WWW Wednesday 17th February 2016

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

As always, clicking on the cover image will take you to the book’s Goodreads page.

1. What I’m reading at the moment

Blue Lily, Lily Blue (Raven Cycle #3) by Maggie Stiefvater

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater Raven Cycle 3 by Maggie Stiefvater book coverThe third installment in the Raven Cycle. So far I’m enjoying it more than part two (my review of The Dream Thieves) and I can see how it’s moving to set things up nicely for the fourth and final part of the series – The Raven King – which will be published at the end of April.

The blurb: There is danger in dreaming. But there is even more danger in waking up.

Blue Sargent has found things. For the first time in her life, she has friends she can trust, a group to which she can belong. The Raven Boys have taken her in as one of their own. Their problems have become hers, and her problems have become theirs. The trick with found things though, is how easily they can be lost.

Friends can betray.
Mothers can disappear.
Visions can mislead.
Certainties can unravel.


2. The last books I read

Out of Sorts by Aurélie Valognes

Out of Sorts by Aurelie Valognes book coverI got this from Netgalley because I loved the sound of it from the blurb. Unfortunately it was a disappointment, mainly due to stylistic issues. Here’s my full review.

The blurb: Ferdinand Brun hasn’t always been a grumpy old man. Many years ago, he was a grumpy young man. Now he’d much rather spend time with his canine companion, Daisy, than any of his nosy neighbors. But as his behavior becomes increasingly peculiar, his daughter grows concerned and begins to consider moving him into a retirement home.

In order to maintain his freedom, Ferdinand must submit to an apartment inspection by his longtime enemy, the iron-fisted concierge, Mrs. Suarez. Unfortunately, he’s never tidied up a day in his life. His neighbors, precocious ten-year-old Juliette and vivacious ninety-two-year-old Beatrice, come to the rescue. And once he lets these two into his life, things will never be the same. After an eighty-three-year reign of grouchiness, Ferdinand may finally learn that it’s never too late to start living.

AND

The Shepherd’s Crown by Terry Pratchett

The Shepherd's Crown by Terry Pratchett book coverI enjoyed Terry Pratchett’s last novel very much even though it was obvious it was unfinished. Besides, I’m completely incapable of being objective when it comes to his books. Here’s my full review, which also became a bit of a tribute.

The blurb: A shivering of worlds. Deep in the Chalk, something is stirring. The owls and the foxes can sense it, and Tiffany Aching feels it in her boots. An old enemy is gathering strength.

This is a time of endings and beginnings, old friends and new, a blurring of edges and a shifting of power. Now Tiffany stands between the light and the dark, the good and the bad.

As the fairy horde prepares for invasion, Tiffany must summon all the witches to stand with her. To protect the land. Her land. There will be a reckoning…


3. What I’ll read next

A Darker Shade of Magic by V.E. Schwab

A Darker Shade of Magic book cover by V E SchwabThis is a re-read in preparation for the publication of the sequel on Feb 23rd 🙂

The blurb: Kell is one of the last Travelers—rare magicians who choose a parallel universe to visit.

Grey London is dirty, boring, lacks magic, ruled by mad King George. Red London is where life and magic are revered, and the Maresh Dynasty presides over a flourishing empire. White London is ruled by whoever has murdered their way to the throne. People fight to control magic, and the magic fights back, draining the city to its very bones. Once there was Black London—but no one speaks of that now.

Officially, Kell is the Red Traveler, personal ambassador and adopted Prince of Red London, carrying the monthly correspondences between royals of each London. Unofficially, Kell smuggles for those willing to pay for even a glimpse of a world they’ll never see. This dangerous hobby sets him up for accidental treason. Fleeing into Grey London, Kell runs afoul of Delilah Bard, a cut-purse with lofty aspirations. She robs him, saves him from a dangerous enemy, then forces him to another world for her ‘proper adventure’.

But perilous magic is afoot, and treachery lurks at every turn. To save all of the worlds, Kell and Lila will first need to stay alive—trickier than they hoped.

AND

The Versions of Us by Laura Barnett

The Versions of Us by Laura Barnett book coverThis is billed as “One Day meets Sliding Doors” – certainly intriguing enough for me to give it a try!

The blurb: A man is walking down a country lane. A woman, cycling towards him, swerves to avoid a dog. On that moment, their future hinges. There are three possible outcomes, three small decisions that could determine the rest of their life.

Eva and Jim are nineteen and students at Cambridge when their paths first cross in 1958. And then there is David, Eva’s then-lover, an ambitious actor who loves Eva deeply. The Versions of Us follows the three different courses their lives could take following this first meeting. Lives filled with love, betrayal, ambition but through it all is a deep connection that endures whatever fate might throw at them.

The Versions of Us explores the idea that there are moments when our lives might have turned out differently, the tiny factors or decisions that could determine our fate, and the precarious nature of the foundations upon which we build our lives. It is also a story about the nature of love and how it grows, changes and evolves as we go through the vagaries of life.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂


Caramel chocolate brownies heart shaped for Valentine's day with strawberry pink buttercream 5

 
 

Last week, in honour of Valentine’s Day, I made heart-shaped chocolate caramel brownies. I decorated them with pink strawberry buttercream and icing sugar. However, heart-shapedness is entirely optional and they’d be delicious for any occasion!

 


Claire Huston / Art and Soul
63 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 17th February 2016

  1. Ooh! Feb 23 is so close! Can’t wait to get back to Kell and Lila.

    Blue Lily, Lily Blue has such a gorgeous cover. I’ve decided to wait until the 4th book comes out and see whether they put together an ebook bundle (since there’s currently one with the first three books). I’ve resigned myself to the fact that I will have to buy these ones.

    Here’s my post this week: https://keysandopenmind.wordpress.com/2016/02/17/www-and-wippet-wednesday-17-february-2016/

    Liked by 1 person

    • I know! And the UK publishers have shipped the books early so I might get it before the 23rd! 🙂
      I’m really glad my library had The Raven Cycle, although I’m sure I’ll have to buy the 4th one.

      I’ll check out your post now 🙂

      Like

  2. The Versions of Us sounds like an interesting idea for a book. I’m a big fan of One Day and Sliding Doors so will either be a perfect combination or a total disaster. Will wait to see what you find 🙂

    Very excited about A Gathering of Shadows and have it pre ordered. I may however have to wait till March to read though when I’ll have a bit more time to enjoy it 😦

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve heard a lot about The Versions of Us, most of it mixed, so I’m curious to see how you like it.
    And I’m so glad you’re liking BLLB! I’m so grateful I have so many other books on my TBR or I don’t think I’d make it to April’s publication of The Raven King.
    Thanks for visiting my WWW post, and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. So glad to hear you’ve been enjoying Blue Lily, Lily Blue. That’s a series on my tbr backlog. Lol. I’ve also yet to start A Darker Shade of Magic. I might read it soon, seeing as the sequel is almost out. Happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Good to hear you are enjoying the third book of the Raven Cycle better than the second… I still have to read both, but now I know not to worry too much if I’m not convinced by the second book. I want to read A Darker Shade Of Magic soon as well! Although I’m waiting until I have a copy of the sequel first…

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

