WWW Wednesday 2nd March 2016

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

As always, clicking on the cover image will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

1. What I’m reading at the moment

The Trouble with Goats and Sheep by Joanna Cannon

The Trouble with Goats and Sheep by Joanna Cannon book coverThe lovely Lindsay @bookboodle won two tickets to “An Evening with Joanna Cannon” at Waterstones in Birmingham and invited me to be her plus one! πŸ™‚ So, of course, I had to get the book and I’m now desperately trying to finish it before the event tonight!

The blurb: England, 1976.

Mrs Creasy is missing and The Avenue is alive with whispers. As the summer shimmers endlessly on, ten-year-olds Grace and Tilly decide to take matters into their own hands.

And as the cul-de-sac starts giving up its secrets, the amateur detectives will find much more than they imagined…


2. The last books I read

A Gathering of Shadows (Shades of Magic #2) by V.E. Schwab

A Gathering of Shadows FinalI am so pleased to report that the 2nd book in the Shades of Magic series was excellent. Not quite as good as Book 1 – A Darker Shade of Magic – but then that was mostly because it was the 2nd book in a trilogy. And if that made no sense, please read my full review where I think I explain myself a bit better.

The blurb: Four months have passed since the shadow stone fell into Kell’s possession. Four months since his path crossed with Delilah Bard. Four months since Rhy was wounded and the Dane twins fell, and the stone was cast with Holland’s dying body through the rift, and into Black London.

In many ways, things have almost returned to normal, though Rhy is more sober, and Kell is now plagued by his guilt. Restless, and having given up smuggling, Kell is visited by dreams of ominous magical events, waking only to think of Lila, who disappeared from the docks like she always meant to do. As Red London finalizes preparations for the Element Gamesβ€”an extravagant international competition of magic, meant to entertain and keep healthy the ties between neighboring countriesβ€”a certain pirate ship draws closer, carrying old friends back into port.

But while Red London is caught up in the pageantry and thrills of the Games, another London is coming back to life, and those who were thought to be forever gone have returned. After all, a shadow that was gone in the night reappears in the morning, and so it seems Black London has risen againβ€”meaning that another London must fall.

AND

The House of Silk (Sherlock Holmes #1) by Antony Horowitz

The House of Silk Sherlock Holmes 1 by Anthony Horowitz book coverI thought Anthony Horowitz’s new Sherlock story was very good indeed. Here’s my review. I have the sequel already and I’m looking forward to it.

The blurb: In freezing London, November 1890, Sherlock Holmes and Dr Watson receive a man unnerved by a scarred-face stalker with piercing eyes. A conspiracy reaches to the Boston criminal underworld. The whispered phrase ‘the House of Silk’ hints at a deadly foe. Authorized by Doyle’s estate.

 


3. What I’ll read next

The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig

The Girl from Everywhere by Heidi Heilig book coverThe release of A Gathering of Shadows left me so discombobulated (any excuse to use that word!) that I managed to forget I’d read a couple of chapters of this when my copy of AGOS arrived. I got it from Netgalley a while ago…

The blurb: Nix has spent her entire life aboard her father’s ship, sailing across the centuries, across the world, across myth and imagination.

As long as her father has a map for it, he can sail to any time, any place, real or imagined: nineteenth-century China, the land from One Thousand and One Nights, a mythic version of Africa. Along the way they have found crewmates and friends, and even a disarming thief who could come to mean much more to Nix.

But the end to it all looms closer every day.

Her father is obsessed with obtaining the one map, 1868 Honolulu, that could take him back to his lost love, Nix’s mother. Even though getting itβ€”and going thereβ€”could erase Nix’s very existence.

For the first time, Nix is entering unknown waters.

She could find herself, find her family, find her own fantastical ability, her own epic love.

Or she could disappear.

AND

I Hunt Killers (Jasper Dent #1) by Barry Lyga

I Hunt Killers Jasper Dent 1 by Barry LygaYes, yes I know. I should be reading this by now… but stuff happens. This week. Honest!

The blurb: What if the world’s worst serial killer…was your dad?

Jasper “Jazz” Dent is a likable teenager. A charmer, one might say.

But he’s also the son of the world’s most infamous serial killer, and for Dear Old Dad, Take Your Son to Work Day was year-round. Jazz has witnessed crime scenes the way cops wish they couldβ€”from the criminal’s point of view.

