Recipe | Brownies cupcakes with buttercream frosting

Chocolate brownie + cupcakes. What’s not to like?!

Brownie cupcakes with buttercream frosting 2

My toddler has recently become obsessed with a supermarket magazine that was lying around at his grandparents’. He loves looking at the food pictures and I’ve now been made to look at them so many times I gave in and made a couple of things! I didn’t follow the recipe exactly… so I’ve included my changes below.

Ingredients (makes 12 cupcake brownies)

  • 3 eggs
  • 250 g / 9 oz caster sugar
  • 200 g / 7 oz butter
  • 200 g / 7 oz dark chocolate
  • 110 g / 4 oz plain flour
  • 0.5 tsp baking powder
  • 0.5 tsp vanilla extract

Method

Put twelve cupcake cakes into a muffin tray. Pre-heat the oven to 180 degrees C / Gas Mark 4 / 350 degrees F.

Beat the eggs, caster sugar and vanilla extract together. Melt the butter and chocolate. You can do this by putting them in a bowl over a pan of simmering water. Alternatively, use the microwave. If you do this though, make sure to go slowly. I start with the chocolate on its own. I give it one 30 second burst, stir, another 30-second burst. Add the butter, and then keep going on 20-second bursts and stirring.

Brownie cupcakes mixture

Pour the slightly cooled chocolate mixture into the egg mixture and stir to combine. Fold the flour and baking powder into the wet ingredients.

Spoon the mixture into your twelve cases:

Brownie cupcakes ready to go in oven

Bake for 20 minutes. It’s ok if they’re a little gooey in the middle when you take them out of the oven. Leave to cool in the tray for 5-10 minutes before transferring the brownie cupcakes to a wire cooling rack.

I made the buttercream using 200 g (7 oz) butter and 400 g (14 oz) icing sugar. Once again, I had quite a bit left over to freeze, so I’d recommend using a little less, unlike you really love buttercream! If you have a mixer, it’d much easier to let it do the work of mixing the butter and sugar together (remember the cover or you’ll have a cloud of icing sugar covering your whole kitchen!). If you buttercream is too thick, add a little milk to loosen it.

I used a small star tip and piping bag to pipe a swirl of buttercream on top of each cupcake.

Brownie cupcakes with buttercream frosting 3

I added some sugar stars and cute little gingerbread men decorations just because!

Brownie cupcakes with buttercream frosting 8

As you can see from the above picture, the brownie cupcakes have the dense, tightly-packed structure you’d expect from brownie. The next time I make them, I’ll bake them for slightly less time so that the middle is gooier. They were still delicious!

Brownie cupcakes with buttercream frosting 7

Brownie cupcakes with buttercream frosting 6


Looking for some other cupcake recipes? Try these!

Mini rosette vanilla cupcakes with two tone decorative buttercream frosting

 

Mini rosette vanilla cupcakes.

 

 

 

 

Butterfly cupcakes group2

 

Cute butterfly cupcakes.

 

 

 


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

 

38 thoughts on “Recipe | Brownies cupcakes with buttercream frosting

    • Brilliant! If you like your brownies a little gooey in the middle, don’t make my mistake of over-baking them. I was so worried about underdoing them and it all just being mush when I cut into them, I went the other way and nearly burnt them! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!
      The great thing about brownie recipes is you can pretty much just chuck all the ingredients together and it’ll come out delicious because you don’t have to worry about getting it to rise like you do with cake.
      And it’s worth it for the gorgeous smell while they’re cooking alone πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • True, but my homemade brownies always turn out kind of hard. I have no middle ground. They are too done or underdone. I don’t know why the box ones don’t do that. My homemade cookies are the same. I’m horrible at it. Maybe I’ll have better luck this time. These look so delicious.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 13th April 2016 | Art and Soul

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Brownie Cupcakes – bookboodle

  3. Pingback: Recipe | Chocolate chip cupcakes with coloured buttercream icing: perfect for children’s parties | Art and Soul

Leave a Reply

