WWW Wednesday 13th April 2016

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

As always, clicking on the cover image will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

1. What I’m reading at the moment

Dear Dad by Giselle Green

Dear Dad by Giselle Green book coverI met Giselle Green at a recent blogger/author event in London and was delighted when she asked if I’d like to read her latest book. So far, it’s really gripping! πŸ™‚

The blurb: Three people longing to find love. Connected by one big lie.

Handsome, 28-year old, Nate Hardman is a frontline reporter with a big problem. Suffering from shell-shock and unable to leave his house, he’s already lost his social life and his girlfriend. Now his career prospects are sinking fast.

9 year-old Adam Boxley who lives alone with his ageing nan, also has big problems. Neglected at home and bullied at school, he’s desperate to reach out to his dad – and that’s when he sends his first letter to Nate. Only Nate’s not who he thinks he is. Will he help? More importantly – can he?

Across town meanwhile, caring but impulsive teacher Jenna Tierney really wants to help Adam – except the feisty redhead has already had enough of teaching. Recently hurt by yet another cheating boyfriend, Jenna’s now set her sights on pursuing a dream career abroad … only she’s about to meet Nate – her dream man who’ll make her re-think everything.

The big question is; can three people desperate to find love, ever find happiness when they’re only connected by one big lie?


2. The last books I read

The Improbability of Love by Hannah Rothschild

the improbability of loveThis had lots of good things about it. A particular highlight were the parts narrated by the French picture! Unfortunately, I think the book tries to do too much and the story suffers as a result. Here’s my full review.

The blurb:Β When lovelorn Annie McDee stumbles across a dirty painting in a junk shop while looking for a present for an unsuitable man, she has no idea what she has discovered. Soon she finds herself drawn unwillingly into the tumultuous London art world, populated by exiled Russian oligarchs, avaricious Sheikas, desperate auctioneers and unscrupulous dealers, all scheming to get their hands on her painting – a lost eighteenth-century masterpiece called β€˜The Improbability of Love’. Delving into the painting’s past, Annie will uncover not just an illustrious list of former owners, but some of the darkest secrets of European history – and in doing so she might just learn to open up to the possibility of falling in love again.

AND

Moriarty (Sherlock Holmes #2) by Anthony Horowitz

Moriarty by Anthony Horowitz book coverWhile I enjoyed the first of Anthony Horowitz’s new Sherlock stories – The House of Silk – earlier this year, Moriarty was something of a let down. Here’s my full review. In short though: 95% of it was great… and then the twist/reveal happened and I was so disappointed 😦

The blurb:Β Sherlock Holmes is dead.

Days after Holmes and his arch-enemy Moriarty fall to their doom at the Reichenbach Falls, Pinkerton agent Frederick Chase arrives in Europe from New York. The death of Moriarty has created a poisonous vacuum which has been swiftly filled by a fiendish new criminal mastermind who has risen to take his place.

Ably assisted by Inspector Athelney Jones of Scotland Yard, a devoted student of Holmes’s methods of investigation and deduction, Frederick Chase must forge a path through the darkest corners of the capital to shine light on this shadowy figure, a man much feared but seldom seen, a man determined to engulf London in a tide of murder and menace.


3. What I’ll read next

The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth (The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow) by Katherine Woodfine

The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth by Katherine WoodfineI read the first of these fun mystery adventures last year – The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow. I admit I was mostly lured towards it by its beautiful cover (if you click on the previous link to go to my review there are photos of the book and its gold embossing…the sequel is equally gorgeous) but the content was just as sparkly. I’m really looking forward to this!

The blurb: The honour of your company is requested at lord beaucastle’s fancy dress ball. Wonder at the puzzling disappearance of the Jewelled Moth! Marvel as our heroines, Sophie and Lil, don cunning disguises, mingle in high society and munch many cucumber sandwiches to solve this curious case! Applaud their bravery as they follow a trail of terrible secrets that leads straight to London’s most dangerous criminal mastermind, and could put their own lives at risk…It will be the most thrilling event of the season! This is a fast-paced and compelling mystery adventure with gorgeous Edwardian period detail, this is Mr Selfridge meets Nancy Drew!


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! πŸ™‚


Brownie cupcakes with buttercream frosting 7

It was back to chocolate last week when I made these chocolate brownie cupcakes.

