WWW Wednesday 13th July 2016

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

As always, clicking on the cover image will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

1. What I’m reading at the moment

The Secrets of Wishtide by Kate Saunders

The Secrets of Wishtide by Kate Saunders book coverI’m working my way through my NetGalley requests. After some heavier reads, I’m retreating to the comfort of a genteel Victorian mystery.

The blurb: Mrs. Laetitia Rodd, aged fifty-two, is the widow of an archdeacon. Living in Hampstead with her confidante and landlady, Mrs. Benson, who once let rooms to John Keats, Laetitia makes her living as a highly discreet private investigator.

Her brother, Frederick Tyson, is a criminal barrister living in the neighboring village of Highgate with his wife and ten children. Frederick finds the cases, and Laetitia solves them using her arch intelligence, her iron discretion, and her immaculate cover as an unsuspecting widow. When Frederick brings to her attention a case involving the son of the well-respected, highly connected Sir James Calderstone, Laetitia sets off for Lincolnshire to take up a position as the family’s new governess—quickly making herself indispensable.

But the seemingly simple case—looking into young Charles Calderstone’s “inappropriate” love interest—soon takes a rather unpleasant turn. And as the family’s secrets begin to unfold, Laetitia discovers the Calderstones have more to hide than most.


2. The last books I read

When She Was Bad by Tammy Cohen

When She was bad by tammy cohenIf you like your thrillers pitch black with a side order of twisted crazy, this is for you! Here’s my full review.

The blurb: You see the people you work with every day. But what can’t you see?

Amira, Sarah, Paula, Ewan and Charlie have worked together for years – they know how each one likes their coffee, whose love life is a mess, whose children keep them up at night. But their comfortable routine life is suddenly shattered when an aggressive new boss walks in…

Now, there’s something chilling in the air. Who secretly hates everyone? Who is tortured by their past? Who is capable of murder?

AND

The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle, #1) by Patrick Rothfuss

The Name of the Wind by Patrick RothfussThank you again if you’ve written a positive review of this at some point in the last year. It’s your collective influence which pushed me to read this book and I enjoyed it very much. All fantasy fiction fans should read this. If you enjoyed any of the Game of Thrones books, you’ll like this. Here’s my full review.

The blurb: Told in Kvothe’s own voice, this is the tale of the magically gifted young man who grows to be the most notorious wizard his world has ever seen. The intimate narrative of his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, his years spent as a near-feral orphan in a crime-ridden city, his daringly brazen yet successful bid to enter a legendary school of magic, and his life as a fugitive after the murder of a king form a gripping coming-of-age story unrivaled in recent literature. A high-action story written with a poet’s hand, The Name of the Wind is a masterpiece that will transport readers into the body and mind of a wizard.


3. What I’ll read next

This Savage Song by V. E. Schwab

This Savage Song by V E Schwab book coverVictoria Schwab has a new book out! I’m pretty convinced I’ll love it, simply because she hasn’t let me down so far.

The blurb: There’s no such thing as safe in a city at war, a city overrun with monsters. In this dark urban fantasy from author Victoria Schwab, a young woman and a young man must choose whether to become heroes or villains—and friends or enemies—with the future of their home at stake. The first of two books.

Kate Harker and August Flynn are the heirs to a divided city—a city where the violence has begun to breed actual monsters. All Kate wants is to be as ruthless as her father, who lets the monsters roam free and makes the humans pay for his protection. All August wants is to be human, as good-hearted as his own father, to play a bigger role in protecting the innocent—but he’s one of the monsters. One who can steal a soul with a simple strain of music. When the chance arises to keep an eye on Kate, who’s just been kicked out of her sixth boarding school and returned home, August jumps at it. But Kate discovers August’s secret, and after a failed assassination attempt the pair must flee for their lives.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂


And elsewhere on the blog…

Jam and butter thumbprint cookies perfect to bake with children

Last week I made a child-friendly recipe (easy for them to make and they certainly like to eat them!): jam and butter thumbprint biscuits.


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

51 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 13th July 2016

    • I do admit to being a slightly compulsive completist. I think my recent experience with the Game of Thrones series has scarred me! haha! Will we ever get another book there? Who knows?

      Oooo! You have to read something, anything, by V.E. Schwab. This will be my 4th book (I have 2 others on order!) and I can’t wait 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m a compulsive completist sometimes. For example I’m on a Sanderson and Estep roll everything I’m reading is their books and series so I can finish them off or at least bring them up to date.

