WWW Wednesday 4th May 2016

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

As always, clicking on the cover image will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

1. What I’m reading at the moment

Flawed by Cecilia Ahern

Flawed by Cecilia Ahern book coverAfter spending years seeing her adult books and thinking, “Oh yes, she’s supposed to be very good, I must read one of those”, it’s a bit weird that when I finally get around to reading something by Ahern, I start with her first YA book.

The blurb: Celestine North lives a perfect life. She’s a model daughter and sister, she’s well-liked by her classmates and teachers, and she’s dating the impossibly charming Art Crevan.

But then Celestine encounters a situation in which she makes an instinctive decision. She breaks a rule and now faces life-changing repercussions. She could be imprisoned. She could be branded. She could be found FLAWED.

In this stunning novel, bestselling author Cecelia Ahern depicts a society in which perfection is paramount and mistakes are punished. And where one young woman decides to take a stand that could cost her everything.


2. The last books I read

The Cake Shop in the Garden by Carole Matthews

The Cake Shop in the Garden by Carole Matthews book coverThe perfect thing to read if you’re looking for a break from dark/disturbing stories. This is quite fluffy, as you’d expect from the blurb and cover. However, it also contains an absolutely fantastic shock about two thirds through. If you’re a fan of women’s fiction/contemporary romance, this is a must. Here’s my full review.

The blurb: Fay Merryweather runs her cake shop from her beautiful garden. She whips up airy sponges and scrumptious scones, while her customers enjoy the lovely blossoms and gorgeous blooms. Looking after the cake shop, the garden and her cantankerous mother means Fay is always busy but she accepts her responsibilities because if she doesn’t do all this, who will? Then Danny Wilde walks into her life and makes Fay question every decision she’s ever made. When a sudden tragedy strikes, Fay’s entire world is thrown off balance even further and she doesn’t know which way to turn. Can Fay find the strength to make a life-changing decision – even if it means giving up the thing she loves the most? Life, love and family are about to collide in The Cake Shop in the Garden.

AND

The Raven King (The Raven Boys #4) by Maggie Stiefvater

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater book cover*sigh* Such a shame. I loved the characters, the setting, the magic, and the writing is beautiful… However, I just didn’t get enough closure and significant happenings were sadly rushed. That said, from the number of 5-star reviews this book is getting on Goodreads, it could just be me! Other opinions are available! 🙂 Here’s my full review – NO SPOILERS!

The blurb: All her life, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love’s death. She doesn’t believe in true love and never thought this would be a problem, but as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.


3. What I’ll read next

I’m not entirely sure what I’ll go for next. Two contenders are:

The Second Chance Shoe Shop by Marcie Steele

The Second Chance Shoe Shop by Marcie Steele

After suffering through YA dystopian shenanigans, I think switching back to something lighter and more cheerful would be a good idea, and this has received some excellent reviews.

 

 

However, there’s another recent release I want to read:

The Rose and the Dagger (Wrath and the Dawn #2) by Renee Ahdieh

The Rose and the Dagger by Renee Ahdieh book coverI enjoyed the first installment in this series (which is very loosely based on the 1001 Nights story) and I’m looking forward to continuing the adventure. And hopefully the second book will contain more magic, as was hinted at the end of book 1.

 

 


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂


And elsewhere on the blog…

Raspberry ripple cupcakes with raspberry buttercream 1

Last week I made raspberry ripple cupcakes with raspberry buttercream. Delicious, light and summery!

 


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

 

 

60 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 4th May 2016

  1. Those raspberry ripple cupcakes look delicious. There should be a system sending us a sample every time we leave a comment, haha!
    I will wait until I have plenty of yummy food around to read The Cake Shop in the Garden or I’ll be frustrated.
    Flawed has been on my TBR since I read a couple of good reviews on it, I haven’t read anything from Cecelia Ahern yet.
    It must be frustrating to reach the end of a series with a disappointing book. It hasn’t happened to me yet only because I was not into series, but now that it has changed, I will probably get to this problem at some point.
    I bought The Second Chance Shoe Shop yesterday. There are so many great reviews on it that it must be good.
    Happy reading! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s what I though about The Second Chance Shoe Shop too 🙂 I think I may have to read it next because Flawed is quite dark in places and I think I’ll need cheering up!

      I’d love to be able to send people cake. It would stop me feeling bad about eating it all 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve got Flawed on my tbr list as well ^^ I read a lot of her books when I was younger but stopped eventually, for reasons I can’t remember. I think I didn’t get as much into one of her books as I did with the others, and it put me off. I do want to read this one, though, I remember her writing style being quite relaxed and magical! But I’m not sure if that will apply to Flawed in the same way 🙂

    I’ve been meaning to read Maggie Stiefvater, too. I’ve heard so many good things!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think Maggie fans tend to agree that The Raven Cycle is her best work. The writing is great and the characters, particularly when working as a team, are wonderful.
      So far, Flawed is very good indeed. An excellent dystopia with some solid messages. That said, I think I’ll definitely need to read something fluffy afterwards to cheer myself up 🙂

      Like

  3. I hope you enjoy Flawed – I’ve seen it around but haven’t picked it up because I couldn’t decide if it sounded good or a bit run-of-the-mill as far as dystopias go. I will watch for your review.