 

 

 


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

 

 

 

61 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 13th April 2016

  1. I should learn to close my eyes when I reach the end of your posts. I mean, chocolate brownie cupcakes?! Yummy! I just ate lunch and now I want dessert.
    I read awesome things about Dear Dad, and I added it after reading Hayley’s review (rathertoofondofbooks.wordpress.com). I am looking forward to reading it, and your review! πŸ™‚
    I hate it when a book is great all the way and then bam, the end is a huge disappointment and that’s all you remember from it afterwards. I love the blurb for The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth!
    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Haha! The brownie cupcakes were delicious and I’m a big fan of cupcakes because there’s no greasing/washing up of tins involved πŸ™‚
      I hope The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth lives up to the standards of the first book in the series which was terrific.
      Happy reading πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. As always, I find myself distracted by the pics of your pastries. Looks very yummy.I wish it was possible to grab just one πŸ™‚ I have seen another review of Dear Dad. It sounds quite interesting. Lucky you getting to meet the author in person, we never have such events here or perhaps I have just not heard of any yet. Happy reading and enjoy your Wednesday πŸ™‚

    Here is my WWW for this week: https://dwgitau.wordpress.com/2016/04/13/www-wednesday-6/

    Liked by 1 person

  3. It’s a shame you didn’t enjoy Moriarty as much as the first book! It’s so disappointing when the ending ruins the book for you.

    The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow and its sequel sound great though so I’ll be checking those out.

    Thanks for visiting my post earlier πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I hate it when the end lets an otherwise good book down. You feel like all the time you’ve invested was a waste 😦
      I can highly recommend The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow – fun and frothy, a brilliant Nancy-Drew style mystery.
      Happy reading!

      Like

  4. I bet if you were to take some of your cakes to an author/blogger event, you’d come away with A LOT of books. Sort of a trade? πŸ˜‰ I have to make the brownie cupcakes for my kids – they will love them!
    I finished Glass Sword and finally read your review. We’re on the same page for it 😦
    Shame about Moriarty. I’ve never read a Sherlock Holmes, not even the originals. I think I need to read more mysteries!!
    Here’s my WWW list this week. http://hollykerr.ca/3558-2/ Happy Reading!!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Now I hadn’t thought of taking cake along to a blogger event before… But there is one coming up in Birmingham at the end of the month… hmm… πŸ˜‰
      The Red Queen series just frustrates me more than anything. If we were given a different narrator, even for alternating chapters, I think it would lift the whole thing to a 4 or 5 star experience.
      I’ll check out your post now πŸ™‚

      Like

    • Sorry! I have had a few people telling me that they always seem to see my recipes on the days they’re fasting and it’s torture :/ Hopefully they can save them up and make them on treat days!
      I always worry about meeting an author before reading their book because they’re always nice people and I’d hate to have to tell them I didn’t enjoy their book. Luckily it hasn’t happened so far.
      I’ll check out your post now.

      Liked by 1 person

  5. I’m actually so glad I hopped over here. I love Laurie R. King’s Mary Russell series (If you like Sherlock Holmes, you should definitely look into it) so I am extremely interested in the Sherlock Holmes book that you shared. I’m going to look more into it. Thank you so much for sharing.

    My WWW

    Laura πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Dear Dad sounds really good, I hope you keep enjoying it! And it’s always a shame when a plot twist ends up ruining an otherwise perfectly good story… The Mystery Of The Jewelled Moth sounds really good by the way and I love the cover. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think the ending of a book has only ruined the whole story for me a couple of times. Such a shame!
      When I do my review of The Mystery of the Jewelled Moth I’ll post photos because it is SO beautiful. I’m looking forward to have a shelf full of these lovely books πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  7. Dear Dad sounds like an interesting book. Sucks about the disappointment with the end of Moriarty. I hate when the big twist/reveal of books are disappointing. That’s never fun and such a bummer.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dear Dad seems to have an interesting premise, glad to hear that you’re liking it so far! The Improbability of Love seems like it had the potential to be very unique, but I’m sorry to hear that it didn’t exactly satisfy. Happy reading! ❀

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Dear Dad is a bit out of my usual reading zone but sounds rather interesting. I’ll wait for your review before deciding whether or not to add it to my TBR list, I think. I’m sorry the second of Horowitz’s Holmes books disappointed. Hopefully the third one will be better.
    Thanks for visiting my WWW Wednesday, and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I would highly recommend both the Jewelled Moth and the first book in the series, The Mystery of the Clockwork Sparrow. They’re both middle grade mysteries, but they’re so well written, I think all ages can enjoy them. If you ever liked Nancy Drew or any amateur detective stories of that sort, then you’ll like these πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

