WWW Wednesday 15th June 2016

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

As always, clicking on the cover image will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

1. What I’m reading at the moment

A Force to Be Reckoned With: A History of the Women’s Institute by Jane Robinson

A Force to be Reckoned With A History of the Women's Institute by Jane RobinsonThose darn display stands at the library strike again!  saw this on my way out the door and thought, “Oh, that looks interesting!” Besides, I try to read at least 2 non-fiction books a year… So far, it’s interesting. We’ll see how it goes.

The blurb: Everyone knows three things about the Women’s Institute: that they spent the war making jam; some of their members were those sensational Calendar Girls; and that slow-handclapping of Tony Blair.

But there’s so much more to this remarkable movement. With a growing membership of 200,000 women of all classes, religions and ages, it has come a long way from its early meetings. Founded in 1915, it counted among its members suffragettes, academics and social crusaders who discovered the heady power of sisterhood, changing women’s lives and their world in the process.


2. The last books I read

Hitman Anders and the Meaning of It All by Jonas Jonasson

Hitman Anders and the Meaning of it All by Jonas Jonasson book coverThis was slightly amusing in places, but not as good as I’d hoped based on my previous experience of Jonasson’s work. Here’s my full review.

The blurb: Hitman Anders is fresh out of prison and trying to keep his head down when he meets a female Protestant vicar (who happens to be an atheist), and a receptionist at a 1-star hotel (who happens to be currently homeless). Together they cook up an idea for a very unusual business that’s going to make them all a fortune – but then all of a sudden, and to everyone’s surprise, Anders finds Jesus…

Anders’ sudden interest in religion might be good for his soul but it’s not good for business, and the vicar and the receptionist have to find a new plan, quick.

As wildly funny and unexpected as The Hundred-Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out of the Window and Disappeared and The Girl Who Saved the King of Sweden, this is a madcap, feel-good adventure about belief, the media – and the fact that it’s never too late to start again.

AND

Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye

Jane Steele by Lyndsay Faye book coverLoved it, loved it, loved it. Will be posting my review tomorrow!

The blurb: Like the heroine of the novel she adores, Jane Steele suffers cruelly at the hands of her aunt and schoolmaster. And like Jane Eyre, they call her wicked – but in her case, she fears the accusation is true. When she flees, she leaves behind the corpses of her tormentors.

A fugitive navigating London’s underbelly, Jane rights wrongs on behalf of the have-nots whilst avoiding the noose. Until an advertisement catches her eye. Her aunt has died and the new master at Highgate House, Mr Thornfield, seeks a governess. Anxious to know if she is Highgate’s true heir, Jane takes the position and is soon caught up in the household’s strange spell. When she falls in love with the mysterious Charles Thornfield, she faces a terrible dilemma: can she possess him – body, soul and secrets – and what if he discovers her murderous past?


3. What I’ll read next

The Song of Achilles by Madeline Millar

The Song of Achilles by Madeline MillerI couldn’t believe my library had an available copy of this. I’ve only heard good things. I can’t wait!

The blurb: Greece in the age of heroes. Patroclus, an awkward young prince, has been exiled to the court of King Peleus and his perfect son Achilles. Despite their difference, Achilles befriends the shamed prince, and as they grow into young men skilled in the arts of war and medicine, their bond blossoms into something deeper – despite the displeasure of Achilles’ mother Thetis, a cruel sea goddess.

But when word comes that Helen of Sparta has been kidnapped, Achilles must go to war in distant Troy and fulfill his destiny. Torn between love and fear for his friend, Patroclus goes with him, little knowing that the years that follow will test everything they hold dear.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂


And elsewhere on the blog…

recipe for sooty cake guinness cake with chocolate buttercream icing and white chocolate shavings cut view

Last week I made sooty cake (aka Guinness and chocolate cake). Don’t worry: I don’t drink Guinness, but I think this cake is delicious.


