WWW Wednesday 21st October 2015

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

1. What I’m reading at the moment

Cinder, Scarlet and Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #1-3) by Marissa Meyer

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer coversBook crack. This is so much fun ๐Ÿ™‚

What it’s about (thanks Wikipedia): The Lunar Chronicles is a series of five YA fantasy novels by Marissa Meyer. Each book entails a new take on an old fairy tale, including Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel and Snow White. The story takes place in a futuristic world where humans, cyborgs, and androids all coexist.

 


2. The last books I read

The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly

The Book of Lost Things by John ConnollyFor more on how 150 pages of author’s notes – yes, that is ONE HUNDRED and FIFTY pages – can lose an otherwise interesting and well-written book a ratings star, see my review.

The blurb:ย High in his attic bedroom, twelve-year-old David mourns the death of his mother, with only the books on his shelf for company. But those books have begun to whisper to him in the darkness. Angry and alone, he takes refuge in his imagination and soon finds that reality and fantasy have begun to meld. While his family falls apart around him, David is violently propelled into a world that is a strange reflection of his own — populated by heroes and monsters and ruled by a faded king who keeps his secrets in a mysterious book, The Book of Lost Things.

AND

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sรกenz

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sรกenz coverHere’s my full review. This is a good book and I’m sure it deserved all its awards, particularly those for representing diversity. However, while I enjoyed it, I didn’t love it.

The blurb: Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendshipโ€”the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime. And it is through this friendship that Ari and Dante will learn the most important truths about themselves and the kind of people they want to be.


3. What I’ll read next

Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli

Simon vs the Homo Sapiens Agenda by Becky Albertalli book coverThis has been on my TBR for a while and I saw it at the library. It wasn’t part of a plan but, now I think about it, it will be interesting to compare this to Aristotle and Dante

The blurb: Sixteen-year-old and not-so-openly gay Simon Spier prefers to save his drama for the school musical. But when an email falls into the wrong hands, his secret is at risk of being thrust into the spotlight. Now Simon is actually being blackmailed: if he doesnโ€™t play wingman for class clown Martin, his sexual identity will become everyoneโ€™s business. Worse, the privacy of Blue, the pen name of the boy heโ€™s been emailing, will be compromised.

With some messy dynamics emerging in his once tight-knit group of friends, and his email correspondence with Blue growing more flirtatious every day, Simonโ€™s junior year has suddenly gotten all kinds of complicated. Now, change-averse Simon has to find a way to step out of his comfort zone before heโ€™s pushed outโ€”without alienating his friends, compromising himself, or fumbling a shot at happiness with the most confusing, adorable guy heโ€™s never met.

AND

Moon Over Soho (Peter Grant #2) by Ben Aaronovitch

Moon Over Soho Peter Grant 2 by Ben AaronovitchI recently enjoyed Rivers of London – the first installment in the Peter Grant series. Here’s my review of that one. I didn’t plan to read the next book so soon, but I saw it at the library and none of the other books on my TBR were available so I thought, “Why not?”

What it’s about: London constable and apprentice Peter Grant suspects sorcery when Soho area musicians drop dead, their brain scans showing magical draining. Victim Cyrus left girlfriend Simone, who beds Peter. His dad “Lord Grant” taught him jazz, but master mage DCI Nightingale still recuperates, and a Pale Lady bites off essential bits for an animal chimera slave ring.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! ๐Ÿ™‚

You can also find me on Twitter @ClaraVal and on Goodreads.


Yoghurt cake yogurt cake with star piping buttercream icing and sprinkles sliced

If you haven’t seen it already, last week there was more baking! This time my super-simple yoghurt cake.

53 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 21st October 2015

  1. 150 pages of authors noted is just too much. I’m not sure I would read it, but I’d probably be intrigued and pick it up anyway. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think there should be a warning when you get to the end of the story regarding the length and content of the notes. That way you can flick through the notes or leave them. But I’m too much of a completist not to read any notes the author leaves!
      Happy reading ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  2. 150 pages of authors notes? That sounds horrendous.

    I knew you’d finish Aristotle and Dante before me! I don’t even know whether to continue reading it if I’m honest.

    Thanks for visiting my post earlier ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • The bits of the notes which were just the original Grimm’s stories were fine. But the bits where the author told us how we should interpret the novel we’d just read annoyed me. I can do that myself thanks!
      I don’t know what to say about Aristotle and Dante… I guess, if you have more urgent things to read, I wouldn’t worry about it. I didn’t find it as life changing as others have, and it’s not fun/escapism either.
      Good luck with your reading this week ๐Ÿ™‚

      Liked by 1 person

      • You shouldn’t tell a reader how to interpret a book! And I think I’m going to put Aristotle and Dante on a back-burner then. Because I’m just not into it at the moment.

        Happy reading ๐Ÿ™‚

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Yay for the Lunar Chronicles! I can’t wait to read Winter when it comes out. I really need to get a copy of Simon & The Homo Sapiens Agenda soon, and that cake looks delicious!

    Happy Wednesday and thanks for visiting my WWW. ๐Ÿ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m on Cress now and I’m so happy that Marissa Meyer is keeping up her high standards. They’re so addictive! I can’t wait for Winter and I’m so happy I’m only catching up now because waiting a year between books would have been awful ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  4. I absolutely loved the Lunar Chronicles and each one seems better than the last. It’s great when a series builds rather than just repeating the previous story. I’m not so patiently waiting on Winter and have already pre ordered.

    Will be interested to see what you think of Simon vs. as Amazon keeps recommending it.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. 150 pages of author’s notes? You’d think an editor might have slapped that down. But the book sounds interesting and I like retelling of fairy tales – which is why I should read the Lunar Chronicles!! I’ve got Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens on my shelf just asking to be picked up so – I’ve heard good things about it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

