Review | Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3) by Maggie Stiefvater

Back on form. 4/5 stars

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater Raven Cycle 3 by Maggie Stiefvater book cover

The blurb: There is danger in dreaming. But there is even more danger in waking up.

Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs.

The trick with found things though, is how easily they can be lost.

Friends can betray.
Mothers can disappear.
Visions can mislead.
Certainties can unravel.

My take:

I don’t want to repeat what I’ve already said about this series, so this will be a very short review!

I enjoyed Book 1 of this series – The Raven Boys – very much. In case you missed it, here’s my review.

But then Book 2  – The Dream Thieves – was something of a disappointment, mainly because I felt it focused too much on one character. Here’s my review of that one.

Fortunately, book 3 – Blue Lily, Lily Blue – was a return to form. The dream shenanigans in Book 2 now really do appear to have been a diversion from the main plot. With Book 3 we’re back on track; it feels like the band got back together and back on their quest. Thank goodness for that.

This was as entertaining and easy-to-read as Book 1. All the characters had something to do in progressing the action. It was a fun read, but I do start to question whether this series needed to be 4 books long. After a while it starts to feel as if the characters are running around for no reason other than to eke things out. Having said that, as long as their running around continues to be this entertaining, I won’t complain too loudly!

Overall: a return to the form of book 1. Now I just hope the final installment is even better!

 

Are you up to date with The Raven Cycle series? Waiting anxiously for The Raven King? Let me know!


Claire Huston / Art and Soul
7 thoughts on “Review | Blue Lily, Lily Blue (The Raven Cycle #3) by Maggie Stiefvater

    • It was definitely back to her high standards for me! I just love the characters as a group. I don’t think they’re as strong when split up or working on their ow agendas. So I’m sure the last book will be great. I hope they can find the king and get out without anyone dying! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Book Fangirling Blog Award | Blogs-Of-A-Bookaholic

  2. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 24th February 2016 | Art and Soul

  3. Pingback: (Spoiler-free) Review | The Raven King (The Raven Cycle #4) by Maggie Stiefvater | Art and Soul

Leave a Reply

