WWW Wednesday 16th March 2016

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

As always, clicking on the cover image will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

1. What I’m reading at the moment

What Milo Saw by Virginia MacGregor

What Milo Saw by Virginia MacGregor book coverI’m really getting into this, I just hope the ending isn’t a disappointment.

The blurb: Nine-year-old Milo Moon has retinitis pigmentosa: his eyes are slowly failing and he will eventually go blind. But for now he sees the world through a pin hole and notices things other people don’t. When Milo’s beloved gran succumbs to dementia and moves into a nursing home, Milo soon realises there’s something wrong at the home. So with just Tripi, the nursing home’s cook, and Hamlet, his pet pig, to help, Milo sets out on a mission to expose the nursing home and the sinister Nurse Thornhill.


2. The last books I read

You and Me, Always by Jill Mansell

You and Me Always by Jill Mansell book coverI’m so glad that, once again, Jill Mansell didn’t let me down. If you’re looking for a contemporary romance, you can’t go wrong with any of her 27 books! Here’s my full review.

The blurb: On the morning of Lily’s twenty-fifth birthday, it’s time to open the very last letter written to her by her beloved mother, who died when she was eight.

Learning more about the first and only real love of her mum’s life is a revelation. On the same day, Lily also meets Eddie Tessler, a man fleeing fame who just might have the ability to change her world in unimaginable ways. But her childhood friend Dan has his own reasons for not wanting Lily to get too carried away by Eddie’s attentions.

Before long, secrets begin to emerge and Lily’s friends and family become involved. In the beautiful Cotswold village of Stanton Langley, nothing will ever be the same again…

AND

Time Travelling with a Hamster by Ross Welford

Time Travelling with a Hamster by Ross Welford book coverThis was cute. Definitely more for it’s core middle grade audience, but there was still plenty for adults to enjoy. Here’s my full review.

The blurb: “My dad died twice. Once when he was thirty nine and again four years later when he was twelve.

The first time had nothing to do with me. The second time definitely did, but I would never even have been there if it hadn’t been for his ‘time machine’…”

When Al Chaudhury discovers his late dad’s time machine, he finds that going back to the 1980s requires daring and imagination. It also requires lies, theft, burglary, and setting his school on fire. All without losing his pet hamster, Alan Shearer…

AND!

Game (Jasper Dent #2) by Barry Lyga

Game Jasper Dent 2 by Barry Lyga book coverThe first book in this series was fantastic. And the library had the second one, so I had to read on. I didn’t enjoy Game as much as I Hunt Killers, but it was still very good. I did a short review over on Goodreads if you want to check it out.

The blurb: I Hunt Killers introduced the world to Jazz, the son of history’s most infamous serial killer, Billy Dent.

In an effort to prove murder didn’t run in the family, Jazz teamed with the police in the small town of Lobo’s Nod to solve a deadly case. And now, when a determined New York City detective comes knocking on Jazz’s door asking for help, he can’t say no. The Hat-Dog Killer has the Big Apple–and its police force–running scared. So Jazz and his girlfriend, Connie, hop on a plane to the big city and get swept up in a killer’s murderous game.


3. What I’ll read next

Blood of my Blood (Jasper Dent #3) by Barry Lyga

Blood of my Blood by Barry LygaThe final book in the Jasper Dent trilogy. It’s sure to be gripping… I’m just hoping it’s as good as Book 1, which has the edge on Book 2.

The blurb: Jasper Dent can’t escape his family. Wherever he goes, whatever he does, his father’s reputation hangs over him.

Because Billy Dent’s not like other dads. He’s a serial killer.

And now he’s got Jasper’s girlfriend in his clutches.

Billy must be stopped, against all the odds. Jasper knows he’s the only one who can do it, the only one smart enough and quick enough to find him.

After all, it’s in his blood.

AND

The Ballroom by Anna Hope

The Ballroom by Anna Hope book coverThe librarians have to take shared blame for this one along (another book on the entrance display!) with the blogs where I’ve seen it mentioned.

The blurb: Where love is your only escape…

1911: Inside an asylum at the edge of the Yorkshire moors, where men and women are kept apart by high walls and barred windows, there is a ballroom vast and beautiful.

For one bright evening every week they come together and dance. When John and Ella meet It is a dance that will change two lives forever.

