WWW Wednesday 18th November 2015

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

1. What I’m reading at the moment

More Than This by Patrick Ness

More Than This by Patrick NessI took the weekend “off” from reading after getting through Winter in two days (it’s nearly 900 pages!). Even so, I’ve made good progress on More Than This this week and hope to finish tonight or tomorrow morning. So far, I don’t love it as much as A Monster Calls or Chaos Walking, but it’s very good.

The blurb: A boy drowns, desperate and alone in his final moments. He dies. Then he wakes, naked and bruised and thirsty, but alive. How can this be? And what is this strange deserted place? As he struggles to understand what is happening, the boy dares to hope. Might this not be the end? Might there be more to this life, or perhaps this afterlife?


2. The last books I read

24 Hours by Claire Seeber

24 Hours by Claire Seeber coverSadly, I failed to connect with the main character and so didn’t enjoy this as much as I’d hoped. Here’s my full review.

The blurb:Β Here today. Dead tomorrow?
My best friend, Emily, is dead – killed last night in a hotel fire.
But it was meant to be me.
Now I have 24 hours to find my daughter.
Before he finds out I’m still alive.

24 Hours is a fast-paced, intelligent psychological thriller that will leave you breathless.

AND

Winter by Marissa Meyer

Winter by Marissa Meyer Lunar Chronicles fourI’m so pleased to be able to say the final installment in The Lunar Chronicles was as much fun as the rest of the series. Very long, but highly entertaining. Here’s my full review.

What it’s about: This is the fourth and final installment of the Lunar Chronicles series. If you’d like to know more, check out my review of Books 1-3: Cinder, Scarlet and Cress.

 


3. What I’ll read next

I have a couple of things on request from the library. I’ll read whatever comes in first! If neither of these come in, I’ll just have to hunt out some alternatives πŸ™‚

The Bones of You by Debbie Howells

The Bones of You by Debbie Howells book cover

What it’s about:Β A stunning, wonderfully assured psychological thriller that evokes Gillian Flynn and Alice Sebold, The Bones of You revolves around a young girl’s murder and one woman’s obsession with uncovering the secrets in an idyllic English village.

Β 

AND

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness

The Rest of Us Just Live Here by Patrick Ness book coverCan’t wait to read this!

The blurb: What if you aren’t the Chosen One? The one who’s supposed to fight the zombies, or the soul-eating ghosts, or whatever the heck this new thing is, with the blue lights and the death?

What if you’re like Mikey? Who just wants to graduate and go to prom and maybe finally work up the courage to ask Henna out before someone goes and blows up the high school. Again.

Because sometimes there are problems bigger than this week’s end of the world, and sometimes you just have to find the extraordinary in your ordinary life. Even if your best friend is worshipped by mountain lions.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! πŸ™‚

You can also find me on Twitter @ClaraVal and on Goodreads.


Kid's car birthday party cake

Not exactly an “easy” bake last week, but it was my son’s 3rd birthday and he loves cars, so I made him a cake shaped like a car!

55 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 18th November 2015

    • Thank you! The cake turned out far better than I had hoped. I think the choice of red fondant really helped.
      I put The Bones of You on my TBR after seeing lots of positive comments from other bloggers. I just hope it comes into the library soon πŸ™‚
      I’ll check out your post now…

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I just started the audio of “The Rest of Us Just Live Here” today. It’s got a really interesting format, and I’m not entirely sure what to think of it just yet, but I’ll definitely continue with it. I’ve got my eye on More Than This, too.

    Liked by 1 person

    • More Than This is very interesting and it has one of the strongest opening chapters I’ve read in a long time. But it’s not as good as other Ness books – I think he’s set himself an impossibly high standard with Chaos Walking and A Monster Calls! πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you! Sam is a great name, isn’t it? πŸ˜‰
      And, on the question of whether or not to read Patrick Ness: YES! I only discovered Ness’ work this year and I’ve since made it my mission to read everything he’s written. Some of his books are better than others, but they’re all entertaining, thought-provoking and well-written. I think my downfall was starting with A Monster Calls, which I would bet could be the best thing he ever writes. It’s a near perfect book. Small but wonderful. If I ever find time I’d like to re-read it so I can figure out how he wrote something so apparently simple and yet marvellous.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m currently reading Winter and the rest of these are either on my wishlist or on my TBR pile already… Looks like you will have a great week! And I love your car cake by the way; it looks really cute! (And you can never go wrong with oreos πŸ˜‰ )

    Happy Wednesday and thanks for visiting my WWW.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

