WWW Wednesday 25th May 2016

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

As always, clicking on the cover image will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

1. What I’m reading at the moment

S.C.A.R.S. by Julia Ibbotson

SCARS by Julia Ibbotson book coverJulia Ibbotson asked if I’d like to read and review her middle grade children’s book, S.C.A.R.S. So far I’m really enjoying this tale of daring knights, monsters and quests.

The blurb: Gavin is an ordinary boy with problems like everyone else, when he finds himself in an extraordinary situation and facing the fight of his life. People are calling him Gawain and sending him on a medieval quest. How has he found himself on a horse when he has never ridden one before? How come he has a sword in his hand and terrifying creatures bearing down upon him? He seems to have slipped through into another universe. But can he win the battle of Good against Evil, and can he save the land of Unor ̶ and more importantly, can he save himself?


2. The last books I read

The Rose and the Dagger (The Wrath and the Dawn #2) by Renee Ahdieh

The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh book coverThe conclusion to this duology (thank you, Renee Ahdieh, for writing a two-book series) was excellent and improved on the already impressive first installment. Here’s my review. I look forward to seeing what Renee Ahdieh comes up with next.

The blurb: In a land on the brink of war, Shahrzad has been torn from the love of her husband Khalid, the Caliph of Khorasan. She once believed him a monster, but his secrets revealed a man tormented by guilt and a powerful curse—one that might keep them apart forever. Reunited with her family, who have taken refuge with enemies of Khalid, and Tariq, her childhood sweetheart, she should be happy. But Tariq now commands forces set on destroying Khalid’s empire. Shahrzad is almost a prisoner caught between loyalties to people she loves. But she refuses to be a pawn and devises a plan.

While her father, Jahandar, continues to play with magical forces he doesn’t yet understand, Shahrzad tries to uncover powers that may lie dormant within her. With the help of a tattered old carpet and a tempestuous but sage young man, Shahrzad will attempt to break the curse and reunite with her one true love.

AND…

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

Wolf by Wolf Ryan Graudin book coverAlthough it builds slowly, this grows into a gripping adventure story as we follow our heroine on her mission to kill Hitler. I look forward to reading the next part of the story when it comes out later this year. Here’s my full review.

The blurb: Germania, 1956. Over ten years since the Nazis won the war. 18-year-old Yael is part of the resistance, and she has just one mission: to kill Hitler.

But first she’s got to get close enough to him to do it.

Experimented on during her time at Auschwitz, Yael has the unique ability to change her appearance at will. The only part of her which always remains are the five tattooed wolves on her arm; one for each of the people she’s lost. Using her abilities, she must transform into Adele Wolfe, Germany’s most famous female rider and winner of the legendary Axis Tour; an epic long distance motorcycle race from Berlin to Tokyo, where only the strongest (and wiliest) riders survive. If she can win this, she will be able to get close enough to kill the Fuhrer and change history forever.

But with other riders sabotaging her chances at every turn, Yael’s mission won’t be easy…


3. What I’ll read next

A Court of Mist and Fury (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2) by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Mist and Fury by Sarah J MaasI read the first book in this series, A Court of Thorns and Roses (a loose re-telling of Beauty and the Beast) last year and enjoyed it very much. All the reviews for A Court of Mist and Fury I’ve seen so far have been glowing so I’m looking forward to it!

The blurb: Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

and

The Somnabulist and the Psychic Thief by Lisa Tuttle

The Somnabulist and the Psychic ThiefI got this from Netgalley because the blurb is intriguing and I’ve read enough YA/NA recently that I wanted to switch to an old-fashioned mystery in the style of Conan Doyle. It’s not published until mid-June, so I’ll probably hold my review back until the publishing date. It’s not on Goodreads yet, so clicking on the image will take you to Amazon.

The blurb: For several years Miss Lane was companion, amanuensis, collaborator and friend to the lady known to the Psychical Societies only as Miss X – until she discovered that Miss X was actually a fraud.

Now she works with Mr Jasper Jesperson as a consulting detective, but the cases are not as plentiful as they might be and money is getting tight – until a case that reaches across the entirety of London lands in their laps.

It concerns a somnambulist, the disappearance of several mediums, and a cat stuck up a tree . . . the links with the cat are negligible, but there is only one team that can investigate the seemingly supernatural disappearances of the psychics and defy the nefarious purpose behind them: Jesperson and Lane, at your service.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂


And elsewhere on the blog…

Giant doughnut cake with pink icing and sugar sprinkles

Last week I made a giant ring doughnut cake with pink glazing and multi-coloured sugar sprinkles.

 


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

 

 

 

 

57 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 25th May 2016

  1. While I didn’t enjoy a Court of Thorns and Roses as much as the Glass Throne series, I’ll still have to read it! And getting a copy of Wolf by Wolf asap because I’ve wanted to read it for a while.
    Love the donut cake! I think I’ll make that for my daughter’s bday!
    I took a little break from WWW but will be posting my list for today

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hope you enjoy them. I’ve enjoyed all the series so far 🙂 I’ve had a couple of weeks of feeding my YA/NA fantasy addiction and I’ll try to read something different next!
      The cake turned out really well. I think a chocolate version with white icing would also be a success. If you make it I hope it goes well 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. The person behind the blurb for The Somnambulist and the Psychic Thief did an amazing job. I hope the story will be as good as it sounds!
    A Court of Mist and Fury is getting great reviews. I still need time to start Crown of Midnight, but I was thinking about trying this series too.
    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Psychic Thief sounds really interesting.I’m also intrigued by Wolf by Wolf.I haven’t read many books on the Nazi/Hitler themes so I am intrigued by that.I love the supernatural angle.Enjoy your next reads.Happy reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I absolutely loved Throne of Glass but for some reason have been scared to read A Court of Thorns and Roses despite buying it ages ago. I think I maybe just fear it won’t be as good.

    I do really like the sound of SCARS although for me anything with knights and monsters sounds good.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. That giant ring donut cake looks amazing!!! I can’t wait to try that recipe out for myself. I’m glad that you ended up loving Wolf By Wolf, I do find it a bit underrated in the book community since it is slow pace. I hope you enjoy reading ACOMAF. Happy reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I will get to ACoMaF as soon as my hold comes in (probably in like two or three months considering how far down the hold list I am…). So many of these books sound really interesting. That’s the problem with WWW Wednesday – I always end up with more books on my TBR list.
    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve been meaning to read a Court of Thorn and Roses. I hope you enjoy the sequel 🙂 I also love the sound of The Somnabulist and the Psychic Thief . I always find such great reads here 🙂
    Thanks Claire ❤
    Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. It’s great to hear that The Rose And The Dagger is better than the first book; it gives me something to look forward to now. And I hope you will be able to start ACOMAF soon! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

