WWW Wednesday 18th May 2016

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

As always, clicking on the cover image will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

1. What I’m reading at the moment

The Rose and the Dagger (The Wrath and the Dawn #2) by Renee Ahdieh

The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh book coverThank you again to Faith at aliasfaithrivens for my copy of The Rose and the Dagger which I won in her very generous giveaway. The book arrived on Monday and I’ve been doing my best to read it as quickly as I can πŸ™‚

The blurb: In a land on the brink of war, Shahrzad has been torn from the love of her husband Khalid, the Caliph of Khorasan. She once believed him a monster, but his secrets revealed a man tormented by guilt and a powerful curseβ€”one that might keep them apart forever. Reunited with her family, who have taken refuge with enemies of Khalid, and Tariq, her childhood sweetheart, she should be happy. But Tariq now commands forces set on destroying Khalid’s empire. Shahrzad is almost a prisoner caught between loyalties to people she loves. But she refuses to be a pawn and devises a plan.

While her father, Jahandar, continues to play with magical forces he doesn’t yet understand, Shahrzad tries to uncover powers that may lie dormant within her. With the help of a tattered old carpet and a tempestuous but sage young man, Shahrzad will attempt to break the curse and reunite with her one true love.


2. The last books I read

Sleeping Giants (Themis Files #1) by Sylvain Neuvel

Sleeping Giants by Sylvain Neuvel UK book coverThis is very good. If you like epistolary novels then give it a try. Particularly if you enjoy sci-fi. Here’s my full review.

The blurb:Β 17 years ago, a young girl named Rose fell through the ground in the Black Hills and found herself in an underground chamber filled with gleaming symbols, lying in the palm of a giant metal hand. Now a physicist, Rose leads a research team struggling to determine the hand’s origins. When another giant limb is discovered, she quickly devises a method for unearthing the hidden pieces, convinced there is an entire body out there waiting to be found.

Halfway around the globe, Kara watches helplessly as her helicopter shuts down over a pistachio field in Turkey. That’ll leave a mark, but she’s about to crash her way into what might be the greatest endeavor in human history.

This is a hunt for truth, power, and giant body parts. Written as a series of interview transcripts, journal entries and mission logs, The Themis Files tells the tale of a handful of people whose lives are inexorably linked by the discovery of an alien device and the commotion that follows.

AND…

The Rabbit Back Literature Society by Pasi Ilmari JÀÀskelÀinen

The Rabbit Back Literature Society book coverIf you like reading things which baffle you then look no further! Plain weird. A bit Twin Peaks in places… Here’s my full review.

The blurb: Only nine people have ever been chosen by renowned children’s author Laura White to join β€œThe Rabbit Back Literature Society,” an elite group of writers in the small town of Rabbit Back. Now a tenth member has been selected: Ella, a young literature teacher. Soon Ella discovers that the Society is not what it seems. What is its mysterious ritual known as β€œThe Game”? What explains the strange disappearance that occurs at Laura White’s winter party? Why are the words inside books starting to rearrange themselves? Was there once another tenth member, before her? Slowly, as Ella explores the Society and its history, disturbing secrets that had been buried start to come to light…


3. What I’ll read next

S.C.A.R.S. by Julia Ibbotson

SCARS by Julia Ibbotson book coverJulia Ibbotson asked if I’d like to read and review her middle grade children’s book, S.C.A.R.S. I heard the words, “knights”, “time slip” and “monsters” and I was in! πŸ™‚

The blurb: Gavin is an ordinary boy with problems like everyone else, when he finds himself in an extraordinary situation and facing the fight of his life. People are calling him Gawain and sending him on a medieval quest. How has he found himself on a horse when he has never ridden one before? How come he has a sword in his hand and terrifying creatures bearing down upon him? He seems to have slipped through into another universe. But can he win the battle of Good against Evil, and can he save the land of Unor ΜΆ and more importantly, can he save himself?

and hopefully…

Wolf by Wolf by Ryan Graudin

Wolf by Wolf Ryan Graudin book coverI’ve wanted to read this for months! I was so delighted to get a copy from Netgalley πŸ™‚

The blurb: Germania, 1956. Over ten years since the Nazis won the war. 18-year-old Yael is part of the resistance, and she has just one mission: to kill Hitler.

