Recipe | Carrot cake with cream cheese frosting

Deliciously dense, moist and chewy. Carrot cake with cream cheese frosting.

Carrot cake with cream cheese frosting and walnuts sliced

Months ago, I made a foolish promise to bake all the cakes featured in my first novel (as yet unpublished), Art and Soul. You can see the other cakes that fall in this category on my Sweet’s Cakes page.

This week I took another step to keeping my word by making carrot cake!

This recipe comes from Mary Berry’s Traditional Puddings & Desserts. However, I did change some of the ingredients. Her recipe has wholemeal flour and muscovado sugar. I changed this so I could use what I had in the cupboard. I also used my own cream cheese frosting recipe.

However, all credit to Mary Berry because I never would have thought of putting banana in a carrot cake; it’s a brilliant idea! I feel I have to underline this because the final product does taste of banana, so if you’re not fond of this ingredient this particular carrot cake recipe isn’t for you. Please note this cake also contains walnuts.

Carrot cake with cream cheese frosting and walnuts

Ingredients (makes 2, 20 cm/8 inch circular cakes)

  • 150 ml (0.25 pint) vegetable oil (sunflower oil, etc.)
  • 250 g (8 oz) self-raising flower
  • 2 tsp baking power
  • 150 g (5 oz) light demerara sugar
  • 60 g (2 oz) chopped walnuts
  • 125 g (4 oz) grated carrot
  • 2 ripe bananas, mashed
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tbsp milk (I used full fat milk)

Frosting/icing ingredients

  • 300 g icing sugar
  • 50 gĀ  butter/margarine at room temperature
  • 125 g cream cheese

Method

Grease and line your tins. I used two, 20cm/8 inch circular tins. You could use a large rectangular tin. It’s up to you.

Pre-heat your oven to 180 degrees C/ Gas Mark 4/ 350 degrees F.

Measure all your ingredients into a large bowl and mix together until well blended. At this point I want to mention my beautiful new Kenwood mixer (birthday and Christmas present!) which made light work of this.

New Kenwood Mixer

Divide your mixture evenly between you tins and bake for about 50 minutes. It sounds like a long time but it doesn’t burn, trust me. You can check if your cakes are ready by inserting a sharp knife into the centre of them. If the knife comes out clean then your cakes are done.

Leave the cakes to cool in the tins, then turn out onto a wire rack to cool completely.

Carrot cakes for sandwich cake

Make your cream cheese frosting by mixing together the ingredients above (have I mentioned how much I love my new mixer? I used to do all this by hand!). Use the frosting between your two cakes and to ice the top. Decorate with some more walnuts.

Store the cake in the fridge. Unless you’re going to eat the whole thing immediately, of course šŸ™‚

Carrot cake sandwich with cream cheese frosting and walnuts

Slice of carrot cake with cream cheese frosting and walnuts


Banana and peanut butter muffins stack

If banana cake is your thing, check out my banana and peanut butter muffins.

31 thoughts on “Recipe | Carrot cake with cream cheese frosting

  1. Pingback: WWW Wednesday 2nd December 2015 | Art and Soul

  2. Pingback: Recipe | Carrot cupcakes with cream cheese frosting | Art and Soul

  3. Pingback: Suntag: This Time Next Year | Chocolatenwaffles' Blog

Leave a Reply

