WWW Wednesday 27th April 2016

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

As always, clicking on the cover image will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

1. What I’m reading at the moment

The Cake Shop in the Garden by Carole Matthews

The Cake Shop in the Garden by Carole Matthews book coverThis is as cute and sunny as I expected. And there’s plenty of cake! πŸ™‚

The blurb:Β Fay Merryweather runs her cake shop from her beautiful garden. She whips up airy sponges and scrumptious scones, while her customers enjoy the lovely blossoms and gorgeous blooms. Looking after the cake shop, the garden and her cantankerous mother means Fay is always busy but she accepts her responsibilities because if she doesn’t do all this, who will? Then Danny Wilde walks into her life and makes Fay question every decision she’s ever made. When a sudden tragedy strikes, Fay’s entire world is thrown off balance even further and she doesn’t know which way to turn. Can Fay find the strength to make a life-changing decision – even if it means giving up the thing she loves the most? Life, love and family are about to collide in The Cake Shop in the Garden.


2. The last books I read

Journey to Death by Leigh Russell

Journey to Death by Leigh Russell book coverThis is a decent mystery set in a stunning location. A perfect book to read by the pool or on the beach. Here’s my full review.

The blurb:Β Lucy Hall arrives in the Seychelles determined to leave her worries behind. The tropical paradise looks sun-soaked and picture-perfectβ€”but as Lucy soon discovers, appearances can be very deceptive. A deadly secret lurks in the island’s history, buried deep but not forgotten. And it is about to come to light.

As black clouds begin to gather over what promised to be a relaxing family break, Lucy realises that her father stands in the eye of the coming storm. A shadow from his past is threatening to destroy all that he holds dearβ€”including the lives of his loved ones.

A dark truth is about to explode into their lives, and that truth is going to hit them right between the eyes.

AND

The Accident by C. L. Taylor

The Accident by C L Taylor book coverA gripping psychological thriller. This is a page-turner, as long as you don’t think too hard about the plot… Here’s my full review.

The blurb:Β Sue Jackson has the perfect family but when her teenage daughter Charlotte deliberately steps in front of a bus and ends up in a coma she is forced to face a very dark reality.

Retracing her daughter’s steps she finds a horrifying entry in Charlotte’s diary and is forced to head deep into Charlotte’s private world. In her hunt for evidence, Sue begins to mistrust everyone close to her daughter and she’s forced to look further, into the depths of her own past.

There is a lot that Sue doesn’t know about Charlotte’s life. But then there’s a lot that Charlotte doesn’t know about Sue’s…


3. What I’ll read next

The Raven King (The Raven Boys #4) by Maggie Stiefvater

The Raven King by Maggie Stiefvater book coverThe final installment of the series! I’m excited but, at the same time, slightly worried my favourite characters will be killed off :/

The blurb: All her life, Blue has been warned that she will cause her true love’s death. She doesn’t believe in true love and never thought this would be a problem, but as her life becomes caught up in the strange and sinister world of the Raven Boys, she’s not so sure anymore.

 


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! πŸ™‚


And elsewhere on the blog…

Hazelnut muffins with crunchy topping and with chocolate hazelnut sauce filling 2

Last week I made hazelnut muffins with a crunchy sugar top and hazelnut chocolate cream centre.

First Blogiversary and giveaway featured image

And I’m celebrating my first blogiversary by running a giveaway to win some beautiful books. If you missed it, you can enter here.

 

 


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

 

61 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 27th April 2016

    • Thank you!
      I can understand the “books getting in the way” problem. I have lots of new releases coming up too which will be getting in the way of other books I’d been planning to get to soon. *sigh* Bookworm problems! πŸ™‚
      I’ll visit your post now…

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Great post as usual and nice books. I am intrigued by The Accident. Just read your review on Journey to Death and I think I will pick that because of the setting. Happy reading.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Cake Shop sounds like a book that would make me hungry while I’m eating it…er, reading it πŸ˜‰
    I hope that the Raven King isn’t too devastating. I remember when I read the last Harry Potter and my heart was ripped out again & again & again. I asked myself then why authors kill off characters. Then I started writing and I found myself doing the same thing. And suddenly understood.
    Here’s my WWW: https://aliasfaithrivens.wordpress.com/2016/04/27/www-wednesday-the-fourth/
    Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I honestly can’t think about the bit in Deathly Hallows where Harry goes bravely to meet his death without tears coming to my eyes. I’m so glad she found a way around that one at least!
      The Cake Shop in the Garden is living up to its promise of lots of lovely-sounding cake. And there’s a recipe at the back I might just have to try too.
      I’ll check out your post now…

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The Cake Shop book is definitely going on my tbr pile! That looks so cute. And it has cake. So…

    I know what you mean about The Raven King! I cannot WAIT to start reading it, but also, WHO IS MAGGIE GOING TO KILL, because it’s Maggie, and you know she will kill someone.