And now bodies are piling up in Lobo’s Nod.

In an effort to clear his name, Jazz joins the police in a hunt for a new serial killer. But Jazz has a secretβ€”could he be more like his father than anyone knows?


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! πŸ™‚


Chocolate honeycomb square with marshmallow and cookies 7

This week I found time for some not-baking. I made chocolate honeycomb squares. Delicious and definitely for those with sweet teeth.

 


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

 

64 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 2nd March 2016

    • There are some words you just can’t use enough (even if they are fiendishly difficult to spell!).
      The Trouble with Goats and Sheep gets better as it goes. I think I’ll be scrambling to finish it on the train on the way to the event πŸ™‚

      I’ll check out your post now!

      Like

  1. I’m very envious of you and BookBoodle going to a Joanna Cannon event tonight – I hope you both have the best time. I’ll be eagerly looking out for blog posts or tweets about it afterwards. πŸ™‚ My husband got me The Trouble with Goats and Sheep for my birthday but I’m struggling to read hardbacks at the moment (they’re too heavy for me to hold) so it’s still sitting unread on my bookcase – I’m tempted to buy the kindle book so I can start reading asap!
    Those chocolate honeycomb squares look delicious! I’m now craving chocolate… πŸ™‚

    Here’s my week in books:
    https://rathertoofondofbooks.wordpress.com/2016/03/02/www-wednesday-2nd-march/

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so lucky that Lindsay won the tickets and then asked me to be her plus one! This will be my first author event πŸ™‚
      I’ve nearly finished the book. It’s going to be a tough one to review because while the writing is superb, it takes a long time to grip you. In fact, it’s 400 ish pages and I wasn’t gripped until around page 250. I’m not sure a lot of readers would stick with it.
      Hopefully will provide an update on how the event went along with my review!

      Liked by 1 person

      • How exciting, I really hope you have a brilliant time.
        Oh really? Books like that are so much harder to review. I might hold off starting it a while longer then if it takes time to grip you as at the moment I need books to really grab me straight away or my mind wanders.
        I’ll look forward to reading your review πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m so eager to read the Shade of Magic series. I’m still waiting in vain for my ADSOM copy. 😦 I’m too late. Haha! I can’t wait for your review about The Girl From Everywhere. I’ve seen it in bookstagram. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I still have yet to finish AGOS, last week I got hit with the incoming of a reading slump so I had to put it down until I reached a point where I felt like reading again.
    I cant wait to hear your thoughts on The Girl from Everywhere, I love that time travel seems to be having a big impact on some recent YA books

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’ve been seeing so many talk about A Gathering of Shadows. It makes me think I should give Schwab another chance. I tried reading Vicious recently, and it just wasn’t for me. Perhaps my luck will be better next time round if I ever pick this book up! Also, interested to check out I Hunt Killers. Title says it all.

    Liked by 1 person

    • A Darker Shade of Magic and A Gathering of Shadows are very different to Vicious (which is more sci-fi than fantasy) so it could be worth giving a try.
      I could start I Hunt Killers tonight, but I think I’m going to wait until tomorrow because I’ve been told it’s difficult to put down and I need to get some sleep πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you!
      I’ll try and post a review of The Trouble with Goats and Sheep tomorrow. It’s really good.
      I hope I Hunt Killers is YA Dexter because I really enjoyed that show πŸ™‚
      I’ll check out your post now!

      Like

  5. I’ve heard so much about The Trouble With Goats and Sheep which sounds great – I do hope you and Lindsay have a brilliant evening πŸ™‚ I don’t think you have one book here today that I wouldn’t happily pick up so have a great reading week!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. So glad to hear ‘A Gathering of Shadows’ lived up to your expectations! I agree that 2nd novels can be the slog of a trilogy but I do sometimes enjoy them. Though it’s rare; sometimes. As long as Schwab kept the tension going, I’ll be happy. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I hope you’ll enjoy I Hunt Killers! πŸ˜€ I’m looking forward to start A Darker Shade Of Magic soon and I’ve added both The House Of Silk and The Girl From Everywhere to my wishlist as well. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  8. I Hunt Killers is on my TBR, too, but pretty far down as I try to get through all the books I have out from the library. And The Girl From Everywhere sounds really cool. I’ll look forward to your review!
    Thanks for visiting my WWW post, and happy reading.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

