Review | The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle #1) by Patrick Rothfuss

I finally understand what everyone’s raving about. 4/5 stars.

The Name of the Wind by Patrick Rothfuss

As ever, click on the cover image to go to the book’s Goodreads page for more information.

The blurb:Β Told in Kvothe’s own voice, this is the tale of the magically gifted young man who grows to be the most notorious wizard his world has ever seen. The intimate narrative of his childhood in a troupe of traveling players, his years spent as a near-feral orphan in a crime-ridden city, his daringly brazen yet successful bid to enter a legendary school of magic, and his life as a fugitive after the murder of a king form a gripping coming-of-age story unrivaled in recent literature. A high-action story written with a poet’s hand, The Name of the Wind is a masterpiece that will transport readers into the body and mind of a wizard.

My take:

Let’s take another look at that blurb, shall we? Apparently The Name of the Wind is “a high-action story written with a poet’s hand” which will “transport readers into the body and mind of a wizard”. Now, when I read this sort of thing I’m instantly wary… surely that’s marketing hype? But, in this case, I’m delighted to report that it’s not! In fact, it’s pretty much spot on πŸ™‚

Thank you to all the book bloggers who have read and given this such good reviews. I’m very glad I listened to you. This book tells us part 1 of Kvothe’s life story, covering his early life and the start of his wizard training. If you’re a fan of fantasy fiction, this story has everything you could want: a grown-up version of Hogwarts, drug-addled dragons, deadly rivalry, personal tragedy, music, mysterious magical bad guys, and love (although if that last one makes you roll your eyes, don’t fear, this isn’t a “kissing book” in any way).

This is a long book which does require your patience at the start. It takes a good 100 or so pages to really get going, but the time the author dedicates upfront to constructing Kvothe’s world pays huge dividends later, meaning he can get on with the story without any long explanatory detours.

And, apart from the slow start, the pacing of the rest of the book is practically perfect. Every time I thought, “Uf! I could do with a break soon,” I’d turn the page and find the end of the chapter and the start of one of the “in story” interludes where the characters listening to Kvothe’s tale take a short break to stretch their legs! It made me wonder if Rothfuss read his drafts aloud to an audience to get a good idea of where he should put these pauses.

My only dilemma now is when I should read book 2. The Name of the Wind was first published way back in 2007. Book 2, The Wise Man’s Fear (almost 1000 pages long!), was published in 2011. Some internet digging reveals that there is still no firm release date for the third and final installment of this series. I don’t want to read Book 2 too long before Book 3 or I’ll need a refresher course in what happened previously and who all the characters are. This is the situation I’ve been stuck in with the Game of Thrones series.

Overall: if you’re a fan of epic fantasy, this should be high on your to-read list. I look forward to reading book 2, although I’m going to put it off until a release date for book 3 is finally announced.


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

 

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

24 thoughts on “Review | The Name of the Wind (The Kingkiller Chronicle #1) by Patrick Rothfuss

  1. SCREAMS!!!! THROWS BOOK TWO AT YOU. AND THEN AURI’S NOVELLA!!!!! THESE ARE MY FAVORITE BOOKS EVER AND YOU NEED TO READ THEM OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER AND OVER.

    gasp.

    ok. sorry. yay. I just really love these books ok?

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was very good indeed. I give him all the points for writing something very long but which never got boring, mostly because he knows exactly where to put the breaks πŸ™‚
      I’d love to read the 2nd book and my library actually has it (which makes a change), but I’m worried I’d then spend all of book 3 trying to remember what happened. I wish there was a publication date.
      I didn’t know there was a novella too, though. That’s great news πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I’m so glad to hear you enjoyed this one! It’s definitely one of my all time favorites, although like you I’m waiting until the third book is announced before I read the sequel. Book two is too big to have to read twice. πŸ˜‰ Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Hear, hear! Spot on review :). I read book 2 this year and you’re totally right…part 3 is nowhere in sight, so by the time it gets out, you’ll probably have to refresh your memory again. But yes, Rothfuss is such a great storyteller, glad you enjoyed it πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!
      I can understand why he is taking his time on book 3. Firstly, it’ll probably be 1500 pages long. Secondly, now there’s huge pressure for it to be beyond brilliant. Poor guy. That’s enough to give anyone writer’s block. It’s exciting that there are TV adaptation rumours though. This would work brilliantly as a TV series.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha, yes, at LEAST 1500! πŸ™‚ And the part about the huge pressure is very true. Whenever he updates his status on Goodreads, there are always people who are bashing on him for not having finished the 3rd book yet. I’d have a nervous breakdown for sure! A TV series would be brilliant, indeed πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I felt stuck in the same boat but then I just decided to read the second book. Though I’m still on the 3rd GoT book haha. i really loved the 2 Kingkiller books that are currently out and I even tried reading the novella about Auri but I cant seem to get through that one hehe. I’ve yet to even write a review, I don’t think I’d do justice to these books.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 13th July 2016 | Art and Soul

  6. Fantastic review! I’m so glad that you loved it as well πŸ™‚ I’m holding off on reading the sequel too, partly for the same reason. (and because I don’t have the time to properly devote to it at the moment). Dance with Dragons has slowly slipped from my mind and who knows when Martin will publish next πŸ˜›
    On another note, do you also watch GoT?

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