Set over the heatwave summer of 1911, the end of the Edwardian era, The Ballroom is a tale of unlikely love and dangerous obsession, of madness and sanity, and of who gets to decide which is which.

AND

Oy Yew by Ana Salote

Oy Yew by Ana Salote book coverThe author contacted me to ask if I would like to review her middle grade novel. It sounded so intriguing, I had to say ‘yes’!

The blurb: ‘Lay low and grow’ is the motto of the waifs of Duldred Hall. The only way to escape their life of drudgery is to reach the magical height of 5 thighs 10 oggits, yet Master Jeopardine is determined to feed them little and keep them small.

When the Master’s methods grow more sinister the waifs must face their doubts. What is kept in the Bone Room? Why is Rook’s Parlour locked? A new waif arrives and the fight for survival begins. But this child brings another mystery. Who is Oy?

Oy Yew was longlisted for the Times/Chicken House prize.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂


Chocolate easter and spring season cake. Two layer chocolate cake with chocolate buttercream filling and green grass topping frosting decorations with eggs 2

To herald the approach of spring and Easter, last week I made double chocolate Easter cake with mini eggs.

 

 

 

 


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

 

72 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 16th March 2016

  1. The Ballroom and the Jasper Dent books look really interesting. I don’t think would want to read What Milo saw as my Grandma is going into a nursing home soon 😦

    Liked by 1 person

    • I still haven’t read anything by Cecilia Ahern…much to my shame, as I’m sure I’d like her books. I have The Marble Collector on my long “to read” list.
      I’m just catching up on WWW posts now and will visit yours…

      Like

  2. I really must try to get my hands on the Jasper Dent series. I’m not hopeful for my library though 🙂

    The cover of the Ballroom is very pretty but I have to admit I haven’t heard of it. The description does sound good though so it looks like another book for the TBR pile.

    Liked by 2 people

    • It definitely is, although, reading it as an adult, I think you worry more about Al than a child reader would. I spent quite a bit of time concerned about him gadding about on his own after dark for example, whereas I’m sure a ten year old would just be thinking, “Cool!”

      Liked by 1 person

    • Weirdly, I think the first Jill Mansell I read – Staying at Daisy’s – is still my favourite. It’s one of her older ones though. Among her more recent ones, The One You Want is great.

      I’m just catching up on WWW posts and will visit yours now…

      Like

    • I’m a bit drained to be honest! It was the second day of a Makaton sign-language training course and, while it was good and very useful, all that concentrating takes its toll 🙂

      Can’t wait for you to read Jill Mansell!

      Just catching up with WWW posts. Will visit yours now 🙂

      Like

  3. Wow congrats on all the reading progress. The Time Travelling with a Hamster sounds adorable! Hm I’ll have to look up The Ballroom too. Hope you enjoy these. 🙂 Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Oy Yew sounds interesting. I’ll look forward to your review of it.
    Glad to hear you’re still enjoying the I Hunt Killers series even if the second one wasn’t as good. I’ll get around to that series eventually.
    Thanks for visiting my WWW post, and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I was really pleased with how the cake turned out 🙂
      I’m hoping Blood of my Blood is as good as Book 1 – I Hunt Killers. The second book was very good, but the first book was awesome.

      I’ll visit your post now…

      Like

  5. I agree Game isn’t as good as the first book; that one is still my absolute favorite out of the three. Blood Of My Blood is really intense though! I’m looking forward to see what you think of it. I like the sound of What Milo Saw and that Easter cake looks adorable by the way!

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re not the only one to say that I Hunt Killers is the best. I thought it was just awesome 🙂 I’m really looking forward to Blood of my Blood. I just hope we get some resolution and it’s not all left on cliffhangers 😦
      Thank you! I was really pleased with how the cake turned out. And it was delicious too 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Don’t worry about the cliffhangers; I thought the ending was pretty satisfying myself and it definitely doesn’t leave a lot of questions unanswered.
        The cake looks so good and I’m glad it was delicious; I should do some Easter baking soon as well.. 😉

        Liked by 1 person

  6. Middle-grade reads never fail me. I love how adventurous and unconventional they could be, but without getting too far-fetched. And sometimes, the twists! Will check out these ones. I haven’t read a middle-grade book for ages.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It makes me think of the movie The Sixth Sense. I didn’t see the twist coming AT ALL. And when they did the big reveal I gasped and was amazed. My friend, however, guessed what was going on in the first twenty minutes and thought the movie was really lame!! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

