WWW Wednesday 28th October 2015

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

1. What I’m reading at the moment

Moon Over Soho (Peter Grant #2) by Ben Aaronovitch

Moon Over Soho Peter Grant 2 by Ben AaronovitchI’m nearly finished and, unless something tremendously unexpected happen in the next few pages, this is exactly what I expected to find in a sequel to Rivers of London. Another police procedural with some supernatural gubbins.

What it’s about: London constable and apprentice Peter Grant suspects sorcery when Soho area musicians drop dead, their brain scans showing magical draining. Victim Cyrus left girlfriend Simone, who beds Peter. His dad “Lord Grant” taught him jazz, but master mage DCI Nightingale still recuperates, and a Pale Lady bites off essential bits for an animal chimera slave ring.

 


2. The last books I read

Cinder, Scarlet and Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #1-3) by Marissa Meyer

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer coversHere’s my joint review for the Lunar Chronicles 1-3. The short version: I enjoyed this very much and recommend it to anyone who likes YA fantasy. Great, absorbing fun.

What it’s about (thanks Wikipedia): The Lunar Chronicles is a series of five YA fantasy novels by Marissa Meyer. Each book entails a new take on an old fairy tale, including Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel and Snow White. The story takes place in a futuristic world where humans, cyborgs, and androids all coexist.

 

AND

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli book coverAnother good read! Here’s my full review.

I’ve had such a great week πŸ™‚ This left me grinning like a fool. It’s witty, sweet and moving. Fans of contemporary YA will love it.

The blurb: Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesn’t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyone’s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy he’s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simon’s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before he’s pushed outβ€”without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy he’s never met.

 


3. What I’ll read next

84 Charing Cross Road by Helene Hanff

84 Charing Cross Road by Helen HanffThis is one of my sister’s favourite books and I’ve been meaning to read it for many years. Lindsay at Bookboodle and I are planning a readalong. The book’s a bit short for us to divide it up, but we’ll chat as we go on Twitter. I’m really looking forward to it πŸ™‚

The blurb: 84, Charing Cross Road is a charming record of bibliophilia, cultural difference, and imaginative sympathy. For 20 years, an outspoken New York writer and a rather more restrained London bookseller carried on an increasingly touching correspondence.

 

AND

The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood

the handmaid's tale by Margaret Atwoodthe handmaid's tale by Margaret AtwoodThis is a re-read. I had to study this at school and I wrote an extended essay on it which I used for my university applications! I am keeping everything crossed that it’s as good as I remember…

What it’s about: Offred is a Handmaid in the Republic of Gilead. She may leave the home of the Commander and his wife once a day to walk to food markets whose signs are now pictures instead of words because women are no longer allowed to read. She must lie on her back once a month and pray that the Commander makes her pregnant, because in an age of declining births, Offred and the other Handmaids are valued only if their ovaries are viable. Offred can remember the years before, when she lived and made love with her husband, Luke; when she played with and protected her daughter; when she had a job, money of her own, and access to knowledge. But all of that is gone now…

AND

The Grisha Trilogy (Shadow and Bone, Siege and Storm, Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo

The Grisha Trilogy by Leigh BardugoSo I wanted to read Six of Crows and I was reliably informed that I’ll get more out of it if I read the Grisha Trilogy first. *sigh*. I’ve been trying to avoid YA fantasy trilogies/series but I swear they’re stalking me!

What it’s about. I’ll give you the blurb for Book 1 to avoid spoilers!:Β Surrounded by enemies, the once-great nation of Ravka has been torn in two by the Shadow Fold, a swath of near impenetrable darkness crawling with monsters who feast on human flesh. Now its fate may rest on the shoulders of one lonely refugee.

Alina Starkov has never been good at anything. But when her regiment is attacked on the Fold and her best friend is brutally injured, Alina reveals a dormant power that saves his lifeβ€”a power that could be the key to setting her war-ravaged country free. Wrenched from everything she knows, Alina is whisked away to the royal court to be trained as a member of the Grisha, the magical elite led by the mysterious Darkling.

