Review | Death on the Nile by Agatha Christie

Classic Poirot: a great mix of drama and mystery. 4/5 stars.

Death on the Nile by Agatha Christie book cover

The blurb: The tranquillity of a cruise along the Nile is shattered by the discovery that Linnet Ridgeway has been shot through the head. She was young, stylish and beautiful, a girl who had everything – until she lost her life. Hercule Poirot recalls an earlier outburst by a fellow passenger: ‘I’d like to put my dear little pistol against her head and just press the trigger.’ Yet in this exotic setting’ nothing is ever quite what it seems...

My take:

This review will be rather sparse to avoid any and all spoilers.

I read my first Agatha Christie last year: Murder on the Orient Express. I “only” gave that book 3 stars because I felt it lacked build-up: it was too economical with its descriptions of the setting and background to the murder. Death on the Nile, another Hercule Poirot mystery, lacks in none of these departments. The pre-death drama is top-notch and Christie gives us just enough descriptions of Egyptian temples and other tourist hot spots to create a sense of the exotic without turning the book into a travel guide.

In fact, this book contains a great balance of dialogue, narration and description. My only slight gripe – as with Orient Express –Β  was that there were too many characters to keep track of. On the bright side, this does mean there are so many plausible suspects that the guilty party remains hard to guess. I felt the edition I read would have been improved by featuring a diagram of the boat, showing all the cabins the characters were staying in (Agatha Christie: Cluedo game board edition!).

Overall: a classic murder mystery with great pre- and post-death drama. I’m planning for my next Christie read to be a Miss Marple. Any recommendations?


Claire Huston / Art and Soul
25 thoughts on “Review | Death on the Nile by Agatha Christie

  1. My Dad always used to read with a page beside him to add characters that came up to and got me into that habit for mysteries and crime novels. It is years since I’ve read Agatha Christie, but I loved the escapism of them (adored them all on tv too!)

    Liked by 1 person

    • I liked the BBC adaptation of Then There Were None that was on over Christmas. That’s another one for my list! πŸ™‚
      I’m starting to think all books should have a cast list at the front like plays. The Game of Thrones books have them at the back πŸ™‚

      Like

  2. I liked your review! I really enjoyed Death on the Nile too. If you’re looking for another Agatha Christie read, you may like And Then There Were None–it isn’t a Miss Marple or Poirot mystery, but it is still intriguing πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I saw the BBC adaptation of And Then There Were None at Christmas and thought it was excellent. Apparently they changed the end, so I’d still like to read it. Plus, the book is usually better than the film/TV version πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 6th April 2016 | Art and Soul

  4. Pingback: Review | The Body in the Library (Miss Marple #3) by Agatha Christie | Art and Soul

Leave a Reply