    I really should get around to Wrath of the Dawn, since the sequel is out now. And I gather it’s just a duology, so I wouldn’t have to wait further.

    Here’s my post for this week: https://keysandopenmind.wordpress.com/2016/05/04/www-wednesday-may-4-2016/

    Liked by 1 person

    • So far, Flawed is very good. There’s nothing tremendously original about it, but it’s well done.
      I didn’t realise The Wrath and the Dawn was a duology. I think I just assume all YA series are trilogies minimum these days!
      I’ll check out your post now…

      Like

  4. Can’t wait to hear what you think of Flawed. It seems to be one that divides opinion but I quite enjoyed it so I hope you do too. I tend to find Cecelia Ahern books are a little slow to get going but once they do I’m hooked and it was pretty much the same with Flawed.

    I’ve yet to read The Wrath and the Dawn but it’s on my want to read really, really soon list 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I still need to read The Raven Cycle series and I need to read The Wrath and the Dawn! I have The Wrath and the Dawn but j just haven’t gotten around to reading it yet. I’m on the wait list for The Raven Boys at my library and it’s taking forever for the person who has it now to return it!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I haven’t read any of these books, but the Second Chance Shoe Shop does sound like a nice little light read. I hope you enjoy whatever you pick 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thanks!
      I think I will be going to The Second Chance Shoe Shop next because Flawed, while very good, is quite dark (as you’d expect from a dystopian story!). I could do with something light and happy 🙂

      Thanks for visiting my WWW and happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Oh my goodness, those cupcakes look delicious! I hope you enjoy Flawed! I got that in the April OwlCrate box. I’ve only read one other book by the author (PS I Love You) which I really enjoyed so it will be interesting to see how she does dystopian YA. I also have The Rose and the Dagger on my upcoming list!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Oohh The Second Chance Shoeshop looks pretty good. I’m finding lighter reads myself, and picked Me Before You, though I’m guessing it won’t be too long before the waterworks come in. I’ve been reading too much angsty novels lately hahaha

    Liked by 1 person

  9. I love Cecelia Ahern’s previous books, I’ve read and enjoyed them all. I’ve not read Flawed yet but I hope to very soon, I’m really interested to see how her writing differs in this genre. I hope you enjoy it.
    Those raspberry ripple cupcakes look delicious – I’m now craving cake!
    Hope you have a good week and enjoy whichever book you choose to read next. 🙂

    Here’s my WWW Wednesday / TWiB
    https://rathertoofondofbooks.com/2016/05/04/www-wednesday-4-may/

    Liked by 1 person

  10. It’s a good idea to switch to something lighter. It’s why I’ve been reading the tiny Abby Hayes books in between my heavier reads 😛
    Hopefully you’ll be getting a copy of Rose & the Dagger soon 😉
    Thanks again for stopping by mine & Happy Reading ❤

    Liked by 1 person

  11. I’m sorry ‘The Raven King’ let you down! I often find I’m let down by the last book in series I’ve loved. I doubt it’s just you. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It reminded me a bit of how disappointed I was with the last books in The Hunger Games and Maze Runner trilogies. It’s a shame not everyone can be up to JK’s standards: HP and the Deathly Hallows did it perfectly with epic battles and proper resolution to all the big questions! It’s the gold standard 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  12. I’m looking forward to see what you make of Flawed! I still haven’t read any of her books either even though I have a few on my TBR. And such a shame you didn’t like The Raven King. I still have to get a copy, but then again I still have to read book two and three anyway. 😉 Hopefully you will enjoy The Rose And The Dagger! I wasn’t convinced by the first book, but like you I’m hoping there will be more magic in the sequel. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Flawed is very good. I finished it yesterday and I’m struggling write a review. Sometimes when it comes to review writing I don’t feel very inspired, but I can’t really just write: “this was really good. Read it if you like this sort of thing!” It’s tempting though – haha! 🙂
      Happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Haha I know the feeling! I have been trying to read a review about A Gathering Of Shadows for days and I just can’t get anything constructive on paper… 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  13. As always the cakes looks really delicious. I looked at them and had to convince myself that you have to be a professional to do that.I wish I could make that 🙂 Flawed sounds quite interesting. I have read only one book by Ahern, PS: I love you. Flowed looks really interesting though. Second Chance has some really good reviews. I hope you will like it. Happy reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  14. I’ve seen a lot of bloggers actually go back and change their rating for TRK. A lot of people gave it 5 stars as soon as they finished, and then rated it lower because of the reasons you stated. It sucks that it didn’t live up to your expectations, but I think this book was greatly overhyped -_-

    Liked by 1 person

    • Really? Wow! I didn’t know people had been doing that. It makes me feel a bit less like I’m just being grumpy! 🙂
      I just wonder if the reason she left so many things hanging was because she has plans to write some spin offs… we’ll see!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

