WWW Wednesday 14th October 2015

IMG_1384-0

This meme is hosted by Sam over at Taking on a World of Words. A similar meme, This Week in Books is hosted by Lipsyy Lost and Found.

Why not join in? Just answer the following three questions in a post and then put a link to that post in the Comments over at Taking on a World of Words.

The questions are:

  1. What are you currently reading?
  2. What did you recently finish reading?
  3. What do you think you’ll read next?

1. What I’m reading at the moment

The Book of Lost Things by John Connolly

The Book of Lost Things by John ConnollyI’m close to finishing this and have quite mixed feelings… It’s interesting, but I’m not convinced the author isn’t trying too hard. Review coming soon!

The blurb: High in his attic bedroom, twelve-year-old David mourns the death of his mother, with only the books on his shelf for company. But those books have begun to whisper to him in the darkness. Angry and alone, he takes refuge in his imagination and soon finds that reality and fantasy have begun to meld. While his family falls apart around him, David is violently propelled into a world that is a strange reflection of his own — populated by heroes and monsters and ruled by a faded king who keeps his secrets in a mysterious book, The Book of Lost Things.


2. The last books I read

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by Mary Ann Shaffer and Annie Barrows

The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society by mary Ann Shaffer and Annie BarrowsRead my full review here. This is a must for historical fiction fans and particularly anyone who likes fiction set in WWII but is looking for something a bit different.

The blurb: January 1946: London is emerging from the shadow of the Second World War, and writer Juliet Ashton is looking for her next book subject. Who could imagine that she would find it in a letter from a man she’s never met, a native of the island of Guernsey, who has come across her name written inside a book by Charles Lamb….

As Juliet and her new correspondent exchange letters, Juliet is drawn into the world of this man and his friends—and what a wonderfully eccentric world it is. The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society—born as a spur-of-the-moment alibi when its members were discovered breaking curfew by the Germans occupying their island—boasts a charming, funny, deeply human cast of characters, from pig farmers to phrenologists, literature lovers all.

Juliet begins a remarkable correspondence with the society’s members, learning about their island, their taste in books, and the impact the recent German occupation has had on their lives. Captivated by their stories, she sets sail for Guernsey, and what she finds will change her forever.

AND

The Other Queen by Philippa Gregory

The Other Queen by Philippa GregoryHere’s my full review. A week of historical fiction! Sadly, I wasn’t as impressed with this as with my first read. That said, I will try Gregory’s other books because the story was very well-written and researched. Plus, I can’t get enough of the Tudors!

The (short) blurb: Two women competing for a man’s heart. Two queens fighting to the death for dominance. The untold story of Mary, Queen of Scots.

 


3. What I’ll read next

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz

Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe by Benjamin Alire Sáenz coverI’m really looking forward to this because I’ve read so many good reviews 🙂

The blurb: Aristotle is an angry teen with a brother in prison. Dante is a know-it-all who has an unusual way of looking at the world. When the two meet at the swimming pool, they seem to have nothing in common. But as the loners start spending time together, they discover that they share a special friendship—the kind that changes lives and lasts a lifetime. And it is through this friendship that Ari and Dante will learn the most important truths about themselves and the kind of people they want to be.

AND

Cinder, Scarlet and Cress (The Lunar Chronicles #1-3) by Marissa Meyer

The Lunar Chronicles by Marissa Meyer coversYes, I am indeed planning to marathon the first three installments of The Lunar Chronicles so I can join the excitement at the start of November when Winter is published 🙂

What it’s about (thanks Wikipedia): The Lunar Chronicles is a series of five YA fantasy novels by Marissa Meyer. Each book entails a new take on an old fairy tale, including Cinderella, Little Red Riding Hood, Rapunzel and Snow White. The story takes place in a futuristic world where humans, cyborgs, and androids all coexist.


Have you read/are reading any of these? What are you reading? Let me know! 🙂

You can also find me on Twitter @ClaraVal and on Goodreads.


Mint chocolate muffins 2In other news, I’ve been baking again. If you haven’t checked them out already, here are my foolproof mint chocolate muffins.

49 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 14th October 2015

    • The muffins vanished rather quickly – which is the true test of how good the bake is 🙂 I’m still trying to come up with something to do this week. I desperately want to do something using After Eights but want a week off from mint choc!
      Hopefully reviewing Aristotle and Dante at the start of next week (it looks like a quick read – big print and lots of short chapters and blank space!).

      Liked by 1 person

  1. I have The Lunar Chronicles on my TBR too so I’ll be looking out for your review after you read them to see what you thought. I really want to read Aristotle and Dante soon, I really hope it’s as good as everyone says. 🙂 You mint choice chip muffins look amazing, I’m going to have to have a go at making those soon! 🙂

    Here’s my WWW Wednesday: https://rathertoofondofbooks.wordpress.com/2015/10/14/www-wednesday-14th-october/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. So many great titles this week! All of them (except The Other Queen, which I will have to check out) are either on my TBR or love (The Lunar Chronicles). I hope you enjoy your reads!

    Happy Wednesday! Here’s my WWW.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: WWW Wednesday #2 October 14th | The Country Bookworm

    • I think, at the moment, I’d recommend ‘The Guernsey…’ over ‘The Book of Lost Things’. I’d be more confident the first is something nearly everyone would enjoy, whereas I think the second might be a bit more “niche”!
      Thanks for visiting and happy reading 🙂

      Like

  4. The Book of Lost Things sounds interesting. Check out earlier Phillipa Gregory books like The Constant Princess and The Other Boleyn Girl for good Tudor tales! I couldn’t get in to Cinder the first time I picked up but there’s so much love for the series, I really think I should give it another try. I love retelling of fairy tales, so it sounds perfect for me! Not sure why I couldn’t get into it. Here’s my list http://hollykerr.ca/this-week-in-books-and-what-im-reading/ Happy Reading!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I think I will go to Gregory’s earlier books next.
      I’m hoping I can get up some momentum and power through Cinder, Scarlet and Cress without a break. I might be biting off more than I can chew!
      I’ll check out your post now…

      Like

  5. I loved Ari and Dante so much! I read it pretty quickly too, because it was hard to put down.
    I want to join in on the excitement of the Lunar Chronicles too! I think I may read them at the beginning of November. I’ve meant to start it all year, but just never got around to it.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hooray! The more the merrier. This is how I get the majority of the recommendations I add to my “to read” list 🙂 I’ve read some wonderful books I would never have heard of if it hadn’t been for all the wonderful bloggers taking part.
      I’d love to hear what you’ve been reading.

      Like

    • I really hope they don’t turn out to be a disappointment as they seem to feature so many things I love! Hopefully by next Tuesday I’ll have finished and I can post a review (I’ll be in the reading cave every evening this week) 🙂
      Thanks for visiting and happy reading!

      Liked by 1 person

  6. You’re the second person I’ve seen with ‘Aristotle and Dante’ on their To-Read list. Hope it’s good! Glad ‘The Other Queen’ wasn’t great. I liked ‘The Queen’s Fool’ and ‘The Virgin’s Lover’ a lot if you’re willing to try another. Happy reading and thanks for participating in WWW Wednesday!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Yay, Lunar Chronicles! I read them earlier in the year and I’ve got my pre-order on Winter. They are very readable, though I would probably advise not thinking about them too hard; they are kind of easy to pick apart. Cress was my favourite, just because she and her love interest were so adorable. I won’t say anymore because I don’t want to spoil it for you. ^_^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

