(Spoiler-free) Review | The Raven King (The Raven Cycle #4) by Maggie Stiefvater

Good, but a missed opportunity. 3.5/5 stars

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater book cover

The blurb: For years, Gansey has been on a quest to find a lost king. One by one, he’s drawn others into this quest: Ronan, who steals from dreams; Adam, whose life is no longer his own; Noah, whose life is no longer a lie; and Blue, who loves Gansey…and is certain she is destined to kill him.

Now the endgame has begun. Dreams and nightmares are converging. Love and loss are inseparable. And the quest refuses to be pinned to a path.

My (spoiler-free) take:

I’m sorry the following is so vague: I’m avoiding anything approaching a spoiler!

The Raven King is the fourth and final installment in The Raven Cycle. I enjoyed book 1 – The Raven Boys and book 3 – Blue Lily, Lily Blue – very much. I wasn’t as keen on book 2 – The Dream Thieves –  mostly because it I think the characters are at their best when working together and they spend most of the book apart/not getting on.

My hopes were high for The Raven King. I was hoping for something epic. After sticking with the characters through three previous books I was expecting a grand finale, a mind-blowing conclusion which was both stunning and satisfying.

So I’m a bit disappointed that I can summarize my reaction to this book as “meh” and “eh?”

Don’t get me wrong, it was fine and enjoyable enough, but it could have been so much better. Firstly, I’m convinced this series would have been better as 3 or even 2 books. There’s a lot of treading water. And while Stiefvater treads water in splendid and often beautiful prose, after a while even the high quality of the writing wasn’t enough to stop me longing for her to shift the story along.

Also, while several significant events meant some important plot threads were wound up nicely, I felt too many things were left hanging. Too many questions unanswered. And several times, even though I read the previous three books recently and remember what happened, I was completely bamboozled as to what the heck was going on.

Coming back to those significant events… I thought they were rushed. Almost skimmed over. Things we’ve been waiting for and the author has been building up to for 4 books and then they’re all done in a couple of paragraphs?! I felt short-changed.

Overall: The Raven King is ok and that’s not good enough when the characters and set-up (developed with great skill and care in the previous 3 books) were so promising. I fear those hoping for fireworks, surprises and resolution will be underwhelmed 😦


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

 

24 thoughts on “(Spoiler-free) Review | The Raven King (The Raven Cycle #4) by Maggie Stiefvater

  1. Sorry you didn’t enjoy it, Claire. I hate when final books in a series prove to be a letdown especially when its predecessors are topnotch. It can be devastating because we become so attached to the characters and the plot and we expect a certain ending for them.
    Do you have any way of getting over a disappointing series end?

    Liked by 1 person

    • The worst thing is, it’s not as though it’s bad. It’s fine, but for the series closer I was expecting something amazing 😦
      I’m trying to move onwards and upwards to the next book. I had the same experience with The Maze Runner trilogy. The second book is the best while the third book just feels like the characters running round in circles making up stuff to do and then the end is rushed into about 2 pages!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Reviewing without spoiling anything is so hard, especially when it’s the last book in a series! You did it well 🙂 I will give these books a try when I’m done with all the series I started.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! 🙂
      I know! I was worried my review was just a load of waffle… but it’s so hard to say anything specific (I have many specific points I could have included!) because I know I’d hate it if anyone else spoiled the end of a series for me.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I got spoiled the new Game of Thrones episode last night and I was so angry about it! –‘ so I’m really happy you mastered the non-spoilery review!

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Bummer that this one was disappointing. I was holding off on reading the series until all books were released, as it sounded very promising. But after reading your review I’ll probably skip the series now – or push it all the way to the bottom of the stack. So many books, so little time!! Great review – thank you for your honesty.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Exactly! As you said in your spoilery bits on Goodreads, I was particularly upset by the bit when Blue’s prophecy was fulfilled. That’s been bandied about since the very beginning of book 1 and then we got about 3 sentences?! I wanted violins, the clouds to part and angels to sing… well you get the idea 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 4th May 2016 | Art and Soul

Leave a Reply

