improved the story. Sorry, Mr le Carré! 🙂
      I’ve read Fangirl, Carry On and Kindred Spirits by Rowell and enjoyed them all, so I’m going into E&P optimistic.
      I’ll check out your post now…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I was intrigued by The Night Manager’s TV adaptation, mainly because Olivia Colman stars in it, I’ll admit it, but I did not know there was a book. I might not pick it up if they did a better job on telly!
    It took my hubby 6 months to read Eleanor and Park, so I couldn’t get to it, but he finished last week and it’s now on my TBR. I am tired of seeing it mentioned as a reference and having no idea what the story is like.
    I see This savage Song everywhere. I really need to get a copy!
    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • They did a better job on the TV! (and it’s rare I’d say that!). Olivia Coleman was the highlight for me and in the book her character is a man 😦
      This Savage Song is excellent. I hope you can get your hands on a copy.
      Happy reading!

      Like

  4. I started reading The Night Manager before the series was aired but I gave it up. I liked the TV show a lot because, like you mentioned, it is an updated version of the story.

    I have This Savage Song on my tbr. Can’t wait to read it 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • They did such a great job adapting The Night Manager and updating it at the same time. The story structure is much better because it has symmetry and the female characters are given much more to do. Plus: Olivia Coleman! I love her and missed her in the book.
      I hope you love This Savage Song as much as I did. Schwab strikes again!

      Like

    • It’s taken me a long time to get to Eleanor and Park too. I’ve been saving it up because I’m so sure I’m going to enjoy it 🙂
      If you haven’t seen the BBC adaptation of The Night Manager, I would recommend it over the book (and you don’t often hear me saying that!).
      I’ll visit your WWW now…

      Like

  5. I remember my friend telling me to watch The Night Manager because it’s good. And since you’re reading it, maybe I’ll wait for your review before deciding whether to read it or not. And I loved Eleanor & Park!! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’d say: watch The Night Manager, don’t bother reading it! And that’s not something I say lightly. Usually the book is always better but in this case they did such a great job updating it.
      I’m really looking forward to Eleanor and Park 🙂
      Happy reading!

      Like

    • Since scheduling this post, I got a bit ahead of myself and have already started Eleanor and Park – sorry! I’ve only done one buddy read before and it was fun 🙂
      The good news is, E&P is lovely so far. Exactly what I’d expect from Rainbow. She’s so good at writing about people discovering how much they like each other – it’s adorable.
      I’ll visit your post now…

      Like

  6. This Savage Song was so great! I cant wait for Our Dark Duet.
    I loved Eleanor and Park, its probably my favorite Rainbow Rowell book (even over Fangirl) its very cute yet it gave me massive feels, I was crying on my lunch break at work.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I feel like I should read more Rainbow Rowell because I’ve enjoyed her stuff that I’ve read, but I always seem to forget thanks to distractions of my ever-growing TBR. Maybe if I just add Park and Eleanor to it, I’ll remember.
    I’m so glad you enjoyed This Savage Song. I love Schwab’s work and I feel like I want to read more of her stuff while waiting for the final Shades of Magic novel.
    Thanks for visiting my WWW post and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. So glad to hear that This Savage Song lived up to your expectations. I’ll hopefully be reading that pretty soon.
    I’ve never read any Rainbow Rowell books (*gasp*). I should really change that…
    Thanks for stopping by my WWW Wednesday earlier! 🙂

    Like

  9. I can’t wait to read This Savage Song now! I still have to read Vicious as well, but I might just give this one a go first. 😉 Eleanor & Park is without doubt a cute read! I hope you will enjoy your books this week.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. If The Night Manager is as complicated as it sounds, I don’t think I could get through it. Look forward to hearing what you have to say at the end. I’ve also been saving up some of my favorite genre reads for the return to school next month. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s very complicated. And the narrator doesn’t really pause to explain anything… I think I’d only recommend it to people who really love this type of spy thrillers. But the BBC TV version is great! That screenwriter needs to win awards 🙂
      Happy reading!

      Like

  11. I had no chance to post my WWW this week, so next week’s is looking tedious ;P Sorry that the Night Manager is proving hard going. I’ve been holding back on watching the TV series because I want to read the book first. I know there have been enough changes, so I’m sure reading it first is probably best.
    Happy Reading 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

