Recipe | Snickers muffins with two-colour buttercream swirl

Snickers muffins! With an ice cream-like swirl of buttercream frosting 🙂

Snickers muffins in cute paper cases

It all started when I realised I still had a packet of 4 Snickers bars in the cupboard which my Mum gave me a long time ago. I Googled “Snickers muffins” to see if I could find a recipe and couldn’t. But I did find a recipe for Mars Bar muffins so I just adapted that!

Ingredients

  • 4 Snickers bars (you could get away with using 3, but I like lots of chocolate!)
  • 100 g / 3.5 oz caster sugar
  • 100 ml / 3.4 fl oz vegetable oil
  • 2 eggs
  • 100 g/ 3.5 oz self-raising flour

Method

Pre-heat your oven to 180 degrees C / Gas Mark 4 / 350 degrees F. Put your muffin cases into your tin. This mix made 9 decent-sized muffins. If you’re using bun cases, you should easily get 12 cakes.

Chop 2 of your Snickers bars into small pieces like this:

Finely chopped snickers bars

Beat the oil and sugar together until the mixture is creamy and smooth. This should take a few minutes. Add the eggs, flour and finely chopped Snickers bars and stir to combine all the ingredients.

Batter for snickers muffins

Spoon this mixture into your muffin cases.

Chop the remaining 2 Snickers bars into larger slices. Like this:

Chopped snickers bar

Pop these larger slices of Snickers into the top of each of your muffins, pushing them into the mixture until just the top is sticking out (see picture below). If you have spare slices you might like to use them for decoration later.

Snickers pieces in the unbaked muffin mix

Bake the muffins for about 25 minutes. To check they are cooked, insert a sharp knife into the centre of one of the muffins. If the knife comes out clean then they’re done. Leave to cool in the tin for a while and then turn out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

You’ll notice the pieces of Snickers at the top of your muffins erupt!

Freshly baked snickers muffins

This molten Snickers is lovely chewy stuff. You can either leave your muffins bare so people can appreciate the chocolately goodness, like this:

Freshly baked snickers muffins without

Or you can decorate them. I decided to decorate using two-colour buttercream icing. This is simply butter mixed with icing sugar and beaten until you have a smooth paste. I always use double the icing sugar to butter.

Once I had a batch of buttercream, I added melted chocolate to half of it to make it brown. You can also use cocoa powder, like in my chocolate fudge cake recipe post. Then I spooned the two colours of buttercream icing into my piping bag which I fitted with a small, star-shaped tip:

Two colour buttercream icing frosting

I then piped a swirl of buttercream on top of each of the muffins and added a slice of Snickers to finish. I was going for an ice-cream cone with flake effect.

Snickers muffin with chocolate and vanilla icing

Snickers muffin in chocolate and vanilla

Snickers muffins with chocolate and vanilla buttercream swirl frosting

 


If you’re looking for other muffin recipes, you could try:

Mint chocolate muffins 3

 

My mint chocolate muffins.

 

 

 

Banana and peanut butter muffins stack

 

My peanut butter and banana muffins.

 

 

 

 


Claire Huston / Art and Soul
33 thoughts on “Recipe | Snickers muffins with two-colour buttercream swirl

  1. OMG these look so delicious! I really have to buy myself a muffin mold ASAP. I’m definitely going to try these, although they don’t sell Snickers down here… 😦 I’m thinking maybe kitkat muffins with extra peanuts?!

    Liked by 1 person

    • They were a great solution to the “oh so terrible problem” of having Snickers bars hanging around (my life is so hard!). I’m still trying to work out what to make this week. I might have to go with something completely different and try to make bread 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      • Ha ha, I love it! Yes, life is indeed tough when you have a surplus of candy. 😉 Wow, bread baking sounds very intriguing! Looking forward to seeing what you bake up!

        Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! I have yet to perfect that two tone buttercream. But then I’ve only done it twice and it’s all about practice. Well, I guess there’s nothing for it, I’m just going to have to make more cakes. *sigh* My life is so hard 😉

      Like

  2. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 27th January 2016 | Art and Soul

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday {36} | Reads and Treats

  4. Pingback: Recipe | Hazelnut muffins with a chocolate hazelnut cream centre | Art and Soul

  5. Pingback: Recipe | Stracciatella chocolate chip loaf cake | Art and Soul

  6. Pingback: Recipe | Double chocolate muffins | Art and Soul

Leave a Reply

