Short NaNoWriMo 2015 wrap-up

writing is difficult writer's problems cartoon

A couple of weeks ago I did a NaNoWriMo 2015 mid-point update.

And I know you’ve all been losing sleep wondering if I managed to stick to my target to write an average of 1,000 words a day in November. Haven’t you? πŸ˜‰

The good news is… *insert drumroll*

Calvin and Hobbes dancing

I did it! As you can see from my stats here below, I reached my goal by the skin of my teeth, but I did it.

NaNoWriMo 2015 final wordcount stats image

I wrote even though there were days when I was tired and my brain wasn’t cooperating. As a result I am up to just under 80,000 words on the first draft of my second novel.

I’m now going to shift my focus to some further edits to book 1 (Art and Soul). I want to get it as perfect as I can in December and then send it to an editor in the New Year (I have a lot of commas to move and/or delete).

There you have it. I may not have “won” NaNoWriMo 2015 in the sense of writing 50,000 words in a month. But I achieved my own goal and didn’t quit, so I’m pretty pleased with myself (*smug face* and excuse to use the following image)…

Excited happy pleased gif

Congratulations to everyone who “won” this November and to those who wrote anything at all. Writing isn’t as easy as it looks and life can conspire to keep you away from it. We should all be pleased with ourselves for getting any words down!

How did you NaNoWriMo go? Let me know!

Β Claire Huston / Art and Soul
22 thoughts on “Short NaNoWriMo 2015 wrap-up

    • Thank you πŸ™‚ It was a pretty close-run thing, as you can see. I have to give credit to chocolate, without which I couldn’t have done it!
      You shouldn’t be disappointed with yourself. You gave it a try and wrote something, which is more than a lot of people will ever do. And there’s only 6 months until JuNoWriMo… πŸ˜‰

      Like

      • You absolutely need chocolate when writing its a must have! it helps save your sanity!
        Eh I’m mostly disappointed about quitting I don’t like to quit but it got a point where it wasn’t fun for me I was no longer writing for fun and I feel like my quality really suffered.
        I totally forgot about Camp NaNo πŸ™‚ that should be fun!

        Liked by 1 person

  1. Congrats on reaching your goal! The victory in NaNoWriMo is finding the motivation to write every day and to fearlessly pursue our passion of writing! Good luck with edits and much success with it in the new year πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

