Some favourite recipes: cute, colourful and delicious bakes!

I’ve spent a lot of time in the writing cave this week. The good news is it’s been productive and my latest round of book edits are almost finished. The bad news: I haven’t had time to bake 😦

But then I looked at my Recipe Index page and discovered I’ve already posted 34 recipes on this blog! Who knew?!

So, as I don’t have a new bake to offer you, here are 5 of my favourites from the archives πŸ™‚

Click on the title or the picture to visit the individual recipe post for more photos and baking instructions.


1. Caramel Smiley Face Biscuits (aka cookies)

Caramel biscuits cookies face decoration with crimped piping buttercream hair

So easy to make and they’ll put a smile on everyone’s face!

2. Simple lemon cake with feathered icing

Lemon sponge cake with white icing and yellow feathered icing sliced 3

This cake is so light and fluffy, you could almost believe it’s calorie free (spoiler: it’s not).

3. Mini rosette vanilla cupcakes

Mini rosette vanilla cupcakes with two tone decorative buttercream frosting

The two-tone icing didn’t work quite as well as I had hoped, but I was quite pleased with the mini rosette effect. Especially as it was the first time I’d tried piping this type of frosting pattern!

4. After Eight Mint Chocolate Brownies

After Eight mint chocolate brownies 5

These are so easy to make: ordinary brownies mix + a box of After Eights (or mint chocolate of your choice!). The result is an extra chewy, minty brownie. Yum.

5. Gingerbread Women and Teddy Bears

Gingerbread women and teddy bears decorated with icing

I admit I got a bit carried away when it came to decorating these! Making the shoes match the dresses was possibly taking things too far πŸ™‚


Β I hope to be back with a new recipe next week.

In the meantime, for more cookie/biscuit, brownie, cake, muffin, cupcake and dessert recipes, please check out my Recipe Index page.


Claire Huston / Art and Soul

 

 

20 thoughts on “Some favourite recipes: cute, colourful and delicious bakes!

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 24th February 2016 | Art and Soul

  2. Claire, glad to hear things are going well with your book!

    All of these yummy baked goods look so cute – and I really, really, really want a brownie now! Some chocolate-chip-coconut cookie bars I’ve got frozen in my freezer will have to do. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

