The Real Neat Blog Award

 

Thank you to Charley at booksandbakes1 and Deanna at a novel glimpse for nominating me for the Real Neat Blog Award. As is becoming a bit of a theme here, it’s taken me a while to get round to responding to these nominations. Sorry. Please check out Charley and Deanna’s lovely blogs to help make up for my tardiness.

Thank_you cat gif


The Rules:

1. Thank and link to the blogger who nominated you.
2. Answer the 7 questions the nomination has provided.
3. Nominate 7 other bloggers.
4. Create 7 questions for your nominees.

I’m going to “bend” the rules. To stop this post becoming ridiculously long, I’m going to answer the first 4 of Charley’s 7 questions and the last 3 of Deanna’s.


1. What is the best book you’ve ever read?

There isn’t just one. Among the “classics”, Jane Eyre, Pride and Prejudice, Bleak House and Great Expectations spring to mind. More recently, I think both Wolf Hall and Bring Up the Bodies by Hilary Mantel are masterpieces (well-deserved Booker Prizes there). This year I’ve given 5 star reviews to A Monster Calls by Patrick Ness, The Martian by Andy Weir, A Darker Shade of Magic and Vicious, both by Victoria Schwab.

Mid-year freak out tag best reads

2. Which season of the year do you prefer?

Probably spring. More light in the mornings makes it (slightly) easier to get out of bed. I also get a general feeling of optimism and renewed energy.

Lamb at Mini Meadows

3. Do you prefer to read books than see the TV/film adaptation, or see the TV/film adaptations then read the book?

I would always prefer to read the book first because the book is usually a more complete experience and I’d want to read it without having any major developments “spoiled” by the movie/TV version. That’s not to say that the book is always better, as I discovered when I finally read The Silver Linings Playbook.

4. How would you describe yourself in three words?

Err? Um… Argh!

Sorry. I’m truly dreadful at answering this sort of question. It was the one that brought me out in hives before job interviews. That and, “What are your weaknesses?”

job interview cartoon

5. Would you ever name a pet after a fictional character? Which one?

I named by son after a fictional character, so I don’t think I’d have a problem doing it with a pet! 🙂

6. Are you planning on writing your own novel?

Funny you should ask… I’ve written one! 😉

Check out Art and Soul for more about my not-yet-published women’s fiction effort. I’m currently writing my second novel – also contemporary women’s fiction. With Art and Soul I’m exhausting the “traditional” publishing route at the moment, but if I get no interest from agents or publishers I will self-publish it before the end of 2016. Watch this space!

7. Do you like your books (no matter what genre) to have a romance in them?

A little bit of well-written romance can be a bright spot in any book, but a story doesn’t have to feature romance for me to enjoy it.

Kissing book princess bride gif


(Non)-inations:

I’m not going to nominate anyone else for this award, simply because I’m so far behind with posts this week I have to get on with that instead of trying to come up with 7 new questions (my brain has failed me again).

However, if anyone really likes this mash-up of Charley and Deanna’s excellent questions and would like to answer them, let me know and I will happily nominate you!

Thank you again to Charley and Deanna 🙂

 Claire Huston / Art and Soul
3 thoughts on “The Real Neat Blog Award

Leave a Reply

