Recipe | Jane’s caramel rolo fudge

Ooo, look! I made fudge!

No bake caramel rolo fudge recipe

As you may have guessed from the title, I got this recipe from the lovely Jane at Jane’s Patisserie. If you haven’t visited her blog yet, you really should. Everything she makes is to die for!

This is a very quick, no-bake recipe and the results are impressive. Just don’t tell anyone how easy it is to make πŸ˜‰

If you’re struggling with this recipe, please pop over to Jane’s original blog post where there’s a short video showing her putting everything together.

No cook caramel rolo fudge recipe

Ingredients

  • 400 g/Β  14 oz white chocolate
  • One 397 g tin of caramel (I used Carnation’s, like Jane does. But it’s the only one on sale in my local supermarket and I’m sure any caramel would do just as well. And you can always make your own caramel from condensed milk)
  • 125 g / 4.5 oz sifted icing sugar (yes, you really need to bother sifting it for this recipe. Trust me)
  • 350 g / 12 oz Rolos (this is 7 packets or 70 Rolos).

A quick note on Rolos: these little parcels of milk chocolate with a caramel centre are made by NestlΓ© so I’m guessing they’re widely available all over the world (although apparently in the US they’re made by Hershey). Just in case this is the first time you’re hearing of Rolos, here’s a picture of the packaging so you can recognise them when you’re tracking them down.

Packets of Rolos

A quick health warning: obviously fudge isn’t a healthy food. However, as it’s just so darn easy to eat, I feel I should flag that the ingredients of this recipe contain a whopping total of 4570 calories. If you cut your fudge block into 64 little pieces (as I did) they’ll each contain about 70 calories. OK, you’re all smart enough to take care of yourselves, so here endeth the sermon! πŸ™‚

Method

1. Line a deep tin with baking paper. My tin measures 7.5 x 8.5 inches and is 1.5 inches deep. However, Jane uses a 9 x 9 inch tin and says an 8 x 8 inch would also work. All this gives you a good idea of what sort of size tin you need.

Preparing your tin for caramel rolo fudge

2. Break the white chocolate into small pieces and melt it. You can do this is a heatproof bowl over a pan of hot water. Or, like me, you can do it in the microwave. I give the chocolate pieces 30 seconds in the microwave, then give the bowl a shake. Another 30 seconds, another shake. Another 30 seconds, take the bowl out and give the chocolate a good stir. It will be pretty much melted by now but you need to encourage it. Another 20 seconds in the microwave and it’ll be completely melted. Keep stirring until all the lumps are gone, you want it smooth.

Melted white chocolate and caramel for caramel rolo fudge recipe

3. Add the caramel into the white chocolate and beat until combined. This will take some elbow grease.

Melted white chocolate and caramel for caramel rolo fudge recipe mixed

4. Add the icing sugar. Remember to start stirring gently to avoid an icing sugar cloud. Keeping stirring until it’s all combined. I found a spatula was the best thing to stir with because it made it easier to check if there was any icing sugar hiding at the bottom of the bowl.

5. Add three quarters of your Rolos into the mixture (this is roughly 5.5 packets’ worth) and stir through. Pour your mixture into your tin and flatten into the corners. Level off (see picture below left). Pop the remaining Rolos into the fudge anywhere you can see a Rolo gap (picture below right).

How to make quick and easy caramel rolo fudge recipe 3

6. Pop your fudge into the fridge to set for 3-4 hours or leave overnight.

7. When it’s set, turn it out of your tin onto a chopping board and cut into as many pieces as you like.

Caramel rolo fudge recipe sliced

My random presentation variation

I did something slightly different between steps 4 and 5. Before I added any Rolos, I put a teaspoonful of the fudge mixture into 12 mini sweet cases. You may remember these Wilton foil cases from the chocolate orange cups I made back at the end of last year. If you haven’t seen these mini cases before, here’s a picture of them next to a cupcake case and a muffin case, to give you an idea of their size.

Wilton mini cupcakes cases, bun cases and muffin cases size comparison picture

I used 2 cases inside each other to make a double thickness mould. Once each case had a teaspoonful of fudge in it, I pushed a Rolo into the centre of each case and put these in the fridge to set. Then I proceeded to stage 5 with the rest of the mixture. This way, as well as blocks of fudge, I also ended up with individual shaped fudges like this:

No cook caramel rolo fudge recipe individual pieces

Do these remind anyone else of Toffifee? (I’m not sure if that’s a thing worldwide, but I think my European readers will probably know what I’m talking about!).

No cook caramel rolo fudge recipe individual pieces 2

Β Easy to make, delicious caramel fudge. Thank you to Jane for the recipe πŸ™‚

Caramel rolo fudge recipe

 


Not enough chocolate for you? Try these other recipes featuring chocolate:

Mint chocolate muffins

 

Mint chocolate muffins (featuring Mint Aero).

 

 

 

 

After Eight mint chocolate brownies 5

 

 

After Eight mint chocolate brownies.

 

 


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

39 thoughts on “Recipe | Jane’s caramel rolo fudge

  1. Goodness Claire, you’re trying to fatten us up?! πŸ˜€ Love this one! And like I read in the comments, brilliant idea to give it to someone else as a gift :). (especially if you want those people to get fatter than you >:D [shame on me for saying that :O])

    Liked by 1 person

    • I just felt that I really had to say something. I wasn’t too worried about it until I realised it was 400 g of chocolate and 7 packets of Rolos! I don’t think anyone eats fudge thinking it’s making them healthier, but just in case πŸ™‚
      Hasn’t stopped me scoffing it either!

      Like

  2. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 20th July 2016 | Art and Soul

    • That’s about right πŸ˜‰
      Along with the ones I put in individual cups, I think I had 76 pieces in the end, which made them about 60 calories each. I think my record was 6 pieces in a sitting… which, if it’s your dessert, isn’t really that bad! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Recipe | Chocolate and mint layered fudge | Art and Soul

Leave a Reply