        GoT isn’t going to be any time soon.

        I’ve got Vicious and Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows I just haven’t got round to them yet I will do. Eventually

        Liked by 1 person

    • If you like dark and crazy, I’d say When She Was Bad is a must! (when you’ve got through your NetGalley requests!). My problem with NetGalley is that I tend to go on request binges, thinking “It’s ok, there’s no way I’ll get approved for most of them”… and then I do! D’oh! I’ve only got 2 books on my shelf at the moment though so I’m nearly ready for another binge 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I love the sound of a genteel Victorian mystery. I told myself to stay away from NetGalley, but I might have to renege on that vow now…
    I’m so glad that you enjoyed The Name of the Wind! It’s such a gorgeously written novel and I can’t help but be inspired by it! Now to see who will publish their sequel next: Rothfuss or Martin ;P
    Seeing This Savage Song reminds me that I still need to read her other books! I hope you enjoy this new book and that it doesn’t disappoint.
    Happy Reading ❤
    https://aliasfaithrivens.wordpress.com/2016/07/13/www-wednesday-the-fifteenth/

    Liked by 1 person

    • If I had to bet, I’d but money on Rothfuss getting there first! I’m starting to wonder if Martin has given up 😦
      I’ll be very surprised if Schwab lets me down. I’m not sure she could write a bad book if she tried! (I’m very envious!).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I keep meaning to read more of Schwab’s work, considering how much I enjoyed A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows. But I know that she also has a decent amount of YA books out and I promised I’d stay away from that segment of fiction until September, so I guess I’ll have to remind myself to go check out more of her work then. Good luck with your break from dark thrillers.
    Thanks for visiting my WWW post, and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The biscuits vanished far more quickly than I thought they would! They’re simple, but proved to be strangely moreish 🙂
      I can’t imagine any fan of dark thrillers not enjoying When She Was Bad.
      I’m just catching up with WWW posts now and will head over to yours asap…

      Like

  3. I’m so happy you enjoyed The Name of the Wind ❤ And you're welcome, it was an easy review to write 😛

    I ordered This Savage Song yesterday but I'm not sure yet if it'll be my next read. I was one of those strange exceptions who had mixed feelings about A Darker Shade of Magic and its sequel but I did enjoy them, I'm just not in a mad rush 🙂

    Thanks for visiting my WWW: https://sarinalangerwriter.com/2016/07/13/www-wednesday-13th-july-2016/

    Happy reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was very good. I can’t believe there’s anyone who could give The Name of the Wind a terrible review! What is the matter with some people?! Do they hate fantasy and randomly pick it up thinking it was contemporary or something?
      Fingers crossed for This Savage Song. I’ll report back soon 🙂
      Happy reading!

      Like

    • I am SO glad to finally be reading This Savage Song. I’ve had my copy a few weeks but had thing I really had to read first.
      I’ve heard a few people say the sequel to The Name of the Wind wasn’t quite as good as the first book, another reason I’m not rushing into it. And possibly another reason Rothfuss is having trouble writing book 3 – the pressure must be immense!

      Like

    • I didn’t find it scary, just really disturbing. And there were a few things which happened in the “past” section of the book which made me feel rather ill.
      I’m a bit late getting round WWW posts, just catching up now and I’ll visit yours asap 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. I really need to read The Name of the Wind. I’ve heard so many good things about it. I hope you like This Savage Song! I really want to read it, but I think it might be this month’s OwlCrate book so I’m waiting to see so I don’t buy it and end up with a duplicate haha
    Thanks for stopping by my WWW Wednesday earlier! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s very good. I’m glad I listened to all the other readers raving about it 🙂
      I can’t wait to get to This Savage Song! I’ve looked into book subscription services and would love Owlcrate but with the shipping to the UK it’s still a bit expensive for me 😦 Maybe one day…
      Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m glad you liked The Name of the Wind. I’ve seen all of those good reviews as well and I’ve been tempted from time to time. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I keep looking at This Savage Song on Amazon and thinking about it. I have the horrible worry it won’t be as good as ADSOM and might put me off her writing. I still haven’t read Vicious for similar reasons. Look forward to seeing your review and then I’ll decide 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Pingback: Books: WWW Wednesday, 13th July – Not Capulet

Leave a Reply