But first she’s got to get close enough to him to do it.

Experimented on during her time at Auschwitz, Yael has the unique ability to change her appearance at will. The only part of her which always remains are the five tattooed wolves on her arm; one for each of the people she’s lost. Using her abilities, she must transform into Adele Wolfe, Germany’s most famous female rider and winner of the legendary Axis Tour; an epic long distance motorcycle race from Berlin to Tokyo, where only the strongest (and wiliest) riders survive. If she can win this, she will be able to get close enough to kill the Fuhrer and change history forever.

But with other riders sabotaging her chances at every turn, Yael’s mission won’t be easy…


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! πŸ™‚


And elsewhere on the blog…

Two tone biscuits cookies heart shaped and flower shaped 3

Last week I made a two tone heart and flower shaped biscuits.

 


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

 

 

 

55 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 18th May 2016

    • So far, I’m struggling to remember all the detail from The Wrath and the Dawn. I wish I’d had time to re-read that right before starting The Rose and Dagger. I’m just hoping everything I really need to know comes back to me or Ahdieh drops some huge reminders for those of us with short memories!
      I’ll visit your post now…

      Like

  1. Just had to google epistolary πŸ™‚ but it sounds like Sleeping Giants would be an interesting read. I don’t think you’ve sold me on The Rabbit Back Literature Society but I would be tempted by Scars for the cover alone. Hope you enjoy

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Ahhhh, Wolf By Wolf! A few other blogging pals have read it recently and loved it – and if you enjoy it, too, then I might go for it sooner rather than later. πŸ™‚

    What do you think of The Rose and the Dagger so far?

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m only about 70 pages into The Rose and the Dagger. So far I’m realising just how much of what happened in The Wrath and the Dawn I’ve completely forgotten!! I’m hoping that the author continues to put in lots of reminders πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • I really hope I enjoy it because I’ve only seen positive reviews πŸ™‚
      I haven’t got very far into The Rose and the Dagger yet… so far I’m just learning how much of what happened in The Wrath and the Dawn I’d forgotten πŸ˜‰ I wish I’d had time to re-read TWATD before starting this one.
      I’m just catching up with WWW posts and I’ll visit yours now…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’m also reading The Rose and the Dagger! I just started this morning and I’m having a little bit of trouble remembering some details from the final chapters of The Wrath and the Dawn. I also wish I had had the time to do a re-read of that before diving in to TRATD.
    I have heard nothing but good things about Wolf by Wolf! I have it on my Kindle but haven’t gotten around to it yet. My Kindle tends to be neglected lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m glad it’s not just me who can’t remember some of the details from TWATD. I’m hoping the author does a bit of a recap for me! πŸ™‚
      I have high hopes for Wolf by Wolf because it sounds great and I’ve seen such positive reviews.

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The Rabbit Back Literature Society sounds really intriguing; I will be reading your review shortly. And I’m really curious about The Rose In The Dagger! I have an e-copy myself even though I wasn’t completely convinced by the first book… I hope you are enjoying it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m glad it finally came in Claire and I really hope that you enjoy it πŸ˜€
    I hope you enjoy Wolf by Wolf too! I keep hearing amazing things about it and I can’t wait to get my hands on a copy of it. S.C.A.R.S. sounds intriguing too!
    Happy Reading ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s all Lindsay’s fault πŸ˜‰ If she hadn’t been lured towards the lovely cover I’d probably never have heard of it! I’m glad I read it, even if it was baffling because there were some moments which made it worthwhile. Also, I forgot to mention that the translator did an excellent job – you would never know it hadn’t been written originally in English.
      Happy reading! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Those biscuits look so cute!
    I like the sound of Wolf By Wolf, but I’m not sure the book is for me. I’ll wait for your review to help me make my mind. S.C.A.R.S looks interesting!
    Happy reading! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’ve heard nothing but great things about Wolf by Wolf. I’m not sure it’s something I would enjoy but again it’s gotten great reviews.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