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

Save

71 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 15th June 2016

  1. I’ve been getting into non fiction books this year and I’m really glad I started picking them up! Erik Larson writes an interesting narrative non fiction if you’re ever looking for something! And I can’t wait to hear your thoughts on The Song of Achilles! It’s a book I’ve been looking into!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Your cake strikes again! Now I need to take a break to get something from the bakery around the corner.
    I am really looking forward to your review for Jane Steele, I am glad you liked it. Your current read sounds like a very interesting book. I always avoid my library’s displays because I only get to them once I’ve already borrowed the books I wanted and I usually don’t have room for more!
    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I try so hard to walk into the library without even glancing at the display stands but I can’t resist! I did manage to come out of there with only 2 new books yesterday which, for me, is very restrained 🙂
      I hope you find something nice from the bakery. If I had one round the corner I’d never have to bake anything myself!
      Happy reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I can’t wait to read your review of Jane Steele! Opinions seem to be mixed for that one, but I really want to read it. 🙂
    The book you’re reading now sounds interesting too. I don’t read nearly enough nonfiction and when I do it’s usually related to psychology, but as I have quite an interest in feminism, I may have to look into this one.

    Here’s my WWW Wednesday: https://kourtnireads.wordpress.com/2016/06/15/www-wednesday-615/

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Glad to see that you liked Jane Steele! I’ll have to remember to check out after I read Jane Eyre, whenever that will be. I’ve heard great things about the Song of Achilles I can’t wait to see what you think of it!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’d say you can read Jane Steele without having read Jane Eyre, but if you’ve read the Bronte there are lots of little in-jokes which make Jane Steele more fun. Plus, Jane Eyre is a great book!
      I can’t wait to read The Song of Achilles… soon!

      Liked by 1 person

    • So I have I! In fact, I’ve only heard incredibly positive things about The Song of Achilles so I’m going in with high hopes 🙂
      I did exceptionally well at the library on that visit! I couldn’t believe I didn’t have to order it or Jane Steele.
      Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m glad to hear you loved Jane Steele, since I was really looking forward to this title myself. 😉 And I’m still going to read Hitman, but now I know not to expect too much… Such a shame it didn’t live up to The Hundred-Year-Old Man. Your current read sounds interesting as well by the way.

    Liked by 1 person

      • Haha true! I like reading non fiction for a similar reason as well… Although memoirs are not always about ‘learning’ something, but they can definitely be entertaining.
        I can’t wait to get a copy of Jane Steele now!

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Oooh – Troy! I can’t remember if it was Song of Achilles I read or the one by Colleen McCullough but I love the Trojan War. Jane Steele looks interesting, as the Women’s Institute one. Some good choices (as always!)

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Two non-fiction a year is a good goal. I usually read 2-3 memoirs and maybe on or two non-fiction-non-memoir books. Usually at the push of a book club, haha. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • When I used to go to book club in Spain it also pushed me to read more non-fiction 🙂 I just get lazy about it because I don’t find it as easy to get in to or as absorbing as fiction. I guess I’m looking for escapism!
      Thank you and happy reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  8. Yay. So glad you loved Jane Steele. It’s definitely one of my favourite books this year (or possibly ever). I know a few people loved the first half but thought it went wrong after she left the school but personally I preferred the second half. I’ve been trying to track down some of the authors other books.

    I really should read some non fiction but it seems unlikely to ever happen 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • So far, it’s the best thing I’ve read this year. I loved all of it and I say that as a great fan of Jane Eyre (I think some Bronte fans weren’t too keen on Jane Steele but I think it’s brilliant).
      I should read more non-fiction but I just find it so hard-going compared to reading fiction. I’m looking for that escapism.

      Liked by 1 person

      • Jane Eyre is probably my favourite classic (I’ve read it countless times) and I’m a bit Bronte fan too so I must be odd 🙂

        In terms of non fiction I’ve just had that same conversation (or maybe argument) somewhere else. Someone was arguing that all fiction is based on real life and therefore non fiction is just as interesting. My argument was that I’m trying to escape real life and want magic and dragons 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

  9. Yay, so glad that Jane Steele lived up to the reviews! I will check out yours soon. I should probably try to read more non-fiction as well. I do have a few on my TBR, maybe I should line one up soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jane Steele review will go up later today, but I can summarise it by saying it’s fantastic fun! 🙂
      Non-fiction always turns out being really interesting and worthwhile, but I’m so lazy about reading it. I just prefer the escapism of fiction.

      Like

  10. You’re reaction to Jane Steele has me extremely excited! I need to get my hands on a copy! And I’ve been meaning to read The Song of Achilles for some time. I hope you enjoy it as well!
    So many good books going around on your blog! I look forward to reading your review!
    Thanks again for stopping by my blog earlier! Sorry for being late catching up!
    Happy Reading ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