Yet nothing in this lavish world is what it seems. With darkness looming and an entire kingdom depending on her untamed power, Alina will have to confront the secrets of the Grisha . . . and the secrets of her heart.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! πŸ™‚

You can also find me on Twitter @ClaraVal and on Goodreads.


After Eight mint chocolate brownies 1

In other posts (for the chocolate lovers), last week I made After Eight mint chocolate brownies.

56 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 28th October 2015

    • That’s reassuring πŸ™‚ I’d be annoyed if I’d tackled another trilogy just to find I could have done without it – haha!
      Now I’m REALLY looking forward to Six of Crows.
      I’m not sure how I’ll be able to review The Handmaid’s Tale. It’s a modern classic…
      Thanks for visiting my post. Happy reading!

      Like

  1. I might actually be starting the grisha trilogy next too! I read six of crows a few weeks ago and absolutely 100% loved it. The grisha books are super short, so I figure it’ll be good reading during nanowrimo!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So many great books! I love both The Grisha series and The Lunar Chronicles… I have Simon & The Homo Sapiens Agenda Rivers Of London on my TBR and 84 Charing Cross Road sounds interesting as well.

    Happy Wednesday and thanks for my WWW! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • Moon over Soho is ok. I’m going to try and write a review this afternoon. I guess it’s just more of the same, so nothing particularly exciting to report! I think I will continue with the series, but I’ll get them all from the library.
      I think I’m going to try to remember to read 84 Charing Cross road with a notebook so I don’t forget anything I want to tell you πŸ™‚
      Thank you for visiting (as always).

      Liked by 1 person

  3. “84, Charing Cross Road” sounds very intriguing, looking forward to your review. I love epistolary type novels. And I hope “The Handmaid’s Tale” is a good as you remember! I really enjoyed revisiting it recently, but then again I’m Atwood biased. πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I am also highly Atwood biased, even though my experience with her novels has been: “loved it”, “it was ok”, “loved it”, etc.
      I have such high hopes for 84 Charing Cross Road. Such a lovely short little book, I can’t believe it’s taken me so many years to get to it πŸ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • I’m adding it to my reading list. There’s something so charming about correspondence. I’ve been reading lots of Shirley Jackson lately, in the lead up to Halloween, I guess. πŸ™‚ Recently finished “The Haunting of Hill House” which I highly rec, and last night started “The Bird’s Nest.” Already falling under Jackson’s spell, ha ha.

        Liked by 1 person

      • Oh my gosh, I can relate to that one. When I was reading “The Haunting of Hill House” I jumped every time my cat meowed at nothing or scurried across the bed, ha ha. πŸ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  4. I loved Simon vs. so much! I definitely agree that it’ll leave you grinning. I was constantly smiling the entire time I was reading it. I can’t wait to get my hands on Six of Crows. So far I have loved the Grisha trilogy so much, but I really enjoyed Shadow and Bone more than Siege and Storm. I still need to read Ruin and Rising, which I may try to get to in November or December, so I can get Six of Crows.

    Like

  5. I’ve been wanting to read both The Lunar Chronicles and Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda, so it’s good to hear you enjoyed them!
    I also studied The Handmaid’s Tale at high school! I had mixed feelings about it then, but I might re-read it later on.
    Those brownies look delicious!!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I’m curious to see how you like the Grisha trilogy. A lot of people seem to love it or hate it but I found it very middle of the road. Not boring, but not particularly engrossing.
    Happy reading!

    Like

  7. I just saw on Lindsay’s blog that the two of you are reading ’84 Charring Cross Road.’ I have that on my shelf as well and I’ve been looking forward to reading it. I wish I had more time this week to join you both, but this is a very busy week for me. I hope you enjoy ‘The Handmaid’s Tale’ again. I read it earlier this year and loved it. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Like

Leave a Reply

