Review | Dear Dad by Giselle Green

A thoroughly-enjoyable, heart-warming read. 4/5 stars.

Dear Dad by Giselle Green book cover

The blurb: Three people longing to find love. Connected by one big lie.

Handsome, 28-year old, Nate Hardman is a frontline reporter with a big problem. Suffering from shell-shock and unable to leave his house, he’s already lost his social life and his girlfriend. Now his career prospects are sinking fast.

9 year-old Adam Boxley who lives alone with his ageing nan, also has big problems. Neglected at home and bullied at school, he’s desperate to reach out to his dad – and that’s when he sends his first letter to Nate. Only Nate’s not who he thinks he is. Will he help? More importantly – can he?

Across town meanwhile, caring but impulsive teacher Jenna Tierney really wants to help Adam – except the feisty redhead has already had enough of teaching. Recently hurt by yet another cheating boyfriend, Jenna’s now set her sights on pursuing a dream career abroad … only she’s about to meet Nate – her dream man who’ll make her re-think everything.

The big question is; can three people desperate to find love, ever find happiness when they’re only connected by one big lie?

As ever, clicking on the cover image will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

My take:

I met Giselle Green at an author/blogger event in London back in March and was delighted when she asked if I’d like to read her latest book, Dear Dad. Thank you, Giselle! I’m even more delighted to report that I enjoyed it very much 🙂

I flew through this book. The writing is excellent: the narrative is related in clear, unobtrusive prose which prioritises the characters and their story.

I was surprised by just how gripping this book was. The element which most grabbed and held my attention was nine-year old Adam. I warmed to him immediately and desperately wanted to know whether everything would turn out OK for him. I also had the urge to climb inside the book and kick the shins off the big kids who were bullying him. And I always take wanting to climb inside a book as a good sign I’ve become involved in a story!

I also liked the other main characters: Nate and Jenna. I was particularly impressed with their interesting professions and back stories. The combination of a former war reporter suffering from post-traumatic stress and a primary school teacher/tattoo artist is certainly original. We see the story from their alternating first-person viewpoints, and their voices are distinct and well-crafted.

I’ll admit that while I found the romance element of the plot fine and enjoyable, it was mostly Adam’s story which kept me turning the pages. This is probably because I have a young son and it was inevitable that my main focus would be the well-being of the little boy at the centre of this book (I’m still thinking about how much I’d like to kick those bullies).

Recommended for all those who enjoy contemporary romance and women’s fiction.


 

You can find Giselle Green on Twitter; on her website; and on Facebook.

You can find your own copy of Dear Dad on Amazon.

 


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

 

16 thoughts on “Review | Dear Dad by Giselle Green

  1. Loved your review. I thought I was the only one jumping inside books, usually to right the wrongs and hug the characters, haha! Your review is another proof that this is a must-read. I’ll put it at the top of my list for May 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

  2. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 20th April 2016 | Art and Soul

Leave a Reply

