WWW Wednesday 20th April 2016

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

As always, clicking on the cover image will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

1. What I’m reading at the moment

Journey to Death by Leigh Russell

Journey to Death by Leigh Russell book coverI met Leigh Russell at a recent blogger/author event and was intrigued by the description of her latest book. Thank you to Leigh and Thomas & Mercer for sending me a copy!

The blurb: Lucy Hall arrives in the Seychelles determined to leave her worries behind. The tropical paradise looks sun-soaked and picture-perfect—but as Lucy soon discovers, appearances can be very deceptive. A deadly secret lurks in the island’s history, buried deep but not forgotten. And it is about to come to light.

As black clouds begin to gather over what promised to be a relaxing family break, Lucy realises that her father stands in the eye of the coming storm. A shadow from his past is threatening to destroy all that he holds dear—including the lives of his loved ones.

A dark truth is about to explode into their lives, and that truth is going to hit them right between the eyes.


2. The last books I read

Dear Dad by Giselle Green

Dear Dad by Giselle Green book coverThis is a great read and surprisingly gripping. Here’s my full review.

The blurb: Three people longing to find love. Connected by one big lie.

Handsome, 28-year old, Nate Hardman is a frontline reporter with a big problem. Suffering from shell-shock and unable to leave his house, he’s already lost his social life and his girlfriend. Now his career prospects are sinking fast.

9 year-old Adam Boxley who lives alone with his ageing nan, also has big problems. Neglected at home and bullied at school, he’s desperate to reach out to his dad – and that’s when he sends his first letter to Nate. Only Nate’s not who he thinks he is. Will he help? More importantly – can he?

Across town meanwhile, caring but impulsive teacher Jenna Tierney really wants to help Adam – except the feisty redhead has already had enough of teaching. Recently hurt by yet another cheating boyfriend, Jenna’s now set her sights on pursuing a dream career abroad … only she’s about to meet Nate – her dream man who’ll make her re-think everything.

The big question is; can three people desperate to find love, ever find happiness when they’re only connected by one big lie?

AND

The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth (The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow) by Katherine Woodfine

The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth by Katherine WoodfineJust as good as it’s predecessor – The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow – this book is great fun. Here’s my full review, featuring photos of these beautiful books.

The blurb: The honour of your company is requested at lord beaucastle’s fancy dress ball. Wonder at the puzzling disappearance of the Jewelled Moth! Marvel as our heroines, Sophie and Lil, don cunning disguises, mingle in high society and munch many cucumber sandwiches to solve this curious case! Applaud their bravery as they follow a trail of terrible secrets that leads straight to London’s most dangerous criminal mastermind, and could put their own lives at risk…It will be the most thrilling event of the season! This is a fast-paced and compelling mystery adventure with gorgeous Edwardian period detail, this is Mr Selfridge meets Nancy Drew!


3. What I’ll read next

The Cake Shop in the Garden by Carole Matthews

The Cake Shop in the Garden by Carole Matthews book coverAfter a couple of the mysteries and thrillers it’s time for something sunny! 🙂 This will be my fourth book by Carole Matthews and I’ve had good and not so good experiences… so I’ll have to wait and see how this one goes!

The blurb: Fay Merryweather runs her cake shop from her beautiful garden. She whips up airy sponges and scrumptious scones, while her customers enjoy the lovely blossoms and gorgeous blooms. Looking after the cake shop, the garden and her cantankerous mother means Fay is always busy but she accepts her responsibilities because if she doesn’t do all this, who will? Then Danny Wilde walks into her life and makes Fay question every decision she’s ever made. When a sudden tragedy strikes, Fay’s entire world is thrown off balance even further and she doesn’t know which way to turn. Can Fay find the strength to make a life-changing decision – even if it means giving up the thing she loves the most? Life, love and family are about to collide in The Cake Shop in the Garden.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂


Oat and pecan squares with caramel and chocolate 3

Another tray bake last week: oat and pecan squares with caramel and chocolate.

By way of an update, I’ve since made another batch in which I completely forgot to add the nuts an I’m happy to report that it’s just as delicious.

 

 


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

 

 

 

 

46 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 20th April 2016

  1. I can always rely on your posts for yummy food! 🙂 I’m not surprised to see a book called The Cake Shop in The Garden here. The book sounds yummy too, but I’ll wait for your thoughts on it as you have had good and bad surprised with the author. The Seychelles + secrets, that’s a mix I like the sound of!
    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The oat and pecan squares are lovely. And equally lovely without the pecans (I discovered this by mistake the second time I made them and left the nuts out!).
      I hope I enjoy this one from Carole Matthews. I can’t believe how fast she writes – her new one is out really soon! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I blame you for my sudden descent into looking for thrillers, I’ll have you know (or is that ‘I thank you’? :P). You’re always reading good ones, it seems – or at least a good one alongside or right after a not as good one. But I suppose I shouldn’t complain too much – at least this way I’ll always have a growing TBR list.

    Thanks for visiting my WWW Wednesday, and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have a few other bloggers I blame/thank for making me look into mysteries and thrillers! haha! 🙂 The chain of blame continues… 😉

      I find I need to switch to contemporary/thrillers/rom-com every now and again because I do start to suffer from sci-fi/fantasy “saturation” after a run of these books and eventually it all just bores me. Oh great, magic, blah blah, superpowers, blah blah, dragons, yawn.
      That said, I do have a couple of YA fantasy reads coming up soon and then I really have to start Outlander…
      The TBR pile never stops growing!!

      Thank you too and happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      • That’s true about the saturation. Although for me, I just switch sub-genres – most often away from YA. Although now that I’m getting thrillers from you and historical fiction from Sam, I’ve been switching it up with those.

        Liked by 1 person

    • I’ve discovered that the oaty squares work equally well with other nuts and if you forget to put the nuts in too! (I was distracted by the toddler and now have to come up with a recipe to use the hazelnuts in).
      I’ve been trying to read more mysteries and thrillers lately to break up the fantasy. I have some more YA fantasy soon though – I can’t stay away for long 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve seen Dear Dad around a lot lately; it sounds really good! And I’m hoping to get a copy of Katherine Woodfine’s books soon so I can start reading them. I hope you will enjoy Journey To Death! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

