Review | The Trouble with Goats and Sheep by Joanna Cannon

A superbly-written morality tale. 4/5 stars.

The Trouble with Goats and Sheep by Joanna Cannon book cover

The blurb: England, 1976.

Mrs Creasy is missing and The Avenue is alive with whispers. As the summer shimmers endlessly on, ten-year-olds Grace and Tilly decide to take matters into their own hands.

And as the cul-de-sac starts giving up its secrets, the amateur detectives will find much more than they imagined…

My take:

I’d seen a lot about this book on other blogs, but only came to read it because Lindsay @bookboodle won two tickets to an event with Joanna Cannon at Waterstones in Birmingham and generously invited me to be her plus one (thank you!). It was a great evening – here’s the photographic evidence.

Joanna Cannon and me1

I’m sure you can guess, but I’m the one on the right grinning like an idiot! (I have a signed book in my clutches… never happier!).

Joanna spoke very eloquently about her book and writing, which made me extra nervous about writing this review because I want to do The Trouble with Goats and Sheep justice. So here goes…

The story is set on a suburban street in the East Midlands in the summer of 1976 and the tiny period details are marvellous. One mention of Arctic roll made me snort with laughter – this used to be such a treat in our house when I was growing up! As a result I think British readers born before the mid-1980s will get the most from this book. That’s not to say that younger readers or those from other countries won’t enjoy it, but some of the finer nuances will probably be lost on them.

Our main, first-person narrator is ten-year old Grace. Her innocent, agenda-free view is contrasted to the various third-person viewpoints of the adult residents of the Avenue. I enjoy multiple POV stories and the author uses these perspectives very well: the voices are distinct, believable and each contributes something different to the narrative.

The writing is terrific. Every single word has weight, true heft. There is not one extraneous adverb or superfluous adjective. The result is a prose which is both easy-to-read and packed full of meaning. I guarantee Creative Writing teachers will be using excerpts from this book in their courses.

As a writer, we are constantly told to “show” our readers what’s happening, rather than “tell” them. The Trouble with Goats and Sheep excels at this. However, perhaps it goes too far. Occasionally a little bit of “telling” can be a good thing: it gives the reader a break and speeds things up. In this book, the overall result of the impressively “weighty” writing + showing, showing, showing = a slow-paced story which takes its time to grab the reader.

I wasn’t gripped by the story until around page 250. I could have put it down, not picked it up again and wouldn’t have been bothered by not finding out what happened to Mrs Creasy. This is the reason why I haven’t given this book 5 stars. I’m not sure more impatient readers would stick with it. But they should. Not long after page 250 a new family moves to the Avenue and brings a few moments where I laughed out loud. And, more importantly, it’s in its second half that we come to fully understand and appreciate the story’s wisdom.

Overall: this is a quiet, subtle story; a carefully-placed collection of small details which accumulate to produce a thought-provoking whole. Highly-recommended for all readers with the patience to stick with it.


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

 

18 thoughts on “Review | The Trouble with Goats and Sheep by Joanna Cannon

  1. This sounds really good!! I have to say, the title of this book alone has me intrigued, but on top of that you saying it’s well written and thought provoking makes me really keen to check it out (haha don’t worry we’re all like that with authors)

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Intrigued just because of your comments on HOW it’s written, I always want to grab a book when people comment that something has been perfected to that extent, but the 250 page comment stopped me, plus I’m Irish … hmmm, I do want to see the writing though …

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 9th March 2016 | Art and Soul

  4. Sounds like you had a lovely night. I’m very jealous that you got to meet Joanna Cannon and got your books signed! 🙂 Great review of the book too, I hope to read it very soon. It’s calling to me from my TBR so I don’t think I’ll be able to resist for much longer!

    Liked by 1 person

    • It was really good. That’s the first book event I’ve been to and it was nice. There weren’t many of us and it was a bit like a book club meeting just with the author too!
      It is a very good book. I still can’t get over how well it’s written. And she wrote a lot of it in her lunch hour sitting in a car park!

      Liked by 1 person

      • Sounds like it was a lovely event. I really hope to read the book soon, I’m thinking I should give in and buy the ebook as it might be a while before I can manage to read the hardback copy I’ve got. I love getting to know how authors wrote their books.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

