WWW Wednesday 2nd December 2015

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

1. What I’m reading at the moment

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness book coverLast Sunday I went to a very enjoyable writers/book bloggers meet up in Birmingham organized by Kim from digital publisher Bookouture. Thank you so much to Lindsay at bookboodle for: (a) inviting me and, (b) giving me her lovely copy of The Rest of Us Just Live Here!! SO pleased! Christmas has come early πŸ™‚

So far, this is enjoyable. I think it will continue that way as long as it doesn’t start to take itself too seriously. If it does, Mr Ness and I may finally fall out 😦

The blurb: What if you aren’t the Chosen One? The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death?

What if you’re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again.

Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week’s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life. Even if your best friend is worshipped by mountain lions.


2. The last books I read

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil Gaiman

The Ocean at the End of the Lane by Neil GaimanThis was very good, but I think I have yet to read Gaiman at his best. I’ll keep trying! Here’s my full review.

The short blurb:Β A groundbreaking work from a master, The Ocean at the End of the Lane is told with a rare understanding of all that makes us human, and shows the power of stories to reveal and shelter us from the darkness inside and out. It is a stirring, terrifying, and elegiac fable as delicate as a butterfly’s wing and as menacing as a knife in the dark.

AND

The Bones of You by Debbie Howells

The Bones of You by Debbie Howells book coverThis was good. An entertaining, solid read which kept me guessing about “whodunnit” until about 40 pages from the end. Here’s my full review.

What it’s about:Β A stunning, wonderfully assured psychological thriller that evokes Gillian Flynn and Alice Sebold, The Bones of You revolves around a young girl’s murder and one woman’s obsession with uncovering the secrets in an idyllic English village.

 


3. What I’ll read next

I’m sure you’ll be stunned to see we’re back to YA sci-fi/fantasy… However, before you despair, the library also turned out to have…

The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (aka J.K. Rowling)

The Cuckoo's Calling by Robert Galbraith aka J K Rowling book coverI’d like to read the three books in the Cormoran Strike series. Let’s see how the first one goes!

What it’s about: Detective Cormoran Strike investigates a supermodel’s suicide. After losing his leg to a land mine in Afghanistan, Cormoran Strike is barely scraping by as a private investigator. Strike is down to one client, and creditors are calling. He has also just broken up with his longtime girlfriend and is living in his office.

Then John Bristow walks through his door with an amazing story: His sister, the legendary supermodel Lula Landry, known to her friends as the Cuckoo, famously fell to her death a few months earlier. The police ruled it a suicide, but John refuses to believe that. The case plunges Strike into the world of multimillionaire beauties, rock-star boyfriends, and desperate designers, and it introduces him to every variety of pleasure, enticement, seduction, and delusion known to man.Β 

AND

Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld, Margo Lanagan and Deborah Biancotti

Zeroes by Scott Westerfeld book coverZeroes by Scott Westerfeld book coverIt could be very interesting to read this as a contrast to The Rest of Us Just Live Here. ItΒ  sounds as this might be about the “Indie Kids” who are on the edges of Ness’ story!

What it’s about:Β Don’t call them heroes. But these six Californian teens have powers that set them apart

Ethan aka Scam has a voice inside him that’ll say whatever people want to hear, whether it’s true or not. Which is handy, except when it isn’t – like when the voice starts gabbing in the middle of a bank robbery. The only people who can help are the other Zeroes, who aren’t exactly best friends these days.

Enter Nate, aka Bellwether, the group’s ‘glorious leader.’ After Scam’s SOS, he pulls the scattered Zeroes back together. But when the rescue blows up in their faces, the Zeroes find themselves propelled into whirlwind encounters with ever more dangerous criminals. At the heart of the chaos they find Kelsie, who can take a crowd in the palm of her hand and tame it or let it loose as she pleases.

AND

The Raven Boys (The Raven Cycle #1) by Maggie Stiefvater

The Raven Boys by Maggie StiefvaterLike Cassandra Clare, Maggic Stiefvater is one of those authors I see a lot of good things about, but have never read. So I hope to correct that, starting with The Raven Boys.

The (short) blurb: From Maggie Stiefvater, the bestselling and acclaimed author of the Shiver trilogy and The Scorpio Races, comes a spellbinding new series where the inevitability of death and the nature of love lead us to a place we’ve never been before.

 


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! πŸ™‚

You can also find me on Twitter @ClaraVal and on Goodreads.


Carrot cake with cream cheese frosting and walnuts

Last week I continued to fulfil my promise to bake all the cakes which feature in my first novel, Art and Soul, by making this delicious carrot cake with cream cheese frosting.

Β Claire Huston / Art and Soul
56 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 2nd December 2015

  1. I have The Cuckoo’s Calling on my Kindle which has been there since publication. I would have liked to read at the same time as you but I’ve A Monster Calls from the library, then I have to read my book club book and I still haven’t finished Fingersmith…no WWW post for me this week because I’m soooo slow πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s a good thing you have The Cuckoo’s Calling on Kindle. I keep glancing at the hardback from the library. It’s enormous. Reading that in bed is going to be near impossible.
      Not slow…busy! Besides, it’s not as if Fingersmith is a short novella πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

  2. A lot of books on your WWW. Whew. I don’t think I could read several novels at the same time.

    I’m a bit hesitant in trying out The Cuckoo’s Calling, though it’s been in mind for some time. Perhaps it’s because I tend to see it in every bookstore I visit like it’s some kind of omen but I suppose it’s just that popular. The same with The Ocean at the End of the Lane but I think I’d settle reading other stuff for now.

