The Reading Habits Tag

reading habits book tag image

I was tagged forever ago by Charley over at booksandbakes1 to do the Reading Habits Tag. After doing a post about writing habits last week, I thought this would be a good one to follow that up with. Thank you, Charley!


Do you have a certain place at home for reading?

Either on the sofa or in bed. The only problem with reading in bed is that I tend to drift off…

trying to stay awake fighting sleep giftrying to stay awake fighting sleep gif

Bookmark or random piece of paper?

I have bookmarks I forget to use. I sometimes use pieces of paper or I just remember a page number/chapter.

Can you just stop reading or do you have to stop at the end of a chapter/a certain amount of pages?Β 

I do try and finish a chapter just so I can remember where I left things.

Do you eat or drink while reading?

If I’m reading on the sofa it’s always nice to have a cup of tea nearby. If the book’s engrossing this can result in a cold cup of tea!

Multitasking: music or TV whilst reading?

No. Although I can read in a room where music and/or TV are on if someone else is listening/watching.

One book at a time or several at once?

I stick with one book at a time. I read quite quickly, so I just zoom through one and onto the next.

Read at home or everywhere?

Nowadays it’s at home. In my pre-motherhood days it was everywhere, particularly while commuting.

Read aloud or silently in your head?

Silently. Although I have been known to laugh very loudly, exclaim in disgust and shout, “Oh for god’s sake!” depending on the book. I also read to my son every day. I do all the voices and everything. I’ve got particular skills with The Gruffalo and Room on the Broom.

Do you read ahead or even skip pages?

I wouldn’t skip pages. I have skimmed books if I really wasn’t enjoying them and just wanted to get to the end. Cue an excuse for a gif of a cute baby skim reading:

cute baby skim reading gif

Breaking the spine or keeping it new?

I try to keep it unbroken. Obviously this isn’t a worry if the book is second-hand or from the library and the spine has already been broken.

Do you write in books?

I only ever did this in the books I had for school and university to make a note of significant quotes, themes, imagery, etc. I wouldn’t routinely go around defacing books!


Β I won’t tag anyone specific to do this tag because I think all the book bloggers I know have already done it (late to the party again). But if you want to share your reading habits, please consider yourself tagged! πŸ™‚

Β Claire Huston / Art and Soul
12 thoughts on “The Reading Habits Tag

  1. Pingback: The Reading Habits Book Tag | bookboodle

Leave a Reply

