1st blogiversary + 500 followers = giveaway time!

Who thought this day would come?

excited baby with birthday present gif

When I started this blog a year ago, it was mainly to give myself something to do while submitting my first novel to literary agents. There’s been some progress on that front, and while I still haven’t got an agent or publishing deal, I believe my book is better now than it was a year ago. In fact, I have a few more edits to make after receiving encouraging feedback from my reader in the Romantic Novelists’ Association (thank you, whoever you are) and then it’ll be back to submissions.

I told myself that I’d host a giveaway when I’d been blogging a year (this seemed unlikely last April) or had 500 followers (which seemed unthinkable). However, the stars have aligned and I’ve hit both milestones at the same time!

Thank you so much to all of you lovely people for following my ramblings and baking adventures. I put a lot of thought into what the greatest number of you might like to win for yourself or to pass on to someone else, and this is what I came up with… *insert drumroll*

The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth and The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow by Katherine Woodfine and illustrated by Julia Sarda book covers photoThe Mystery of the Jewelled Moth and The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow by Katherine Woodfine and illustrated by Julia Sarda book covers photo

I’m giving away one paperback copy of The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow and one paperback copy of The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth, both by Katherine Woodfine. If you haven’t seen my ramblings about these books before, these are fun mysteries, in the vein of Nancy Drew or Miss Marple, set in Edwardian London.

Obviously the above photo shows my copies and the giveaway is for new even shinier copies which will be shipped directly to the winner from The Book Depository. By using direct shipping I can open the giveaway internationally: you can all enter, so get going!

Click here to enter the draw via Rafflecopter

The giveaway will run until next Monday, 2nd May at midnight (GMT, London local time) and I’ll announce the winner here next week πŸ™‚

If the beauty of these books isn’t enough to convince you, they’re also fantastically fun reads. Here are my reviews of book 1 and book 2.

Thank you all again for following my blog and good luck!


Claire Huston / Art and Soul
94 thoughts on “1st blogiversary + 500 followers = giveaway time!

  1. Yaaay. congratulations!! πŸ˜€ I thought you were in this a lot longer as well because all your posts look so professional! And I was already drooling over these books when you first posted something about them, so I’m definitely signing up! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much. It was all a bit wobbly at the start, but I’ve been lucky to find so many lovely bloggers to follow who know what they’re doing and who’ve helped! πŸ™‚
      Good luck – they are such beautiful books. I hope she keeps writing them for ages so I can have a shelf full of them!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats. I’d always assumed you’d been around for far longer. You have such a great blog. I’m on a book break for the moment so will pass on the fab offer. What a great thing you’re offering though.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy Blogiversary and Huge Congratulations! 500 followers in a year is such a momentous achievement! Of course each is so very well deserved!
    What a coincidence that we both start hosting giveaways the same day! I love the prizes you’re offering. I mentioned it before, but those are such beautiful covers πŸ˜€
    Congrats again and may this next year bring much happiness to you ❀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you very much!
      I know! When I saw your post I thought, “Faith’s going to think I’m copying her good idea!” πŸ™‚
      They are such beautiful books. I’m hoping she gets to write one a year at least until I can fill a shelf with them!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I never thought anything like it! Honestly, I thought it was kind of amazing that we did it on the same day. Our paths got crossed somehow across the internet. What is it they say? Oh, right! Great minds think alike ;D

        Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 27th April 2016 | Art and Soul

    • Thank you and no problem! πŸ™‚
      Thank you very much. I wouldn’t have kept going this long without the encouragement of all you lovely fellow bloggers. I’ve found such wonderful blogs and nice people behind them this year. It’s been brilliant!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Happy blogiversary,Claire, and congrats on hitting the 500-follower milestone! Always enjoy your posts.

    Thanks also for the raffle! These books look awesome – I love mysteries, especially ones that incorporate humor – P.G. Wodehouse is one of my faves!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!
      I tried really hard to think of some book I thought most people would want or at least would want to win to give to someone else. These are such great, fun stories and suitable for all ages!
      I LOVE P.G. Wodehouse but I think I’ve only read his Jeeves and Wooster stories. I should branch out πŸ™‚

      Like

      • Well these sound great!
        Claire, I cringed to myself after I wrote my comment – thinking, “Duh, P.G. Wodehouse isn’t really mystery!” It’s more comical pure chaos with everything going right in the end. πŸ™‚ Guess I was associating it in my head with goofy mysteries like Janet Evanovich’s Stephanie Plum stories – another fave!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