    Hope you enjoy your reads!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I try and stick to one at a time too – that way I can get through them faster πŸ™‚

      So far The Cuckoo’s Calling is dragging a bit. It’s very long and takes ages to get in to. I think you’re right: if there are other things you’d rather read, I think that’s the right way to go.

      Thanks for visiting my WWW post and happy reading!

      Like

  3. The Rest of us Just Live Here sounds fab, I really must look out for that one. I’m going to have to bump The Bones of You up my TBR mountain, it sounds like it was a good read. I’m glad you said in your review about it not really being the psychological thriller that it’s billed as so that I’m forewarned. I’m very fed up of books being labelled as that when they really aren’t. It does such a disservice to books because they can still be brilliant when they’re a study of domestic situations, they don’t have to pretend they’re thrillers.

    Oooh that carrot cake looks so good!

    Thanks for stopping by my www earlier.
    https://rathertoofondofbooks.wordpress.com/2015/12/02/www-wednesday-2nd-december/

    Liked by 1 person

    • The carrot cake it lovely. I can’t recommend it enough!
      I completely agree on the “thriller” issue. If you say a book is a “thriller” I expect to have to skim read and flick the pages because I’m biting my nails and have to know what happens next.
      Thanks for visiting and happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

      • I might have to have a go at making it myself then πŸ™‚
        I’m so glad it’s not just me who gets annoyed by the thriller issue. I agree completely that a thriller should have you on the edge of your seat. It’s such a shame because you’re always going to be disappointed if you’re told something is a thriller and then it isn’t.

        Liked by 1 person

    • The cake was amazing. I’ll make it again! I’m really looking forward to reading The Raven Boys, particularly as if I get addicted, I won’t have long to wait for the final installment in the series to be published.
      Thanks for visiting and happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Cake looks yummy! I think I should finally read the Cuckoo’s Calling. I didn’t love Casual Vacancy but her Robert Galbraith books sound so different. The only Maggie Stiefvater I’ve read was the Scorpio Races which was good. You’ve read lots of Patrick Ness lately! Makes me think I should check out his books!! Here’s my WWWhttp://hollykerr.ca/www-wednesday-this-week-in-books-2/
    Happy reading!!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. I really want to read The Raven Boys but I may wait until the last book comes out so I can marathon them! I have The Cuckoo’s Calling but I haven’t read it yet, maybe I should soon. I hope you do enjoy The Rest of Us Just Live Here – I really liked it but I know a lot of people aren’t as keen on it!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. OMG carrot cake!! Yummy.
    I hope you like the strike series. I was a fan of the first two and I’m hoping to get to the third in a timely mann. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • The carrot cake turned out really well and vanished in a couple of days…
      I hope I enjoy it too because I have the hardback copy from the library, it’s immense, and reading it in bed will be a challenge! πŸ™‚
      Happy reading!

      Like

  7. First of all, that carrot cake looks delicious! I have been baking a lot lately as well and I might try this one soon. πŸ˜€
    I want to get a copy of The Rest Of Us Just Lives Here and The Bones Of You soon and I want to try and read The Raven Boys this month as well. I’ve read her Wolves Of Mercy Falls series and I wasn’t convinced by it, but I’ve heard The Raven Cycle is actually a lot better. The Cuckoo’s Calling wasn’t mindblowingly good, but still entertaining enough. I hope you enjoy your reads this week and thanks for visiting my WWW! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. For some reason I’ve had no inclination to read Robert Galbraith, not sure why, so will be interested to see what you think. I do have a Maggie Stiefvater but haven’t read it or any of her other books.

    I’m starting to feel like I need a break from YA fantasy

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Yes, someone else jumping in late to The Raven Boys. πŸ™‚ I’m sure people have already told you this, but it’s a lot less about romance than the summary might make you think (at least for the first one and a half books, which is as far in as I’m at).
    And I’m definitely not groaning in despair at your return to YA – I’ve gotten some pretty good recs out of you on for that genre.
    Thanks for visiting my WWW post, and happy reading!

    Liked by 1 person

  10. I wasn’t sure The Rest of Us Just Live Here! would be for me, so I’m glad you are enjoying it! Mr. Ness better not get pretentious! The Cuckoo’s Calling catches my eye. Is this the same one JK got so much flack for when people found out who really wrote it?

    Liked by 1 person

    • She got flack for The Casual Vacancy, which the critics were rather mean about and I haven’t heard too many readers with nice things to say about it either (I think I’ll avoid that one). In general, I think the books she writes as Robert Galbraith are well-regarded, although I’ve been warned that they get better after The Cuckoo’s Calling.

      Like

Leave a Reply