    Here’s my post. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • ARGH!! Don’t say she will kill someone!!! I’m betting Gansey has to die (Blue’s already seen his ghost after all), but then I’m hoping they can ask the King to bring him back. Or, if all else fails, could Ronan dream a new Gansey?!
      The Cake Shop is turning out to be the perfect thing to read while the weather here is disgusting. It’s freezing and windy and hailing outside, but inside the book it’s warm and sunny.
      I’m just catching up on WWW posts and will visit yours asap πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • Like you, I’m hoping that in some way, even if someone dies, they come back somehow. But it’s Maggie. She lives to mess with our minds. But I live to hope!
        I love those types of books, that just bring you to a different place, especially when it’s gloomy and gross outside!

        Liked by 1 person

  4. The Cake Shop in the Garden sounds like a fun, summery read. I could do with some lighter books to read so I might look out for this one – I’ve not read any Carole Matthews books for a while now but I do enjoy her writing usually. Your hazelnut muffins look delicious, I’m always so envious of your baking skills. πŸ™‚

    Here’s my WWW Wednesday/TWiB:
    https://rathertoofondofbooks.wordpress.com/2016/04/27/www-wednesday-27-april

    Liked by 1 person

    • The hazelnut muffins turned out really well and my sister made a batch using my recipe today and reports that they’re lovely. So at least it’s been thoroughly road-tested now too πŸ™‚
      The Cake Shop in the Garden is proving to be just the thing to read in the middle of this nasty cold, rainy, hailing weather we’re having at the moment. It’s so sunny and warm. And there’s cake!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. The Cake Shop In The Garden sounds like the perfect light read! And I definitely need to get a copy of The Raven King soon so I can read all three sequels together. Those muffins look delicious by the way! πŸ˜€

    Happy reading! Here’s my WWW.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The muffins were lovely. My sister made them today and reports that they turned out very well for her, so clearly it’s a reliable recipe too πŸ™‚
      It’s been nice reading The Cake Shop in the Garden while the weather here is so horrible. It’s been freezing and hailing but inside the book it’s sunny and warm πŸ™‚
      I’ll visit your post now…

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m trying to lose a few pounds right now so I’m staying away from baking even though it’s hard, but I will definitely bookmark them to try them later on. πŸ˜‰ And I know exactly what you mean with needing distraction from horrible weather; no hail yet so far, but it is getting awfully close to the 0ΒΊC mark and it’s not even winter yet…

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! They’re delicious. And my sister has just reported that she made a batch and the recipe worked just as well for her. So road-tested and reliable πŸ™‚
      The Cake Shop in the Garden is the perfect thing to read at the moment with all this hideous cold and rainy weather. It’s such a light and sunny read πŸ™‚

      Like

    • I’d LOVE a cake shop in my garden. In fact, I’d just like the garden in the book which sounds beautiful and runs down to the canal!
      I’ve been told that Stiefvater likes killing off fairly crucial characters so now I’m really worried she’ll merrily kill my favourite 😦 I’ll keep my fingers crossed she takes mercy on them!

      Like

    • Thank you! πŸ™‚
      It’s a good series. I wasn’t so keen on book 2, but it was still good. And the nice thing is, if you enjoy book 1, you’re pretty much guaranteed to like the whole series. If not, you can quit while you’re ahead!
      Thanks for visiting and happy reading πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • They were delicious! I think I’ll have to make cupcakes with caramel filling at some point too, because I just love caramel and filling the hazelnut ones was much easier than I thought it would be. So there’s no excuse!
      I came to The Raven Boys series really late. I think I started this year. The good things about coming to it late is avoiding waiting a year with the cliffhangers πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m super excited to read The Raven King. I think I’m second on the waiting list at my library, which means I should get it sometime in May.

    I’m glad you’re enjoying the The Cake Shop in the Garden because I remember you were cautious going in (right? Or am I thinking of a different book?).

    Thanks for visiting my WWW post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re absolutely right about my worries about The Cake Shop in the Garden. I’ve had good and bad experiences with the author’s books in the past, so I’m delighted to report that I think this is going to be a good one (unless something goes horribly wrong in the last third…).
      I can’t wait to get to The Raven King. Everything crossed that if Gansey has to die, she can bring him back!
      Happy reading πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. I am glad The Cake Shop In The Garden is good, it would be a shame for a book with such a delicious title to be a let down. I am intrigued by The Raven Boys series, I had not heard about it before. I’m curious but I’ve already started a few series and I find it difficult to keep up with everything. Happy reading! πŸ™‚
    Also, I missed it so: happy blogiversary!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! πŸ™‚
      I’ve been trying not to get into any new series. As you say, I start to find it hard to keep up with them all and then it’s difficult to avoid seeing spoilers. The Raven Boys is a good one though. That said, we’ll wait and see what the last book is like. Hopefully the author won’t spoil everything with the last book!
      I finish The Cake Shop in the Garden last night so I’ll try and get a review up later today. It was very good πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’ll wait for your opinion on the last book before trying the first Raven Boys. My brain feels good about postponing adding a new series to the list! I will be waiting for your review of The Cake Shop! πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  8. I really enjoyed the first few books in the Raven Cycle, and I’m really looking forward to reading the Raven King. I hope you enjoy it πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Friday Finds | 04.29.16 | Darcy's Book Blog

Leave a Reply

