WWW Wednesday 11th November 2015

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

1. What I’m reading at the moment

24 Hours by Claire Seeber

24 Hours by Claire Seeber coverA thriller for a change! I’ll try and finish this tonight so I can start on Winter tomorrow.

The blurb: Here today. Dead tomorrow?
My best friend, Emily, is dead – killed last night in a hotel fire.
But it was meant to be me.
Now I have 24 hours to find my daughter.
Before he finds out I’m still alive.

24 Hours is a fast-paced, intelligent psychological thriller that will leave you breathless.


2. The last books I read

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

the handmaid's tale by Margaret Atwoodthe handmaid's tale by Margaret AtwoodA dystopian classic. As good as I remembered (very good indeed) although perhaps now I’m a mother, this had an impact for different reasons. Here’s my review.

What it’s about: Offred is a Handmaid in the Republic of Gilead. She may leave the home of the Commander and his wife once a day to walk to food markets whose signs are now pictures instead of words because women are no longer allowed to read. She must lie on her back once a month and pray that the Commander makes her pregnant, because in an age of declining births, Offred and the other Handmaids are valued only if their ovaries are viable. Offred can remember the years before, when she lived and made love with her husband, Luke; when she played with and protected her daughter; when she had a job, money of her own, and access to knowledge. But all of that is gone now…

AND

The Grisha Trilogy (Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh BardugoI read these back to back over a few days. They are fine. Well-written, with some original elements. Although I didn’t find them as marvellous as many others have. Here’s my full review.

What it’s about. I’ll give you the blurb for Book 1 to avoid spoilers: Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his life—a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart.


3. What I’ll read next

Winter by Marissa Meyer

Winter by Marissa Meyer Lunar Chronicles fourI completely forgot Winter was coming out this week when writing last week’s WWW post! If it’s as addictive as the previous installments of the Lunar Chronicles I imagine I’ll have it finished before the end of the weekend.

What it’s about: This is the fourth and final installment of the Lunar Chronicles series. If you’d like to know more, check out my review of Books 1-3: Cinder, Scarlet and Cress.

 

 AND

More Than This by Patrick Ness

More Than This by Patrick NessSince I read and loved my first book by Patrick Ness – A Monster Calls – I’ve been working my way through his back catalogue. I also thoroughly enjoyed The Chaos Walking trilogy so More Than This seemed logically the next book of his to read.

The blurb: A boy drowns, desperate and alone in his final moments. He dies. Then he wakes, naked and bruised and thirsty, but alive. How can this be? And what is this strange deserted place? As he struggles to understand what is happening, the boy dares to hope. Might this not be the end? Might there be more to this life, or perhaps this afterlife?


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂

You can also find me on Twitter @ClaraVal and on Goodreads.


Maltesers rocky road 4

And, just in case you missed my recipe this week, I went back to chocolate, chocolate and more chocolate with Malteser Rocky Road.

67 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 11th November 2015

    • The writing is good, but I haven’t connected with the main character and, as it’s her struggle, I’m finding it hard to care! It’s a shame because I’ve seen great reviews elsewhere… 😦
      Oh well, Winter is sure to cheer me up!
      Thanks for visiting and happy reading 🙂

      Like

  1. Yay Winter!!! The cool thing about books with big followings is getting to see lots of different bloggers review them all around the same time! And I totally get why you weren’t as into the Grisha trilogy as much as many other people (myself included). I have to say that if Nikolai wasn’t in them I would have enjoyed them a lot less than I did. Six of Crows is much better IMO!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I really enjoyed The Rest of Us Just Live Here so I need to read more Patrick Ness. A Monster Calls is already on my TBR so I should probably add More Than This to it too. I look forward to reading your thoughts on it.

    Thanks for visiting my post earlier 🙂

    Have a great week!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. 24 Hours sounds really intriguing! I hope you’re enjoying it! I liked More Than This by Patrick Ness, but I have to say A Monster Calls and The Rest of Us Just Live Here are probably better. He just has a unique way of writing. Thanks for stopping by my post!

    Liked by 1 person

    • He does, indeed. I found out yesterday they’re making a movie of A Monster Calls. I have mixed feelings about that and I’m not sure I’d want to see it – it would have to be something rather spectacular to match up to the standards of the book.
      Thanks for visiting and happy reading 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

    • I’m hoping to power through Winter very quickly (I’m sure it’ll be an easy read like the others in the series) and get to the Ness soon. Hopefully I’ll be far enough into it by next Wednesday to at least have an initial opinion 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  4. The Handmaid’s Tale is great! I need to do a reread of that soon. I can’t wait to see what you think of More Than This. I’ve been really wanting to read a Patrick Ness book so next month (or maybe later this month) I’ll be reading The Rest Of Us Just Live Here.

    Liked by 1 person

    • The Handmaid’s Tale is one of those books that stands up to re-reading very well. You can find something new in it every time.
      I am looking forward to The Rest of Us Just Live Here very much. I’ll then have to see if there’s anything else by Ness I’ve missed 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Great books! I’ve been wanting to read the Chaos Walking trilogy so badly but sadly it just keeps getting pushed back on my list of priorities. 😦 I think once I get past more of my higher priority stuff I’ll pick those up

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s good, but I think there are better YA fantasy series out there. I hear that Bardugo has really outdone herself with Six of Crows though. I’m really looking forward to Six of Crows because I know she’s a talented writer, it was just that certain aspects of the Grisha Trilogy weren’t for me.

      Like

  6. Pingback: Friday Finds #9 – One Little Bookshelf

  7. I’ve got to admit I have never read any Margaret Atwood, and I feel like I really ought to get around to it. We did study one of her poems in Year 12, but I’m not really a poetry fan in general, so I wasn’t terribly fussed on it.

    I’m definitely going to be reading more Patrick Ness, too, after A Monster Calls. There are a few more in the digital lending library I’ve recently joined, so I’ll probably pull them from there.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

