WWW Wednesday 6th April 2016

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

As always, clicking on the cover image will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

1. What I’m reading at the moment

The Improbability of Love by Hannah Rothschild

the improbability of loveThe blurb and the cover drew me to this and so I was really pleased to get by NetGalley request approved. Having part of the story narrated by a painting is certainly interesting πŸ™‚

The blurb:Β When lovelorn Annie McDee stumbles across a dirty painting in a junk shop while looking for a present for an unsuitable man, she has no idea what she has discovered. Soon she finds herself drawn unwillingly into the tumultuous London art world, populated by exiled Russian oligarchs, avaricious Sheikas, desperate auctioneers and unscrupulous dealers, all scheming to get their hands on her painting – a lost eighteenth-century masterpiece called β€˜The Improbability of Love’. Delving into the painting’s past, Annie will uncover not just an illustrious list of former owners, but some of the darkest secrets of European history – and in doing so she might just learn to open up to the possibility of falling in love again.


2. The last books I read

Death on the Nile by Agatha Christie

Death on the Nile by Agatha Christie book coverI really enjoyed my second ever Christie and recommend it to anyone wanting to pick up a murder mystery classic. Here’s my full review.

The blurb:Β The tranquillity of a cruise along the Nile is shattered by the discovery that Linnet Ridgeway has been shot through the head. She was young, stylish and beautiful, a girl who had everything – until she lost her life. Hercule Poirot recalls an earlier outburst by a fellow passenger: ‘I’d like to put my dear little pistol against her head and just press the trigger.’ Yet in this exotic setting’ nothing is ever quite what it seems...

AND

Glass Sword (Red Queen #2) by Victoria Aveyard

glass sword by victoria aveyard book coverHmn. This was ok. There were a lot of good things happening here: good plot, great new characters… but all of them are over-shadowed by an increasingly self-centered first-person narrator. Shame. Here’s my full review.

The blurb: To avoid all spoilers for Book 1, if you’d like to read the blurb, please click on the cover image to go to the book’s Goodreads page.

 


3. What I’ll read next

Moriarty (Sherlock Holmes #2) by Anthony Horowitz

Moriarty by Anthony Horowitz book coverI read the first of Anthony Horowitz’s new Sherlock stories – The House of Silk – at the end of February. I enjoyed it and my copy of Moriarty has been calling to me ever since.

The blurb:Β Sherlock Holmes is dead.

Days after Holmes and his arch-enemy Moriarty fall to their doom at the Reichenbach Falls, Pinkerton agent Frederick Chase arrives in Europe from New York. The death of Moriarty has created a poisonous vacuum which has been swiftly filled by a fiendish new criminal mastermind who has risen to take his place.

Ably assisted by Inspector Athelney Jones of Scotland Yard, a devoted student of Holmes’s methods of investigation and deduction, Frederick Chase must forge a path through the darkest corners of the capital to shine light on this shadowy figure, a man much feared but seldom seen, a man determined to engulf London in a tide of murder and menace.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! πŸ™‚


Lemon sponge layer cake with lemon curd and vanilla buttercream filling 2

Making the most of being at my parents’, I used a jar of my mum’s excellent homemade lemon curd as the filling for a lovely lemon sponge cake.

 

 

 


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

 

 

 

82 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 6th April 2016

    • I love Sherlock stories and I’ve enjoyed the 2 Poirot I’ve read so far. I was so happy that the first Anthony Horowitz take on Sherlock was good because when authors try to do their own versions of a classic it often goes wrong!

      Like

    • Murder on the Orient Express was my first one, and only last year! (I’ve still no idea how it took me so long to read her books!). I saw the BBC Adaptation of And Then There Were None at Christmas, which is the only reason why it’s slightly lower down my TBR. I’ve been recommended The Body in the Library… but it might all come down to which ones my library has available πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • I used to read And Then There Were None repeatedly years back, so when I watched the adaptation just recently, I could only gush and gush about it. The adaptation was superb and it made me fall inlove at the book over again.

        There’s still a lot of AC novels I haven’t tried out, now that I think about it. Maybe I should start on Christie again..

        PS. READ THE ABC Murders. NO PRESSURE, BUT JUST DO IT

        Liked by 1 person

    • I love the cover of The Improbability of Love. I saw on Goodreads that there’s a different, more abstract cover which just isn’t as pretty at all. This one will do a much better job of luring readers to the book! πŸ™‚
      Red Queen and Glass Sword make me feel a bit sad because there’s so much good stuff in there. If only the author had used more than one point of view I think it would have made both books a lot more enjoyable.

      Liked by 1 person

  1. All of these books look great! After reading my first Christie novel, I am definitely adding her to my list of must-read authors. I can’t wait until I can pick up some more of her novels. I am nervous about reading Glass Sword. Like you, I wasn’t a big fan of the first book and was hoping for more with the sequel but it sounds like it’s falling flat.
    Oh my goodness, that sponge cake looks so delicious. My mouth is seriously watering. I love seeing all of your baking creations!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. The Improbability of Love sounds really interesting. I’ll definitely have to check that one out. I want to read more Agatha Christie. I’ve only read one book, need more! I still haven’t gotten around to reading Glass Sword. I really need to. I really loved Red Queen, so I’m curious to see how Glass Sword turns out. I’ve seen mixed reviews on it though. YIKES!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hopefully I’ll have a review of The Improbability of Love up tomorrow (not too much further to go with it).
      I think if you loved Red Queen then you’ll like Glass Sword. The readers who haven’t liked Glass Sword so much seem to all have had issues with Red Queen too, so I think you’ll be ok πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  3. The Improbability Of Love sounds really interesting, I hope you enjoy it! I can totally agree with you on Glass Sword; her character just becomes way too annoying in the sequel. I hope you’ll enjoy your books this week! That lemon cake looks delicious by the way, but then again I love anything lemon. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I saw The Improbability of Love at Waddesdon Manor (a National Trust house) not long after it was released, and it was a signed copy. I think it was there because the Rothschild’s had something to do with the house…I was really tempted to buy it but the thought of my already over-stacked shelves put me off! I didn’t know there was a talking painting in it πŸ˜‰

    Thanks for visiting my WWW – https://bookboodle.wordpress.com/2016/04/06/www-wednesday-april-6th

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Ahh, Horowitz’s new Holmes books continue to sound so good. I really need to get through my current pile of library books so I can go hunting for them. The Improbability of Love also sounds very interesting, so I’ll wait eagerly for your review of it.
    Thanks for visiting my WWW post, and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I had lots of things to say about the books, and then my eyes landed on that lemon sponge cake. I blame you for my sudden need of sugar! πŸ™‚
    I always have trouble with books involving art. Theft is the most recent example, I put it down before reaching page 100. Maybe it has to do with the fact I am not all that sensitive to art.
    Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I’m always wary of the newer Sherlock Holmes books but I know I shouldn’t be. I’m just an Arthur Conan Doyle fan who’s afraid to branch out beyond the original stories.

    You always make the tastiest-looking cakes!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ This lemon cake was particularly delicious!
      I’m looking forward to the second “new” Sherlock book because it’s not narrated by Watson and it takes place during the period when Holmes is supposedly dead.

      Like

    • Yes. If we’d had a break from Mare being selfish and moaning all the time, I think I’d have enjoyed it much more because there was plenty of action, drama and the other characters are good. So if you don’t have a problem with Mare, I’m sure you’ll enjoy it!
      I know what you mean about Moriarty. Just his name on its own sounds sinister and exciting πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

